We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange name - but good food inside!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bananaland

Bananaland
Rua Manoel Turibio Farias 50, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
22 2623 2666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 374 Restaurants in Buzios
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A strange name - but good food inside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A cheap and cheerful per kilo restaurant, Bananaland has been around for a bout 10 years or so and is a well established eatery in Buzios centro. You will find just about anything on the extensive display of fresh meats, salads, seafood and fish - in fact everything except bananas! My own favorite is 'Rabada' or Oxtail, but made in a way quite unique to brazil with cooked watercress. Quite delicious. It's a bit small and cramped and can get a bit noisy when full but it's great fun and great value.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    99
    30
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best in Buzios for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

As a family we have been visiting Buzios for the last 10 years or so and have always eaten in Bananaland because we like it so much.

It follows the well known Brazilian 'per-kilo' approach where you pay for the food by weight - this is a great idea but does not seem to transfer to Europe - possibly because meat is too expensive to a allow free for all by weight.

The quality of the food on offer is superb. There is a wide variety of excellent and often imaginative salads. The hot meat dishes are very good and are different every day. Usually there is a selection of beef (filet mignon no less), chicken, pork or fish. Other hot veg and accompaniments are also available. The great thing about per-kilo is you can have a little bit of many things and therefore try as much as you like.

The staff are very helpful and always serve with a smile.

Some reviews here seem to suggest it is expensive - and that may be the case compared to some other poor quality per-kilo restaurants nearby. However, as a place to eat in general we find it extremely good value. The price was R$58 per kilo and even a greedy pig like me could only manage about 450g tops so you should come in at about $R30 (£10) per person with drinks. Desserts come extra but we do not usually have any (prefer to get an ice cream on the street after). If you go to any other standard retaurant in the area you will pay far more.

What we like about Bananaland is that you can eat good quality, well presented, healthy food for a very reasonable price. So if you visit Buzios I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Had lunch here with my wife. They do a kilo menu, which is basically buffet style except you pay for the weight of the food you put on your plate. They had a great display for lunch. I had amazing mussels and lentils. They had warm and cold food, salads, veggies, and meat. My wife is a vegetarian and did well here too. I thought it was great for lunch.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best kilo for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

The food not only tastes great but also has a beautiful look. Formidable place and excellent service. The owners have already been to TV shows to give some of their secret receipts. It is a little bit expensive but it is worth every single penny.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Modern kilo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Dropped in for lunch on the small terrace on Rua das Pedras. Loved this kilo restaurant as a great place for a group who had varied dietary needs(vegetarian, gluten-free). Fantastic vegetarian selection, lots of creative combinations of dishes. Staff were VERY helpful and went beyond in guiding us through the buffet. Pricing was about average for Buzios.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bananaland also viewed

 

Been to Bananaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananaland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.