We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place where I will go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila d'este

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vila d'este to your Saves list
Vila d'este
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Morro Do Humaita, No 11, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Buzios
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
giussano
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“a place where I will go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Buzios is a small peninsula with many small beach, alternated with rocks, small ports, small islands, flowers and trees. It is just lovely and a MUST to be seen for whoever likes the sea, the nature, but also for people loving nightlife as Buzios is very reach of night attractions. Vila d'Este is on a top of a hill in a fantastic position with a wonderfull view over Buzios center and Busios port and beach. We were in room 11 (I suggest to take a room with a balcony like n.11), in the morning we were opening the window and having a wonderful view of the sea, the small island in front of us, the seagull, the fishermen ships, and so forth. Then the breakfast made by hand made cakes, fresh Brazilian fruits and fresh juice.
People were all very friendly and kind. For sure we will go back in that piece of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    58
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
231
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

A real gem - brilliantly located with awesome views of buzios bay and right next to all the wonderful bars and restaurants and taxi boats for the beaches. A very attractive fun place to chill out and relax by the sea. A lovely hotel with some of the best service anywhere. Just turn up and put yourselves in their hands and they will recommend all the best places to go and book them ahead for you. Enjoy the caipirinhas! Thanks to Diego, Brad and Felipe for treating us like royalty and making us feel like family and to Audley travel for taking us there

Room Tip: sea view rooms superb, lovely suites for honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were in room 4 which was spacious, quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed our time here immensely and were continually impressed with the helpful nature of the staff. My wife had a massage which she claims to be the best she had ever experienced while I was able to enjoy perhaps the world's largest jacuzzi with fantastic views over the water.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Not really anything bad to say about Villa d'este. Excellent location, lovely little town. Rooms are great very spacious, comfortable and very nicely decorated. Breakfast brilliant, loads of choice. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Lovely pool. If I was being very picky, the shower area was a bit small, but shower itself was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a sea view, sounds odd, but rooms at the front get a bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We went to Vila D'este with my husband and his parents for a long weekend. The staff was very gregarious and helpful, they gave good recommendations for restaurants and helped with bookings. The view at Vila D'este is fantastic, and the heated pool with attached steam room was a nice way to end a day. The breakfasts were good, especially for Brazil (they can be lacking sometimes). A little expensive overall but we would likely come again. Great location too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed in Vila d'este at the end of our honeymoon, and really loved the relaxed feel of the hotel. As we were staying in low season- there were a few jobs going on around the hotel which was a bit annoying. The patio was being laid, and there was a photoshoot happening. It meant that we couldn't be in certain parts of the terrace whilst these things were happening- the staff apologised, but it meant that we couldn't relax as much as we would have liked. Additionally, the warm pool was closed (or so we were told when we arrived) but we saw other guests using it later in our stay... The room we staying in had a small balcony and lovely view- but was quite small. No bath in the bathroom either which meant it wasn't a place where we could chill out. ALso- be warned- the restaurant and drinks are incredibly expensive (London prices or higher for beers & G&Ts).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Beautiful hotel - it was part of our honeymoon so we spluged on the Master Suite. Definielty worthwhile for special occasions or if you have loads of money! Suite is amazing, balcony and views just perfect - felt like celebs on their with everyone admiring the hotel/balcony. Room and balcony very private. Staff very attentive, everything just great. Only flaw would be the breakfast, not lots of choice and meal in the restaurant not that great.

Room Tip: Spluge on the Master Suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila d'este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila d'este

Address: Morro Do Humaita, No 11, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Buzios
#3 Spa Hotel in Buzios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buzios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila d'este 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila d’este is an exclusive beautiful Italian-style property which enjoys gorgeous views of the ocean. It is full of charm and elegant touches, both in the public areas and in the rooms. Beautiful handcrafts pieces carefully placed around, creating magic scenaries.Only 15 individually decorated rooms’ guarantees a calm and relaxing stay. The Sunset Bar & Restaurant Egeo offers delicious Brazilian breakfast and Mediterranean cuisine with fine wines, as well as stunning sea views – perfect for an evening meal as the sun goes down. A romantic touch is given by candle lightening. Two ocean front swimming pools at different levels, one of them heated and beautifully shell shaped, with hidromassage area and connected with an ocean view steam. The fancy solarium is the perfect place to read a book while taking a traditional capirinha drink.Relax & massage lounge, that’s surrounded by tropical gardens, ready to offer several massage styles. Business Center with two computers available 24 hours with internet free.A delightful Master Ocean Front Suite with private Jacuzzi and fine décor; ideal choice for honeymooners. Vila d’este is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and shops of Buzios’ Rua das Pedras Main Street and the best beaches in the surrounding area are also within easy reach. One of Vila d´este highlights is its staff and service. Brazilian warm hospitality is a must here. A word to define Vila d´este would be LOVE. Love can be appreciated in every single detail and attitude, creating a smooth atmosphere. Facilities:Restaurant • bar & pool bar • lounge • sundeck • pool • heated pool • steam • massage lounge • free internet business center & wireless area • laundry service • local information & tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Vila d'este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila d`Este Hotel Buzios
Vila D'este Buzios, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila d'este, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.