We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect hideaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Casa Buzios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada Casa Buzios to your Saves list
Pousada Casa Buzios
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua do Morro de Humaita | Casa 1, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 284 Buzios B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“the perfect hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

beautyfull building with spacious inner courtyards/gardens. great rooms. Quiet - perfect for undisturbed work or pleasure in holidays.
Good breakfast. closed to beaches and also to the main-beach with all waterfront-bars/restaurants within few minutes walk.
Seaview from front garden.
Reception closed at 8:00 pm. That gives you even more privacy without diturbing control of the staff...
The only drawback: W-LAN is not working well. I-phone-chat or online work takes a lot of time. But that seems to be a general problem of Buzios infrastructure. Not shure if other hotels would deal better with it.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    36
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
115
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We found Casa Buzios on line & chose it above the other options.
The place is delightful - Fred & Liv could not have been more helpful. Its charming & simple.. does'nt pretend to be anything else than what it is.

We would definately go back & recommend it... Our only comment and that's a "constructive critisism" is that they should take away the mention of the "pool snacks" as they did'nt exist (Liv very sweetly made us a sándwich) - also especially for those of us with children it would be wonderful to be able to come back after dinner & sit in the patio or overlooking the sea & have a drink. Either some bottles of wine (which one could purchase by the bottle) or some sort of simple honor bar system would be fantastic.

All in all totally charming & a great place to stay. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Feeling home in Brazil at Casa Buzios. The spot is lovely greatly situated in Buzios and gives you this kind of privacy which you do not find in a hotel. The rooms are big, clean and give you the possibilty to organize your own way of living. If you are ready to explore the environment and night life the big french guy (owner) personally will help you through. Relax, adventure and party are the ingredients for a beautyful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Perfect place to to a lovely and restful stay during a long weekend.
We arrived without reservation and checked on many other places...but it's hard to choose anywhere else after seeing the accomodation and talking to the manager.
The guest house is charming, the service attentive but relaxed, the rooms cosy and clean.
Our hosts took great care of us - they have wondefull tips on where to go and where to eat.
I wouldn't hesitate to return every time I go to Buzios

Room Tip: There is double room in the back with a private yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Agreeing with most of what other people have said:
- excellent, friendly and helpful staff
- very clean and comfortable
- great breakfast
- perfect location - quiet, within easy reach of main shopping and eating places - as well as some amazing beaches

Whilst we were there, swimming pool had a slow leak (really only a problem for Fred, the owner, who was getting very frustrated by it); there were also
some pretty noisy builders working 7am-4pm next door - sadly beyond Fred's control.

The only bugbear is that we used a booking website (Tripadvisor's partner) and paid in advance by card. By doing this, we paid 20% more than if we had booked directly with the hotel and
paid in cash. For an 8 night stay, that was quite a lot extra - but would have been a mountain of cash to carry around.

A general tip for Buzios - it was a LOT more expensive than we realised. And take care at ATMs there - both our bank cards were skimmed and cloned within days despite normal precautions.

I would stay again, for sure.... only booking directly with the hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in Jangada - having sneaked a peak at most of the rooms, we felt that the combination of l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBuzios, Proprietário at Pousada Casa Buzios, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hi guys!

Thanks for this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you at Casa Búzios. Hopefully the small leak in the pool is now sorted.

Regarding the building site at my neighbors I am still asking them to lower the noise in the morning...not easy. The good news is that they will have finish work in September 2012!!

Sorry about your card being cloned. It happens a lot in Brazil (especially in Rio) lately and you want to be really careful when paying with your credit card.

I hope I will welcome you back for another relaxing week!

All the best!

Frédéric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a lovely restful stay at Casa Buzios after a busy working week in Rio. The guest house is charming, the service attentive but relaxed, the rooms cosy and clean. Our hosts took great care of us - even organising a days fishing for us with the eccentric but lovable Ze. I wouldn't hesitate to return - we arrived as guests and left feeling as if we had spent the weekend in the home of a friend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I spent July 4th with Fred and gang at Casa Buzios and can't say enough good things about the pousada. The best beaches, restaurants, shopping, literally everything, was in walking distance. All staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The breakfast is great. Great music and great caipirinhas to boot. I already miss watching the urubu from the lounge bed at the pool each morning. Abracos, Fred from Stacey and Alex.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Casa Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Buzios

Address: Rua do Morro de Humaita | Casa 1, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 284 B&Bs / Inns in Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casa Buzios 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Búzios is a superb colonial house run by the French owner. It works as “Hotel de charme” and can also be rented for long stays in family or with friends. This 500m² house is strategically located on the Orla Bardot facing the ocean at Armação beach at walking distance from the famous city center Rua das Pedras and from the 5 most beautiful beaches of the peninsula. No car needed at all!The six en suite room are spacious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada Casa Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casa Buzios Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Casa Buzios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.