We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good but nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Colina de Geriba, 16, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Buzios
Porto Alegre
1 review
“It's good but nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I was with my family in Aquabarra in October, 2009. It is a good place but nothing special because the daily rate is high. The place is cool and there is a zen atmosphery. The room is wide and confortable. The breakfast is good. I don´t recommend to go with small kids because there are many steps and decoration objects that can break. They offer wire less, internet and sauna, but everything are collected, until if you use the small refrigerator in the room to keep your foods, they collected for that. It is far 5 minutes to the beach and 15 minutes of the main street to catch a bus, the best is to rent a car.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    61
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
59
154
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Aquabarra has a magnificent atmosphere and the staff are very helpful. Everything is so genuine and all interior at Aquabarra has been personally collected by the passionate owners. If we could, we would live there.
Its just a couple of minutes drive from the beach, where you can surf and sunbath. If you would like to go to the city of Buzios, thats also just a few minutes drive. Rent a car and explore the beautiful Buzios. If not, just stay at Aquabarra. You don't really need to go anywhere from that place.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

The most charming and cozy Guesthouse ever!

My Name is Tatiana and I’m from Rio de Janeiro.
I’m used to visit Buzios since I was a little girl.
This was the first time that I’ve been on a pousada since my parents used to have a house over there.
So when planning this trip I did a huge research on internet.
Aquabarra were the first to reply with clear info and with very nice pics.
I called and wrote to may other anyway but none of them were as gentle and sympathetic as Lily, the owner of Aquabarra. And she also offered me a good deal when I told her that I wanted to stay there.
On the week I’ve stayed there, breakfast was awesome, we had an amazing sea view [even better than Dad’s house] The owners and staff were a lot of fun and even more at night with the best cool music.
I know the city so I thought I didn’t need it to much attention but they prove me wrong giving me incredible advices of where to go and what to do and how to save money.
I had never been in another lodge before and I don’t think I’ll ever be because I just became fan of Aquabarra.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

The Guest house is beautiful and has potential to be an amazing success if it wasnt for the incredibly rude, out of control house lady/manager.
We were at the end of a 4 month trip through South America and thought a relazing last week in Buzios would be our treat. It had the opposite effect it was the worst 10 days of our whole trip in SA.
She made sure we felt uncomfortable every single day.
Dont ruin your trip to Brazil by staying here until the ownership is changed.

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Colina de Geriba, 16, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Buzios
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buzios
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Buzios
#13 Family Hotel in Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, with its authenticity and charisma will make it a unique place for your next vacations. It is located tree blocks away from the exclusive Geriba beach and 5 minutes from the famous Rua das Pedras (in car).Aquabarra offers a subtle luxury, focused on the comfort and the careful selection of each detail. Every corner features various objects, art pieces and special collections from our travels and experiences, aiming to reflect our personal style and emphasizing design, harmony and serenity.Our services include restaurant, lounge, bar and good music. Solarium, gazebos, ocean-view pool, sauna, and Spa area with excellent professionals. We count with 15 suites, all with different views and uniquely decorated.A very complete and delicious breakfast buffet is included in our rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel And Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel Buzios
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa Buzios, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.