We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Brazil I've Heard About...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rasa Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Rasa Marina to your Saves list
Villa Rasa Marina
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Av. Jose Bento Ribeiro Dantas, 299 | Praia Rasa, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Buzios
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Brazil I've Heard About...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I work down in Brazil, and have been looking for the Brazil that people talk about: beautiful, great food, relaxing, etc. I don't exactly see the pretty parts. But when I got the opportunity to stay at Villa Rasa Marina, my eyes opened. It's perfect! Quiet, relaxing, and THE FOOD! The food is incredible. You have to try their ravioli, and the ceviche. The rooms are clean, pretty, and the beds are amazing. From the patio and lounge area, there is an amazing view of the Buzios coastline, the type the put in National Geographic and as a little kid you promise that you'll see that some day.

When I get to go back to Buzios and go diving again, I won't even have to think about where I'm staying. It will only be Villa Rasa Marina. I absolutely L-O-V-E this hotel. The front desk staff speaks English, so communication is no problem.

Have fun!

Room Tip: The hotel is split up, one part on both sides of the main road that runs into Buzios. I stayed on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    38
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
57
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Villa Rasa for a romantic holiday and loved it. The property is located at Rasa Beach and there is an astonishing view of the same. The rooms are clean and the staff is gentle. The food in the restaurant is delicious, though it is a little expensive. The only negative point was that we considered that the hotel is located a bit far from downtown Buzios and the traffic is heavy and it may take a long time to go to Rua das Pedras from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Stayed 3 nights at the boutique hotel. The website described attractively the Villas, but once you're there it's a total different place you discover. First of all, Rasa Marina is not in buzios but 10 to 15mn away from the center. A taxi cost about 25 reals to get to town.
The long beach is quiet nice for long walk and relax time. But when it gets windy it becomes just a nightmare. In the mean time, the other beaches around buzios are quiet protected from the wind.
Most of the rooms are facing the swimming pool which does not give much privacy.
From the check-in to check out, the service was catastrophic. If you don't speak Portuguese it's even worst as expect one front desk manager speaks English. The pool attendant and barman were nonexistent, but please help yourselves...
In the kitchen, it's not better. First it is VERY expensive, from the light lunch around the pool, to the room service, and the cocktail that anyway you have to avoid. The breakfast is OK even if you have to raise your voice if you need to get any attention from a waiter.
I almost forget, the place is not the cleanest you can find...
You've got lot of choices of nice, private, design pousadas in Buzios. Please avoid this one.
Sebastien

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Rasa Marina was supposed to be our first hotel in Brazil. Due to a large corporate party booking on the first night, they put us up in their Leblon hotel, the Marina All Suites. Thank goodness. Because if we'd arrived straight off the plane plus a 3 hour car journey with 2 small children in tow, I think I'd have lost it!

On arrival we found we were not in the main hotel, but in 2 interconnecting annex rooms. I did know the rooms were called that, but no-one had explained what it meant.

When you look at the website what you see is lots of photos of the main hotel, which is on the beachfront, and quite designer.

The Annex rooms however are the wrong side of a busy main road, opposite. They have no view, are not the least bit the same quality of design as in the main hotel, and have attached to them a miserable pool with plastic furniture. You could be anywhere on the Spanish Coast del Sol. The road separating the two halves of the hotel is really busy. Traffic zips along it, and sometimes we'd wait 5 minutes to get a gap big enough to risk with the children.

When we asked to be moved into the main hotel, it turned out the only room available was the biggest suite, so we had to pay to upgrade. I got the impression they are used to this request. I think another family with a baby were moved across to the main hotel for no extra cost.

That said, the main hotel has lovely views of the beach, breakfasts are great with lots of choice, and has a nice pool. They have surf boards you can borrow.

I got the impression some people just stay put, because the hotel's in the middle of nowhere, nowhere to walk to, other than along the beach. You can get taxis around, but there doesn't seem to be a taxi rank for the way back, and there's no hotel shuttle into Buzios town or beaches. You do need to hire a car. It takes about 15 mins to get in to the beaches, and the town. The hotel can arrange rental for you.

Only front desk staff speak English, none of the restaurant staff. Our bills and orders were regularly wrong. It was definitely not done on purpose, and they were always apologetic when the mistake was pointed out.

I found the sea water just outside the hotel to be quite dirty. I don't know if this is typical of the coast there. But I found floating margarine boxes, plastic bottles and the like in the water, and washed up on the beach. Other Buzios beaches did not seem to have this problem as far as I saw. And nor did any of the beaches I visited in Rio.

Overall we liked the beaches in Buzios, and the main town area with its shops and restaurants. But, unless you want to just stay within the hotel grounds, I would not particularly recommend this hotel, especially the Annex rooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at Villa Rasa Marina for a week in April after a week in Rio and overall had a great time. The hotel had literally just opened so there were a few things that could be improved - namely the service which was painfully slow and no-one spoke any English, which is fine but not in a 5 star hotel. The hotel itself is made up of a few low rise buildings surrounding a good sized pool and outside bar area. Our room was very tastefully done out in local styles, really comfy beds, good products etc and it had a lovely view over the gardens and beach. However, we realised that half of the hotel is on the other side of the road so you really wouldn't want to be staying on that side as there's nothing there and no view at all. The main part of the hotel is situated right on the beach which is really pretty and you feel quite away from everything - it's about a 10-15 min taxi into Buzios. The breakfast was really good and definitely worth getting up for - lots of choice and loads of fresh fruit, croissants, eggs etc. We had lunch there a few times and that was also really good quality. The spa wasn't open when we arrived but we did have a masseuse come to the hotel which was good. Overall, a lovely luxurious hotel and perfect if you are looking to relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rasa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rasa Marina

Address: Av. Jose Bento Ribeiro Dantas, 299 | Praia Rasa, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Buzios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Buzios
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Buzios
#25 Romantic Hotel in Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Rasa Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia and Expedia so you can book your Villa Rasa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rasa Marina Hotel Buzios
Villa Rasa Marina Buzios, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rasa Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.