We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pousada by the sea...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Caicara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pousada Caicara to your Saves list
Pousada Caicara
Playa de Abraao, Ilha Grande, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ilha Grande
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Pousada by the sea...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

On the whole we were pleased with Pousada Caicara. Its location, breakfasts and outdoor space seemed second to none. The room, though basic, was clean and had a TV. The downside, however, was that the room wasn't overly warm and they were having a drainage problem (apparently common on the island) during our stay which resulted in an unpleasant smell hanging around occasionally. The little balcony was great for lazy afternoons, perhaps after snacking on some of the afternoon tea the Pousada offered.

Room Tip: Try and get a front-facing balcony for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    38
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here in Oct 2012 for 3 nights. Perfect location, right on the sand, close to the restaurants and bars and far enough to be a little quieter!

The room was very big and comfortable with a nice bathroom and balcony. It all seemed very new and very clean. Breakfast is served downstairs looking out on the sand with an amazing spread of different breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, cakes, fruit, juices, coffee and lots of different types of tea! Yum!

The staff were very friendly, and every time we came into the guesthouse there was free fresh coffee, tea and cake for us to eat!

Out the front there are sun loungers in the garden facing the beach where you can just relax!

It turned out to be cheaper than hostels in the area, and way better value even compared to some dorms! Wish I could stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time on Ilha Grande and felt that Pousada Caicara was a good find. There is a huge range of accommodation on the island and I think Caicara is one of the nicest located, directly on the beach. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, with a nice balcony and hammoc. The lady manager was very charming. Breakfast and afternoon tea both plentiful and very nice. My only slight criticism would be that, I think on account of the language barrier, some of the staff seemed a little wary of the guests. A smile goes a long way in the hospitality industry, even if you can't understand one another completely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

When you arrive from the pier take the path to the left and follow it all the way round staying on the path, it will go left again. You don't need to walk your heavy bags along the sand and over the river. There is a path that cuts that off.

Hotel is clean, nice and very comfortable. It is a 10 mins walk from the pier but I see that as a positive as its quiet. Also there are two of best bars two doors down. Cafe du Sol and Lar Mars. Both great for food and cocktails on the beach.

The breakfast is very fresh and nice. The hotel is on the beach, the staff are very friendly. All in all a great place to stay. When you come out of the hotel walk right and follow path T10. You will see the sign. Nice walk and a bar at the end. Great beaches.

Negatives
Bathroom does smell a bit, this is due to drainage on Ilha Grande. Just leave the bathroom window open, simple

10 min walk form the pier. However you can pay someone at the pier to carry your bags to the hotel. I would do this if like me you have to carry your partners bags as well ;)

I would 100% stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This was a nice pousada overall, but after walking past all the other pousadas and hotels in and around Abraão I would definitely try another pousada the next time we go back like the "Solar da Praia" which looked really nice with a beautiful outside area for breakfast and although it looks more expensive the website seems to be cheaper than Caicara!!!

Caicara was clean, but the room furnishings were very threadbare. We were not able to get a sea view room and were in the back room, number 9. The toilet was a joke. You had to sit sideways which was just bizarre and I'm just a normal size lady!! There was also a terrible smell in the bathroom the entire time we were there which was not very pleasant. The toilet seat was also broken and the taps were moving around in the sink but after mentioning to the front desk these were fixed by the time we got back that evening. The shower was good though with lots of hot water although there was only cold water in the sink taps.

An issue for some people might be the lack of english speaking staff, however if you have some Portuguese basics this shouldn't be a problem. Also the internet connection was a joke, regardless of the weather which they seemed to blame but I think this is an island problem and not just the pousada as we also tried the internet cafe and it was exactly the same.

The pousada is set at the end of the beach in Abraão which you have to walk along to get to the pousada. This is nice during the day and beautiful at night when the stars are out, very romantic, however, you do have to cross a stream that can be very fast running and can be up to your knees at times so be warned!!!!! It's only a 5-10 min walk to the centre of Abraão and you pass a couple of nice bars and restos on the beach as you walk along.

We were sleeping in the back of the pousada and it was very quiet, however at about 7am onwards as all the rooms essentially back onto the central atrium under which is the kitchen and breakfast area I think everyone will be woken up with the staff preparing everything so take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper!!

Breakfast was 8am to 10am and was very simple but enough to start you off with eggs (as you like them) and the usual Brazilian fare of toasts, breads, cereal, cheese, ham, fruit and cake. They also layed out a small afternoon tea for guests to help themselves to of tea, coffee and sticky buns!!! My only complaint was that the entire time they did not have any normal black tea!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I've been there with my son last weekend and loved it. New, comfortable, excellent breakfast, an afternoon snack, great showers and great service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

A really nice Pousada right on the beach front. We had a sea view room with balcony, and the room was a good as the view, with comfortable beds (a double and single), spacious and a good bathroom (really hot water too). The breakfast was excellent, with a great selection and didn't finish too early. Whilst in the afternoon there was coffee and cake for nibbles.

The cost is pretty much the same as all the other beach front pousadas, and from what we could see was one of the best. Don't listen to reviews that complain about having to carry your suitcase over the sand and it being far from town. You can have people carry your case for you or follow the road behind town, and the restaurants along the beach are nicer than the ones in "town", which is only a 10 minute walk anyway!

We've travelled around the whole of South America and stayed here for 2 nights as a treat and didn't regret it one bit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Caicara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Caicara

Address: Playa de Abraao, Ilha Grande, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada Caicara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Caicara Hotel Angra Dos Reis
Pousada Caicara Ilha Grande, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Caicara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.