We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Standards and Excellent Staff !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Angra Marina & Convention

Save Saved
You added Melia Angra Marina & Convention to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Angra Marina & Convention
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodovia Rio Santos (BR-101) km 488, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23935, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Angra Dos Reis
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High Standards and Excellent Staff !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

High Standards and Excellent Staff!

We stayed in Melia Angra dos Reis for six nights in February during our tour of Brazil.
The location was beautiful and the facilities excellent.
Our room was wonderful, spacious and immaculate with a bath and shower, overlooking the exotic pool with the palms. The food was delicious and had a big variety of local and international dishes. The whole staff from the cleaners to the waiters and especially the reception team were very friendly and extremely helpful. A very special thanks to the reception Manager Lucia do Carmo for her exemplary care, and superb service.
It definitely deserves 5 stars!
We would highly recommend Melia Angra Dos Reis to anyone who is visiting Brazil.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Melia Angra Marina & Convention, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Google Translation
Somos gratos por ter escolhido o nosso hotel para sua estada em Angra dos Reis e por ter dedicado seu tempo para registrar e compartilhar sua experiência. Ficamos felizes ao saber de sua satisfação com o nosso hotel e serviços oferecidos e gostaríamos de deixar registrada a importância de seus comentários, que alimentam o nosso ideal na busca incessante pela excelência contínua. Esperamos ter a satisfação de recebê-lo novamente em breve oportunidade. Cordialmente, Fátima Rodrigues – Gerente Geral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    214
    131
    49
    24
See reviews for
300
179
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Melia resort from 4th to 9th February 2014 - the hotel and it's facilities were excellent. Comfortable rooms, excellent service, lovely atmosphere, fantastic pool area and all inclusive - what more can you want ! The staff were friendly and helpful especially as we do not speak much Portuguese. We did not want to leave but had to move to Buzios.....we would thoroughly recommend the Melia Resort, Angra to anyone. Visitor from Buckinghamshire, UK.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Melia Angra Marina & Convention, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Sr. S M, É com grande satisfação que recebemos os comentários de sua estada no Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort. Estamos contentes em saber que atendemos suas expectativas e que apreciou nossos serviços e o hotel. Somos gratos por nos ter escolhido como opção de hospedagem em Angra dos Reis e aproveitamos para registrar que será um imenso prazer recebê-lo novamente em nosso hotel. Cordialmente, Fátima Rodrigues - Gerente Geral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed 7 days at Melia Angra with family and friends in a ALL INCLUSIVE package which should be called SOMETHINGs INCLUSIVE since it lacked multiple things and there was zero service at pool or beach. At dinner, there wasn't any waiter to bring us drinks and no fans to refresh us from the hot temperature. Food was normally cold and only few options. As long "Services" is considered, my grade would be zero.
As for the New Year's party, it was probably the worse of my life... drinks only until 23PM, no ice to cool our drinks/champagne, the band was boring, and food really cold.
The hotel infrastructure is decent and the rooms are good and clean but internet barely works and the TV was really small and old. Also, the hotel is located at some sort of swamp that they call "beach" so if you want to swim in the ocean, you must rent/have a boat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Melia Angra Marina & Convention, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Sr. Pedro Andersen, estamos desapontados em saber que não teve uma boa experiência conosco e lamentamos não ter atendido suas expectativas. Permita-nos informar que seus comentários serão levados aos departamentos responsáveis para que sejam vistos como oportunidade de melhorias. Esperamos recebê-lo novamente no Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort para que possa vivenciar novas experiências e reavaliar nossos serviços. Atenciosamente, Fátima Rodrigues – Gerente geral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Parasidiac place to sail around the islands. Facilities, food and staff are good and appropriate to allow you to have a pleasant staying. The negative here is the fact hotel also provides service for condominium of owners / renters of appartments in the complex what brings unapproptiate behaviour and unpleasent situations.
Overall Angra is an outstanding place to go to enjoy nature and one of most beautfull coast line in the world and this hotel provides great infrastructure to do so.

Room Tip: Suites are fine for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Melia Angra Marina & Convention, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Sr. EdgarLourencon,

Somos gratos por ter escolhido o nosso hotel para sua estada em Angra dos Reis e por ter dedicado seu tempo para registrar e compartilhar sua experiência. Ficamos felizes ao saber de sua satisfação com o nosso hotel e serviços oferecidos e gostaríamos de deixar registrada a importância de seus comentários, que alimentam o nosso ideal na busca incessante pela excelência contínua. Esperamos ter a satisfação de recebê-lo novamente em breve oportunidade. Cordialmente, Fátima Rodrigues – Gerente Geral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Certainly not the best place in Angra dos Reis. Hotel seems outdated quite expensive for services and facilities rendered to clients. Only two good points for this location are the breakfast quality and cleanliness of romos and areas, I must also add that children activities seemed appropiate but nothing out of the box. Cost/benefit not worthy. Staff is gentle and average. There is no beach at all and water sports offering is very expensive. I`ve been at, at least, five Melia hotels around the world and this one was the less impressive. Stay at this hotel only if room price is far cheaper than other similar hotels & resorts around otherwise dont go and if you still wish to book a room at this place, go with low expectations so not to become disappointed after one day stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luiz S, Gerente geral at Melia Angra Marina & Convention, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Mr. corrysp, thank you for choosing Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort as your hotel during your stay in Angra dos Reis. We Appreciate your kindness in registering your comments regarding your last stay with us and take the opportunity to say that we were disappointed to learn that we did not reach your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort so you can reevaluate our hotel. Sincerely, Luiz Sanches - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel beggars bieleif, i have been here for 10 days and the service is appalling, i must add before i go on that the rooms and the staff who maintain them are second to none, the management and staff in the rest of the complex are worse than i have seen in Brazil, it is never ending problems you would expect in a cheap motel, with access to the rooms a nightmare, we paid almost £5000 to stay here and its not worth even half of that for all inclusive and i stay in hotels all over the world every month, the 2 stars are for the rooms, the food is almost the same every day with rubber chicken and stewed beef along with the usual rice and pasta with terrible sauces to splurge over it, , the site says it has 3 bars and 3 restaraunts, , utter rubbish, it has one inside bar where most of the staff are useless and a pool bar not much better, and only one restaraunt with the same old rubbish daily, internet is 5 reals per hour , another rip off for all inclusive, many drinks are not allowed on all inclusive also, after 11pm its room service only and you pay for the drinks whether coffee or alcohol, no coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms either, they have just removed the coffee machines so we cannot have coffee before the only restaraunt opens and even then the mass boiled coffee is terrible compared to the bean to cup machines, all said its a horrible resort with bad service and worse food, for £5000 for 2 weeks its a sick joke, please do not waste your money, i can think of a hundred places with excellent service and food for half of this almost and one of them is in the Maldives or even Ko Samui in Thailand and Capetown too, DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ITS JUST NOT WORTH IT !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luiz S, Gerente geral at Melia Angra Marina & Convention, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Graham K,
We were disappointed to know that you not had a good stay at our hotel and we apologize for the misunderstanding. The Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort has a restaurant and two options of bars: The Lobby Bar and The Pool Bar described on our site. Thank you for your comments which certainly help us improve and enhance our services. We hope that at the next opportunity you can return and has a new experience and reevaluate our services. Best Regards, Luiz Sanches – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

- Not the best place in Angra
- service and food regular
- food was served cold sometimes
- seems they don't have enough structure for big amount of people
- lack of different activities for rainy days (indoor pool for example)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Angra Marina & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Angra Marina & Convention

Address: Rodovia Rio Santos (BR-101) km 488, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23935, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Angra Dos Reis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Angra Marina & Convention 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Melia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Angra Marina & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Angra Marina & Convention Angra Dos Reis, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Angra Marina & Convention, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.