We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Relais La Borie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Relais La Borie to your Saves list
Hotel Le Relais La Borie
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Gerbert Perisse 1374 | Geriba Beach, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Buzios
Porto Alegre
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Place !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

I just loved this place! I was referred by a friend and could not be more satisfied. There is no money to pay for the combination of the "European Atmosphere" with Geribás beach view. Even the smell of this relais is special, unique. Not to mention the spetacular breakfast (the very best that I've ever had) and the exquisite food. I highly recommend it !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    32
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GustavoLunardi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

I came to Laborie with my wife and 2 children on recomendation from a friend.
We stayed in the room no 37 with overlooking a beautifull garden. My baby (10 months) and my daughter (4 years) loved the hot swimming pools and the possibility to go from the beach to the gardens and play a lot.
My wife relaxed as never and really enjoyed perfect moments.
I could then go surfing and enjoyed a great spot. The sea in Buzios is definetly magic and offers great possibilities.
We also took some walks to nearby beaches with the kids. Lovely!!
The best thing is that we could get a nany to take care of the baby and we could go to the city center and enjoy the night-life, some shopping and romance together.
The staff is very kind and full of attention. They worried about us having the best time. The idea to book a nany was from the reception as we wanted to visit the city center.
Resting at Laborie is definetly a moment to be remembered forever.
The restaurant is delicious. I recomend the "Risoto de Magret de Canard com Manga" where the french duck is mixed with the tropical mango in a risoto... Huummm.
Laborie is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillian646
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

I did a bunch of research on where to stay in Buzios and decided upon Le Relias La Borie. I chose it because we are surfers and I heard that it was the nicest option on Geriba Beach.

The premises were amazing (two pools, 1 jacuzzi, directly on the beach, a couple of bars) and our room was impressive (standard beach front – Room #2). The included breakfast was one of the best I’ve seen (eggs, breads, sandwich meats, fruits, etc), and our dinner at the hotel was excellent.

The only downfall: the service. I’ve been traveling for the past couple of months, and we both were taken aback by the poor service and treatment. We originally had problems with receiving drinks – we had to wait over 30 minutes for a pina colada – which was aggravating, but not the end of the world.

Later that evening we had some issues with the wireless internet. My boyfriend is a computer programmer, who runs his own business, so when the wireless was down, he offered to help. The manager freaked out on him and accused him of doing something wrong.

Our last two nights our hot water stopped working. The manager placed several phone calls from our room and the water never returned.

We had to check out the following morning at 5AM, and we quickly paid the balance of our bill since our shuttle was waiting for us. I later looked at the bill and we were charged for the phone calls the manager made from our room, and we were charged for two drinks that we never ordered. I emailed the hotel, but they insisted that they could not do anything about this.

The hotel was very promising at first with adorable decorations and top-notch food. We actually met the owner and the owner’s son on the 3rd day, who were very welcoming, but I’m sorry to say that they need to be trained on customer service and satisfaction.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

La Borie has the perfect location, right at the beach of Geribá. The hotel is very clean, the rooms somewhat spartan but spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is not bad and service is excellent. Although the hotel is not exactly kids-oriented, we had a very enjoyable stay with our 11-month old girl who had a blast at the beach (although Geribá can get prety rough at times), in the gardens and at the pools. Go mid-week when Buzios is less crowded.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

After reviewing many hotel options in Buzios for the days following Christmas, we chose this hotel and were very pleased. The room was clean, spacious and had a great view of the pool, beach and ocean. The hotel is situated right on Playa Geriba, a nice tranquil beach where one can relax. Taxi to central Buzios and the more popular beaches is a short 10 minute cab ride. I thought this was a great location for a couple or family to relax without tons of people yet close enough to town that you can easily go for shopping, restaurants & nightlife. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Attached is a photo from our room.....

  • Liked — Clean room, great view, right in front of the beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Relais La Borie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Relais La Borie

Address: Rua Gerbert Perisse 1374 | Geriba Beach, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Buzios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Buzios
#7 Family Hotel in Buzios
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Buzios
#10 Romantic Hotel in Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Relais La Borie 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Relais La Borie Hotel is a French charming hotel located directly on the white sand beach of Geriba in Buzios, well known for its surfing and popularity with a fashionable and young crowd. Striving for the utmost in relaxation and pleasure, Le Relais La Borie Hotel offers an international-style service, and a restaurant serving French-style cuisine in a cozy atmosphere with a terrace overlooking the water. Unwind with a massage, head to the tranquil dual pool area (one pool with warm water) or take a short walk through the beautiful gardens to the breathtaking beach and crystal clear blue ocean, which is perfect for surfing and windsurfing. Nearby Le Relais La Borie Hotel, there are numerous activities to enjoy, such as sailing, scuba diving, water-skiing, golfing, horseback riding and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Relais La Borie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Relais Laborie Hotel Buzios
Hotel Le Relais La Borie Buzios, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Relais La Borie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.