We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aratinga a hidden gem with a family atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aratinga Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aratinga Inn to your Saves list
Aratinga Inn
Rua das Flores 232 | Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Aratinga)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 81 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Gananoque, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Aratinga a hidden gem with a family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We arrive at Aratinga on Jan 17 and left on Jan23. This pousada is quiet and very much like a home away from home. Rennie the "aussie" owner is a super lady who will go out of her way to make sure that all your needs are met. Although a bit off the beaten path this makes the pousada quieter than the main street option. Aratinga is like an oassis with the lovely gardens and beautiful flowers. You will be treated to a very delicious breakfast of fresh fruits, fresh pasteries and fresh breads daily. Afternoon "tea" with cold drinks and/or tea and coffee with always a special treat is available free. I would definetly recommend Aratinga to anyone who is planning a trip to Ilha Grande.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    41
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
316
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

As a group of of 4 we stayed at Rennie's for 4 nights in March and had a wonderful stay. We were the only visitors for the period we were there so Rennie showed us all the rooms, gave us the pros and cons of each and let us decide where we wanted to stay - what a welcome!

Arantinga is a short walk from the centre of Vila do Abrao - all the convenience and all the peace & quiet. We stayed in the chalets and enjoyed a comfy bed, clean bathroom, and a hammock on the porch. We got an amazing breakfast each morning as well as afternoon tea and cake - and we were even told off for not eating enough!

Rennie has some great tips on what to see and where to eat on the island and couldn't do more to look after you while you're there - when it's too rainy to go out you get the pick of the DVD collection to chill with.

So friendly and welcoming, and with great accommodation too. When we go back to Brazil (which I'm sure we will!) we'll definitely stay at Aratinga again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I stayed in one of the Chalets with my Girlfriend in March. The weather wasnt the best but Rennie made sure we had DVDs when it rained and tea and cake on tap. The place is a home away from home and what is refreshing is the real passion Rennie has for the Island she seemed to feel partly responsible for the weather and went well out our way in making sure our trip worthwhile, recomending the best resturants and tour operators around. Ihla Grande is a great experience and slightly cheaper than Rio (which with the exchange rate being as it is for us) a nice break from the huge expense of the mainland.

Room Tip: Lopez Mendez is worth a trip although the walk is
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We have had such a wonderful time at Aratinga Inn. Don't understand the few negative reactions. The location is in a small paradise and we had a wonderful room. Rennie, the owner is the best! She goes out of her way to make her guests feel at home (including the afternoon tea, which is also great for meeting other guests) Staying at the Aratinga Inn was one of the highlights of our trip through Brazil and Argentina. THANK YOU RENNIE !! We will definitely be back!
Marieke and Rudy from Amsterdam, Holland

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Pousada Aratinga was the highlight of our trip to Brazil, and Rennie the wonderful owner could not have made us feel more welcome. Afternoon tea ( with the most amazing homemade cakes), and a mine of information about the island. Amazing place, wonderful friendly staff, one of Ilha Grande true hidden gems. We were truly sad to have to leave, but will definitely be back one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

The one thing I regret about Pousada Aratinga is that we didn't stay there longer, if we could have planned our trip again we would have stayed for at least one week.
Location - The Pousada is away from the main strip of restaurants and bars which is great as it's lovely and quiet but still only takes 5 minutes to walk into town. A lot of the Pousadas are on the main strip which gets very noisy at night.
Rooms - We had a lovely chalet room with a hammock and table outside by the beautiful well kept garden. The room was a little small for 2 people sharing as friends rather than a couple but it was pretty, with great air con and only a small compromise for such a great place to stay.
Breaksfast - This was delicious, hand made cakes, tea, coffee, cereal, ham, cheese, rolls and all served in a pretty dining area where the attention to detail was wonderful.
Staff - All staff were friendly but the owner Rennie was amazing. She made us feel at home, introduced us to the other guests and gave us info on the best places to eat and best beach to visit (Lopes Mendes - you must go here!) We did not speak Portuguese so when we arrived at Angra Dos Reis we bought return catamaran tickets which was a mistake. Rennie went out of her way to go down to the catamaran representative on the island and get our money back and swap the tickets for a speedy transfer to Rio Airport which enabled us to have one last day on Lopes Mendes.
All in all this was a fantastic place to stay and should I ever get chance to go back to Ilha Grande I will definitley book to stay at Pousada Aratinga again!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights based on the Tripadvisor ratings and were quite disappointed overall with the experience. The owner Rennie is very friendly and a great help in recomending local restaurants and places to go but when judging the actual accommodation however, we had a number of issues. There was a strong smell of damp in the room and sheets. The shower was lukewarm at best. Our room was not serviced during our two night stay. Breakfast was far from great - cheap supermarket bread, cheese and cakes. "Afternoon tea" consisted of a tupperware box with a few soft biscuits in it.
If we were paying half the price, we wouldn't have minded so much but this place just didn't represent good value for money for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aratinga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aratinga Inn

Address: Rua das Flores 232 | Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Aratinga)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aratinga inn Boutique Hotel, your haven of peace and tranquility on Ilha Grande. Our guest rooms and chalets are built in harmony with the verdant natural setting of the Atlantic rain forest. All of our guest rooms and chalets are simple and cozy, but we are sure you will agree that they are comfortable and welcoming. They are furnished with solid timber beds, with a top quality inner spring mattress, latex pillows and quality, imported bed linen. Rooms are appointed with A/C, ceiling fan, LCD TV and DVD player, a bar fridge for your personal use, and all rooms have a sparkling clean, modern bathroom. For those seeking peace and privacy, Aratinga inn Boutique Hotel offers double chalets and double rooms, the perfect personal retreat for nature lovers. We do not receive large groups, small children or smokers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aratinga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aratinga Hotel Ilha Grande
Aratinga Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aratinga Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.