We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel/Pousada, poor location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandragora Hotel Pousada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mandragora Hotel Pousada to your Saves list
Mandragora Hotel Pousada
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Jose Bento Ribeiro Dantas, 1010 | Portal da Ferradura, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Buzios
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel/Pousada, poor location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Buzios have so many places to stay, but this is not among the best. The hotel is clean, has a nice pool-area, the room was decent and most of the employees was very friendly, except one. There is a small supermarket across the street with basic daily needs.
The hotel is within walking-distance to the center of Buzios but unless You enjoy a 20 minute walk each way choose another pousada closer to "Rua das Pedras", the walking street. A taxi is 15 reals one way. Another drawback is the location close to the main road. Sometimes it was difficult to sleep because of the traffic. Another sleep-problem was one of the neighbors dog, barking during the night. Also a 20 minute walk to Praia Ferradura. Breakfast is not included and costs way too much. 20 USD pr person/pr day for youghurt, bread, ham, cheese, 3 types of fruits, 2 types of cakes, juice, coffe, tea and scrambled eggs. I also found it rude when I was corrected when trading in two wet, sandy beachtowels for two clean ones to use by the pool; " only one towel pr day/pr person".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    43
    13
    11
See reviews for
48
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My friend and I stayed a week at the La Mandragora hotel and loved it. The guy who runs the place went WAY out of his way to help us. Not only did he arrange transportation to and from the hotel, arranged for us to rent a dune buggy, and arrange a wildlife tour --- but he also helped us coordinate rescuing an injured penguin we found on the beach. The common areas are beautiful and it is a close walk to downtown. Perfect! Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights. Nice property, recently renovated.
Staff was good, helped me set up a golf game and rent a buggy.
They have a tennis court, so I was able to hit some balls with my wife.
That was a nice surprise.
Hotel's location is not good. Not near the water, and not near the downtown of Buzios, so that's why we rented the buggy.

Food was not bad. We ate a meal in the restaurant and we really liked the pool area. Lots of space, nice pool, and very comfortable.

One big problem. Lots of mosquitos. They said this was a persistent problem in Buzios, but we did not have this problem in the other 2 hotels we stayed at in Buzios...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

The Pousada La Mandragoria provide a central location in beautiful Buzios, Brazil. Although very plain from the road, the public areas of the hotel were lovely, especially the large pool and sitting areas/restaurant. The modern appearance of these areas was in contrast with the rustic hotel rooms, which were very simple but adequate. The pool area was lush with gorgeous foliage, good service, and overlooked a well-maintained tennis court. Also a squash court for enthusiasts! Dining at the modern restaurant was a pleasant surprise, providing tasty food at reasonable prices in an upscale atmosphere. Marcelo at the front desk provided us with great suggestions of local restaurants and beaches, and the hotel provided a shuttle service to beaches/attractions.

  • Liked — Beautiful pool and grounds
  • Disliked — Rooms could be updated
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandragora Hotel Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandragora Hotel Pousada

Address: Av. Jose Bento Ribeiro Dantas, 1010 | Portal da Ferradura, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mandragora Hotel Pousada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mandragora Hotel Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mandragora Buzios
Mandragora Hotel Pousada Buzios, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandragora Hotel Pousada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.