We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid This Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brava Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brava Hotel to your Saves list
Brava Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 17, Lote 14, Quadra 0 | Praia Brava, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 91 Hotels in Buzios
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Avoid This Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

Do not stay at this hotel even if it the only place open in Buzios. Do not be fooled by the website, our experience is that it is nothing like the website. The hotel took our money in advance and then refused to refund it when we discovered we were are staying in a poorly-constructed and depressing place. We were booked for five nights but stayed for 20 hours, and would have left earlier if we could have done.

The rooms we stayed in were damp, fungus was growing on light fittings and in the bathrooms, and pool area was dirty and the poolside furniture was ripped and dirty. The "pool" is tiny, more of a bird bath really, and is not heated. There was construction equipment surrounding it. The "sea view" we were offered was nothing of the sort (see photos)

We saw much evidence of poor construction, with rusting fittings, loose cobblestones, damp ceilings, failing concrete screed (see photos), and room doors that are not secure and do not close properly (see photos). In a country like Brazil, with crime an issue, you like to go to sleep at night knowing your room is secure, at least

The food is poor, with no choice for breakfast and the same menu for lunch and dinner with limited options every night, with high prices.

Do not stay here.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    4
    13
    35
See reviews for
12
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

My husband and I had a 3 night stay booked at the Brava hotel in November 2006. Upon check in we realized that we did not want to waste our vacation at this dump. I was shocked at how different the hotel was from what appeared on the website. Do not be fooled by the posh appearance on the website. The Brava Hotel is nothing of the sort. Let's just say that the rooms were filthy...the bathroom was absolutely disgusting, there was mold growing on the ceiling in the shower and also on the floor next to the bed. Also, the "ocean view room" was only ocean view if you hung your head out of the window. We contacted the manager of the property and told her that we were extremely unhappy with our room. Her response basically told us to take it or leave it. We had already paid for the three night stay, but decided to check out after the first night even though the Brava was unwilling to offer any sort of refund. We returned to Rio and stayed at Le Meridien. This was the best decision we could have made given the circumstances. Fortunately, Le Meridien was a beautiful hotel with helpful staff members and a nice location.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

We just returned from Buzios. Unfortunately, we did not heed the warnings here. I can't comment on all aspects of the hotel because we did not end up staying the night. After check in we waited in the lobby where the ceiling was falling, and there was some type of mold growing on the walls. This, combined with the odor and general inferior quality of the place made us change to a different hotel. I will say, the staff was pleasant and quick about helping us leave. They acted like it was common for people to be dissatisfied. If you are looking for accomodations in Buzios, you should try Glenzhaus. It's a small pousada with a fantastic staff, clean rooms, and a very pleasant atmosphere. I can't say enough good things about Glenzhaus.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the brava in 2 occasions , 2004 and 2006 .
We loved the design and decoration of the Brava Hotel , the pool area and public spaces are extremely cool with a great vibe .
The guests of the Brava tend to be very cool too , models , famous people , great for " people watching " .
the hotel is just 100 yards form the Brava beach , set on a
small hill . the town of Buzios is only a 10 minute walk .
the rooms have been renovated in 2006 so on our second stay
we enjoyed the newer upgraded version of the rooms .
The owners and hosts Marcelo and Jorge are great personalities .
The hotel also has a boat for excursions
We will come back .

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

Immediately upon check in, we surveyed the situation and opted to check out. The mold growing throughout the bathroom was the only indication we needed to realize this hotel was sub-par. The manager then assured us we were only being charged 200 USD a night, far less than the 750 USD we were booked in at. For that amount we decided to stay, as it was late at night and we had been traveling for a full day. Needless to say on check out, they ripped us off, charging the maximum dollar value they could get off our pre-authorization form.

The Brava hotel has got to be one of the worst hotels in existence. I stayed at travel lodges when I was a teenager that rival this dump. There are no decent drinks, they have music on a continuous loop, the food is terrible, and the owners are arrogant.

Avoid this dump at all costs!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing!!!
  • Disliked — Everything!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay AWAY from the BRAVA HOTEL!!!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2007

This hotel markets itself as a luxury hotel, however, the only thing it has going for it is its website & the photos they've posted. Brava is the worst hotel experience I have ever encountered through all my years of traveling.
Upon arrival we discovered that the hotel had messed up our reservations and instead of having two rooms for two nights, they could only guarantee us two rooms for the first night, and one room for the second night. They promised us to let us know if a room opened up, and that the worst case scenario would be for the four people in our group to share one room on the 2nd night. We reluctantly agreed to this as we had no choice; it was New Years week & all the hotels were booked. The following morning, we were told that not only had no rooms become available, but the one room we did have was also no longer available to us and that we would have to check out that morning.
After trying to communicate w/ the hotel staff. of which only one person spoke English, we asked to speak to the owner. We were also told that the staff knew upon check in that we would have to give up our room on day two, but had decided not to say anything to us; they thought they would handle the situation the next day. My Spanish speaking friend was able to communicate w/ the Argentinian owner, who was completely apathetic. He refused to accomodate us in any way, and never even offered an apology. When we asked him what a purpose of a reservation was, he just stared at us. The only thing the staff did for us was to book a third rate pousada in the middle of town, where we spent the night.
Brava Hotel is owned by two Argentinian brothers who have tried to create a luxury hotel a la the Delano in South Beach, however it is all a farce and facade. It is very pretty, at first glance. but they know nothing about providing service, which is what a hotel experience is all about. Aside from their unprofessional conduct regarding our reservations and our rooms, the service is extremely poor. When we ordered food and drinks poolside, each drink and each plate would arrive separately, w/ a 15-20 minute gap in between, such that none of us had our food or drinks together. It was ridiculous, considering there were only about 6 or 7 other guests poolside at the time.
Their "fitness center" is a joke. It consists of a treadmill and a bike. Their rooms are poorly designed, w/ a big potted Palm tree blocking the pathway around the bed; again only an aesthetic touch.
I would not recommend anyone stay at this hotel. For $200 (US$) a night, one expects decent service, accomodating staff & function, instead of a facade of luxury. Anyone can hire an architect and interior designer to create a visually pleasing space. However it takes skill, experience and professionalism to provide good customer service. In my opinion, this hotel will not last. Oh, and as far as the "heliport" they boast about on their site, it is another misrepresentation. If you arrive by helicopter, they drop you off in the middle of a field and excpect you to find your own way to the hotel (this we were told by other travelers we met there). Above all, I found the apathy of the owner and the rudeness we encountered the worst offense of all; mistakes can be made by anyone, but it is how one handles the situation with a customer that proves one's professionalism and sense of ethics.

  • Liked — The location and the architecture
  • Disliked — Their unprofessional service regarding our reservations and their refusal to accomodate us in any way.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure to read reviews of hotels you are booking online. Web sites can be very misleading.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

My girlfriend and I spent an amazing four days at the Brava in early November. We almost didn't go because of the negative reviews we read here after we had booked our trip, but we wanted to be away from the hustle of Buzios town, so we stayed with our reservation. We are so glad we did.

First, the property is in a wonderful location, set up high overlooking Praia Brava, a fantastic beach with a really cool set up. The walk to the beach takes 3 minutes...it is really close.

Upon arriving we were met by Marly and her gracious team of people who grabbed our luggage and made everything really smooth. The music, the vibe, the incense...it was a true sensual experience.

The welcome tour was very helpful, the publlic spaces are super-stylish and comfortable, and then off to our room (we did book one of the lofts) with a full-on ocean view, beautiful billowing white curtains, a huge deck with a day bed, fantastic decor and a great big king size platform bed in the loft.

The bathroom was downstairs and was well-equipped. Great shower, good water pressure, everything worked.

There was a mini bar and some snacks, pretty standard stuff.

We brought our own music, but they did provide a boom box and some CD's.

The food is really good, but it is done Brazil style. Breakfast is fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt and bread. Lunch and dinner are all about local produce and fresh ingredients.

The service was fantastic. Quiet and cool is how we thought of it.

Everything at Brava is laid back, stylish and truly relaxing.

This is a great place to come with someone you love.

That said, don't come here if you are expecting an American hotel experience. This is Brazil, this is Buzios. Things are different here. If you come, be prepared for some Brazilain Soul. You will leave happy!

  • Liked — The atmosphere and views
  • Disliked — Our visit was too short
  • Tips/Secrets — Smile, be friendly, stay cool
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brava Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brava Hotel

Address: Rua 17, Lote 14, Quadra 0 | Praia Brava, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Buzios
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brava Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Brava Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brava Hotel Buzios, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brava Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.