We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Naturalia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pousada Naturalia to your Saves list
Pousada Naturalia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Do Abrao, S/N0, Lote B 09, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We fell in love with the place the moment we reached. It is beautifully located very close to the beach and the place was very clean and well maintained. My favourite pick is the hammock, it is well placed so that we can relax at the very sight of the beach. Breakfast was great, they had lots of fruits,juices and breads that was totally convenient. I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    96
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
218
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Amazing place and very friendly staff . The rooms were very clean and spacious .The view from the balcony was awesome . far end of the island and hence was very peaceful and silent. the breakfast had very fresh fruits and meat .

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I really loved this place. The guy who help us to carry our bags to the hotel was very friendly such as the manager and all of the people who work there. The rooms are lovely and simple with a wood decoration. According to me, the best thing in the room is the balcony with a great hammoc and a incredible view of the island and the sea.
Other than that, the rest of the hotel is also very pretty with a lot of vegetation, like around the "restaurant". Thanks to the vegetation, we can watch birds during the breakfast (One day, I saw a humming bird !). About the breakfast, there was a lot of fruits (delicious fruit) and a choice of 3 fresh juice (different every day).
It have Wifi. There is no TV but it wasn't a problem
The owner can give you a lot of adivce about the island (and can speak several different languages like English, French or Portuguese), he was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Probably one of the best deal for price to service on the Island.

We had such a nice time at pousada natural. The hotel is pretty, functional, well arranged with a pretty wild garden in the middle. Te room are peaceful, clean with a pretty and simple white wood style. Room have terrace with a great view and the beach and sea. But the best is the warm welcome, attention, service, advice, info provided by the owner laurent! You can not do wrong in ilha Grande with his help and You may eventually profit of a caipirinias teaching session.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved this place. It might have taken us a little while to find if the owner hadn't despatched a lovely porter to help us with our bags from the boat. That was an experience in itself as he pulled all of our bags (there were 5 of us) in his trolley and we ran to keep up with him! He couldn't speak any English and so there was a humorous exchange as he gesticulated that he needed a bit of a push when he got to the beach!
Once we arrived at Pousade Naturalia we were made to feel really welcome and we all fell in love with the place. It is utterly charming.
The rooms are simple so this is not the place for you if you need a TV fix (although it does have wifi) but it's clean and comfortable. The balcony wasn't the biggest but the hammock was a nice touch and the view was stunning!
Breakfast was simple but pentiful and as we sat eating we watched humming birds feeding from the flowers that hung from the ceiling. The owner made his way round his guests most mornings to offer advice on where to visit (in several different languages) he was friendly and helpful without being pushy.
We had two teenagers travelling with us and they were both charmed by it too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay on Ilha Grande and the people who run the place are incredibly helpful and welcoming. Check out a pic taken from our hammock at
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mikelyvers/9405962318/

We spent 5 nights here and wished we could stay longer!

Room Tip: Pick a high room with ocean view - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It took us a little while to figure out how to get to Ilha Grande from Rio. Based on reviews on TA we chose Green Toad tours because the all in trip (pick up at hotel, connecting boat trip) looked convenient. Our pick up was on time, the operator of the transfer was Easy transfer and know that the rate you can get from them directly is a lot cheaper (around BRL 25 cheaper per person). We were not really satisfied with their van, it was old and cramped, so not really comfortable. The boat trip however was good. On the island we heard that this transfer service was more a hit and miss.

An alternative is the regular Costa Verde bus line from Rio to Angra dos Reis, taking a BRL 15 taxi to the ferry and taking the daily ferry to Ilha Grande. On our way from Paraty we used Costa Verde and it is a lot more comfortable. However, if we would go to Ilha Grande again from RIo I think we would try the Easy Transfer again because of the connecting bus and boat.

Arriving at Ilha Grande is wonderful. It has a really genuine feeling without paved roads and cars. The Pousada Naturalia is a 10 minute walk from the main pier. When you arrive and look to the village, go left. With luggage we found it easier not to take the direct route on the beach but to take a street parallel to the beach. On our way back a porter helped us for BRL 20 which we found worth every BRL.

We felt really welcome at the Pousada Naturalia. Our bags were carried upstairs and we were offered a drink. The rooms are nice, clean and real good for the price but it is relatively basic: don't expect any real luxury.

But the real deal is the view. We had a room with seaview and we really loved it. Our daughter loved to lie in the hammock and enjoy.

Breakfast in the morning is good and fresh. The owner Jan was around during breakfast and offering advice. He is a nice guy that is really willing to help. Together with his staff he gives this place a personal feel.

The Lua e Mar restaurant is at the beach close to the Pousada Naturalia and we can really recommend it for a good dinner, especially the fish, shrimp and banana dish was extraordinary!

From Ilha Grande we went to Paraty. We took the morning ferry to Angra, a BRL 15 taxi to the Angra bus station and a relatively uncomfortable Collitur bus which is more of a city bus that made a lot of stops and took 2 1/2 hours to reach Paraty.

When we would return to Ilha Grande, we would definitely go back to the Pousada Naturalia!

Room Tip: The rooms above the restaurant with good seaviews are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Naturalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Naturalia

Address: Praia Do Abrao, S/N0, Lote B 09, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Naturalia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada Naturalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Naturalia Ilha Grande, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Naturalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.