We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Brazil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aratinga Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aratinga Inn to your Saves list
Aratinga Inn
Rua das Flores 232 | Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Aratinga)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 81 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Highlight of Brazil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Aratinga is an exceptionally beautiful property. The love and creativity put into making this a spectacular place to stay is clearly evident in all the small touches. The gardens are phenomenal and give you the feeling that you are indeed in the rainforest.

Our airconditioned chalet was small but large enough to house all our belongings with lots of shelves/drawers etc which were much appreciated (some hoteliers do not think about where their guests are actually going to put their stuff once they are in the room!)
The shower was hot every day and the airconditioning worked a treat on the hot days.

Like the other reviewers, we loved the breakfast and the afternoon tea was a stroke of genius. Tea and snacks were put out at 3/4pm and then left there for a few hours so we never felt like we were rushed - indeed Rennie who owns and runs Aratinga always made sure we had factored our tea into our day activities!

Finally, Rennie really made this place special. She told us hints and tips of where to eat, where to go, what was a good price etc. We can't stress enough about how important this is to our enjoyment of a place. We really feel like Rennie made sure we saw the best of the island at the right price!

We do not usually talk so much about an owner in our review but without Rennie's hosting, Aratinga would not be as special. We thank her for going out of her way to make our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    41
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
316
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

A guess it is saying something when a non-native decides to make it their home to stay here on Ilha Grande. Reenie knows where, when and how to go the best places on the island. Each morning there is an delicious breakfast waiting for you to get you set for making a trip to one of many beautiful places you can go to.
Reenie takes the time to talk to you personally and makes sure that you get the best out of your trip.
The pousada is in a really good location, the rooms are clean and the bed comfortable - with hot showers too, which I imagine isnt always the case on the island.
I was there just for the weekend, wish I was there longer. Will have to go back to this pousada and finish off what I didnt do.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

I can't recommend this place enough. If you're coming to Ilha Grande, you must stay with Rennie. She made our stay amazing. There's so much to look forward to, when staying at Aratinga. The breakfasts are so tasty (especially try the morning and brunch cakes). Rennie really makes you feel at home, and is extremely welcoming and helpful. And she can play a mean game of "zilch" (you'll know when you stay there). Oh and if you do stay at Aratinga, definitely book a chalet, they're really nice and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Judging by the previous reviews it looks like I'm not the only one to have been completely smitten with this place. And why would I be? It's beautiful, it's tranquil and very, very welcoming (ask Remi for advice on where to eat or what to explore and you won't be disappointed). Pousada Aratinga is an absolutely wonderful pousada that I will be returning to the instant the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

this beautiful decorated hideaway is located in a peaceful garden. The owner is very helpful and does the best breakfast on the island!!
Robert &Remco - Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Pousada Aratinga and Rennie, the owner, were exactly what we needed. We arrived to Ilha Grande after a looong trip, which was exacerbated by multiple delays in NY and Boston. But as soon as we arrived Rennie made us feel at home and introduced us to the little paradise that is Aratinga. Our Chalet was very well equipped and very clean. The Pousada also has a welcoming lounge and tv area with many movies and books. The breakfast is great and Rennie even invites everyone to an afternoon tea and coffee. When I return to Ilha Grande, it will undoubtedly be to Aratinga. I can't wait for my next visit. And oh, by the way, the price is just right.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I stayed four days in this gorgous pousada with a lovely garden and a view of the sea. The breakfast is healthy and good and the service is great.

As it is a rain forest, it absolutely poured all day one day, and the lovely owner Rennie made a reservation so I could have a massage (highly recommended) and made a great lentil soup.
Added bonuses are a free DVD library which is extensive.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aratinga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aratinga Inn

Address: Rua das Flores 232 | Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Aratinga)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aratinga inn Boutique Hotel, your haven of peace and tranquility on Ilha Grande. Our guest rooms and chalets are built in harmony with the verdant natural setting of the Atlantic rain forest. All of our guest rooms and chalets are simple and cozy, but we are sure you will agree that they are comfortable and welcoming. They are furnished with solid timber beds, with a top quality inner spring mattress, latex pillows and quality, imported bed linen. Rooms are appointed with A/C, ceiling fan, LCD TV and DVD player, a bar fridge for your personal use, and all rooms have a sparkling clean, modern bathroom. For those seeking peace and privacy, Aratinga inn Boutique Hotel offers double chalets and double rooms, the perfect personal retreat for nature lovers. We do not receive large groups, small children or smokers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aratinga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aratinga Hotel Ilha Grande
Aratinga Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aratinga Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.