We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Getaway in Buzios” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Vila Pitanga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada Vila Pitanga to your Saves list
Pousada Vila Pitanga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua G4, number 6, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28.950-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Buzios
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming Getaway in Buzios”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in Vila Pitanga in December and wished we planned for a longer stay. The pousada is extremely clean and tastefully decorated up on a small hill in a safe residential neighborhood about 15 minutes walking to the main center Rua das Pedras. It's also about a 10 minute walk (in opposite direction) to Ferradura beach, our favorite beach on Buzios. If you choose to take a taxi to and from town, the cost is $R15 which is about $USD8. Once you walk to the main street (5 mins), you can take local vans that zoom up and down Buzios to visit some of the 15+ beaches. The cost for the public van is $R2.
The breakfast consists of fresh fruits, cereal, yoguart, cake, toast, cold cuts, cheese andmade-to-order eggs, and of course tea and coffee. The freshly squeezed OJ is delicious!

Denise the owner, like everyone else mentioned, is warm, friendly and super helpful. The two restaurants she recommended were the best seafood places (O'Barco and David's Restaurant) we had in both Buzios and Rio. She even helped us book the bus transfer from Rio Int. airport to Buzios which was a big help since private car hire was expensive and other small van agencies were hard to reach if you didn't speak portuguese. On the 2nd day of our trip, we discovered our ATM card numbers have been stolen and Denise stayed late with us to help us call our bank in the US. She truly strives to provide the best service and homey environment for her guests.

Thank you Denise for such a wonderful vacation in Buzios, we loved it and hope to stay at your pousada again!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    118
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
77
300
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We had a fantastic 4 nights stay at Vila Pitanga in December 2011. The Pousada is very clean, serves a substantial breakfast with eggs, fruit, bread, yoghurt etc., has a good location with walking distance to two beautiful beaches as well as the city centre. Not to mention the owner Denise who is very friendly and happy to answer any questions you might have. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Buzios.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in Vila Pitanga in November and loved it. It's so peaceful and tranquil. Denise is just lovely, so helpful and kind. It's around 10 - 15 mins away from the centre, and it's only about 10 mins from Ferradura beach. The beds are very comfortable and we loved the hammock outside our room.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which was nice. The view outside was lovely to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Vila Pitanga was awesome! It was just as described. Denise (the owner) was so friendly and helpful even before we arrived. She sent specific instructions and even booked the bus transfer (1001 bus - from Rio - perfect and "cheap" transfer!). Once we got there, she was available to us every time we had a question. She’s full of helpful tips about Buzios and where to go. We can recommend: renting a Buggy car to see all of the beaches and to do a day trip to the "Brazilian Carribean".

The pousada is charming. It’s so well tended and taken care of. It’s up on a hill and has beautiful garden and view (no sea view, but still beautiful). It is a short walk to the center of Buzios with shops, restaurants and banks etc. We liked that it wasn’t right on the main strip.

The rooms were nice and clean.

One of our favorite things was the breakfast. Delicious eggs made to order, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong, hot Brazilian coffee, cheese, ham, fruits and a homemade cake.

Of course this is not a first class hotel, but Vila Pitanga is a great quality pousada for the price it costs. It was exactly what we wanted. If we return to Buzios, we wouldn’t look anywhere else.

Travellers from Munich, Germany

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, this is it. Its a small 10 room pousada run by the owner, Denise. The Vila is located near the rua das pedras and the beach (10 minute walk to each). The rooms are nice and clean, have fan, AC, and a hammock outside. The owner, Denise is very kind and helps in any way she can. It includes free wifi and breakfast. (eggs, bread, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea). The beach thats nearby is Ferradura beach, which is Ok, although we rented a buggy for a day and drove to the other beaches. My favorite was Brava beach. We had a nice time at Vila Pitanga, I recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My girlfriend and I were lucky to stay 3 nights at Villa Pitanga on a recent get-away from Rio. As always, when you find a place very well reviewed online, you have your doubts as to whether some fake-reviews are involved, but luckily it wasn't the case as the place was great. Denise, the host was welcoming, charming, and with great knowledge of the area, (and when we had to cut our stay a day short, didn't complain at all). The place is very clean, spacious, simple but elegant, and the breakfast was fresh and tasteful. Pitanga's very affordable, too, probably as it is not right on the beach, but everything is close - a 10 min walk to the city centre - and the same to the nearest beach. Denise suggested we rented a buggy and that came in handy. I would easily recommend this place for people going to Buzios.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed 02 nights at Vila Pitanga. It’s a simple, but charming Inn in Buzios. Denise, the owner, is very kind and welcomes you with all you need to know about the city, the beaches, and the restaurants. The inn is located on a very calm street, surrounded by trees and with a view to a little lagoon. But it’s not on the beach, neither on downtown, although it’s easy to walk to both of them (around 10 minutes) and, if you are tired, you shall easily call a taxi (USD 8). The room has good beds, air, fan and fridge. The bathroom has only shower (usual in Brazil) with good cold/hot water pressure. On the first floor, each room has a hammock ouside. The inn has also a pool and a large parking. The breakfast has coffee, tea, milk, eggs made by order, cheese, yogurt, fruits, bread and cake. No doubts, a nice stay in a quiet area, with correct prices.

Tip: Rua das Pedras (Stone Street), which is a pedestrian street in downtown, with restaurants, cafes, shops. I suggest a dinner on Patio Havana (each night they have a different band, with jazz, pop, bossa nova, etc.). Also, a delicious ice cream on Mil Frutas (One Thousand Fruits) at the end of Rua das Pedras.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Vila Pitanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Vila Pitanga

Address: Rua G4, number 6, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28.950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Buzios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Buzios
#11 Romantic Hotel in Buzios
#11 Family Hotel in Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Vila Pitanga 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Pitanga is located in the exclusive area of Ferradura , with it`s beautiful bay. You are perfectly located close to the hustle and bustle of the centre, where you can enjoy a fabulous nightlife. Rooms are light, comfortable, modern and airy with beautiful views. All with TV, air-conditioning, fan and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada Vila Pitanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Vila Pitanga Buzios, Brazil
Pousada Vila Pitanga Hotel Buzios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Vila Pitanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.