We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Angra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Angra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Angra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Vereador Benedito Adelino, 3700 - Centro | Retiro, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23900-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Angra Dos Reis
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

I stayed 2 nights with my wife in Pestana Angra Resort. I expected a true five star hotel, since it´s one of the most expensive resort from Angra dos Reis bay area. However what I found was a lazy service, a room needing refurbishment (mold) and lots of mosquitos! Just to give 2 quick examples, our eggs took 25 minutes to be made on the breakfast and we couldn’t use the pool at 9 am because it was closed for maintenance. The place is really beautiful and it probably was a very good hotel, but now I think there are better options on this area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Management Assistant at Pestana Angra Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Dear Customer
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Angra Beach Bungalows and for sharing with other travelers your opinion about our facilities and services. Certainly your comments are very important, so that we can always improve the quality of our services.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Angra dos Reis in the future.
Very Truly Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    65
    40
    23
    24
See reviews for
67
108
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Really nice! It looks like a paradise so close to Rio de Janeiro. Very quite, beautiful nature, gently staff. The room isn´t very luxury, but it´s well decorated and big.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Management Assistant at Pestana Angra Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Dear Customer.
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Angra Beach Bungalows during your visit to Angra dos Reis.
We are delighted to know through your short review, that in general you enjoyed your stay with us.
Certainly your comments are very positive and will help other travelers to choose a nice place to stay when visiting that area.
We hope to welcome you again not in the distant future.
Very Truly Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed at the Pestana for the first portion of our honeymoon. It is in an absolutely beautiful setting -- and very relaxing. The beach is very small and definitely not enough going on to keep you occupied all day long and the pool definitely needed some cleaning.

Our bungalow was amazing, huge, with a great deck and hot tub (except it was sort of dirty) and we didn't really use it. The staff was very nice but most didn't speak English and you definitely didn't get the feeling of being pampered.

The food was good - simple with a few choices but prepared well (and we are foodies). If you stay there I'd recommend the dinner included because there is really nowhere else to go. I'd recommend planning day trips -- boat tours, an excursion to Paratay (but don't do this through the hotel, as they arranged a cab driver who didn't speak English to give us a tour for 400 real).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, MANAGEMENT ASSISTANT at Pestana Angra Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Dear Customer,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Angra Beach Bungalows during your honey moon trip to Brazil. As you may know, so few people take the time to write reviews, even when they are not satisfied with a product.
Thank you for sharing your views about our facilities and services with other travelers. We would like to inform you that we have taken full note of all your comments regarding cleaning of the bath tub and maintenance of the swimming pool.
For your information, the Pestana Group is always promoting staff training in order to improve services, and to be able to offer the best to its guests.
We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Very Truly Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

The hotel has an amazig view, thats all. Servic and ameities are ot good at all

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, MANAGEMENT ASSISTANT at Pestana Angra Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Dear Customer
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Angra Beach Bungalows.
We regret, however, that in general, our services did not reach your expectations. Your comments are being carefully analyzed and we hope to be able to provide a better service if you visit us again in the future.
Thank you for your comprehension and do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.
Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

I stayed at Pestana Angra with my mother and cousin in an extended weekend this summer. The place is beautiful, with great views, from the pool, restaurant and even from our bungalow. Aside from that, everything could be better. The staff are friendly but have no 5 star training, and I don't think even 3 star training. The food is really good but not worth it. The prices are really high and unexplainable, even for drinks, and as there is no restaurants near the hotel, we were stuck with a R$1000 bill in the end of our stay and we controlled ourselves so we wouldn't spend much! Imagine if it wasn't the case!
We expected much more from a 5 star hotel, and as other travellers have already mentioned, the hotel seems to be lacking investment and basic maintenance. Our balcony seemed like it hadn't been cleaned for a while and there was lots o dust in the chairs and sofa, which also had stains. Not something you would normally expect from a 5 star hotel.
The only thing in favour of this hotel is the great view, beach and nature.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, MANAGEMENT ASSISTANT at Pestana Angra Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Dear Customer
At first, we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Angra Beach Bungalows and for sharing with us your opinion about our product.
We regret, however, that some of our services did not reach your expectations. Certainly your comments are very important for us and are being forwarded to the competent department. For your information, the Pestana Group is always promoting staff training in order to improve services, and to be able to offer the best to its guests.
We thank you for your comprehension and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.
Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I and three friends had the misfortune of staying at the Pestana Bungalow Resort for 2 two nights over a weekend, from the arrival at the prison gates to the reception area which looks more like a toilet block rather than a 5* hotel it continues to get worse, the Bungalows whilst being large are set on a steep hillside and if you are unfortunate enough to be stuck up the top of the hill make sure you have some good hiking boots and are in a very healthy & fit condition! The general service is terrible more so in the restaurant/bar where the staff show no enthusiasm to give good serve or be friendly they, together with THE WHOLE RESORT LOOKED TIRED and lacking investment. The food is terrible and vastly overpriced don't expect a buffet breakfast which is not possible due to the large number of flying insects ! Hotel boat rental R$800 for 3 hours we rented outside the hotel for R$60 per hour! Moet Chandon R$450 bottle! I could go on. I live in Rio and know that things can be done better.
Come on Pestana either bring this place upto scratch or remove your name to save your reputation!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, MANAGEMENT ASSISTANT at Pestana Angra Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Dear Customer
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Angra Beach Bungalows.
We regret, however, that in general, our services did not reach your expectations. Your comments are being carefully analyzed and we hope to be able to provide a better service if you visit us again in the future.
Thank you for your comprehension and do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.
Very Truly Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We are a couple with two children (five and eight years old) and we spent five nights at Pestana Angra last month and we really enjoyed our stay.
The positive:
Stunning views - not only from our balcony but from all over the resort;
The bungalow (we have stayed in a Deluxe Bungalow) – big enough to accommodate a couple with two children. The kids loved the Jacuzzi on balcony, the parents the Sauna in the room! The kids also loved the DVD player and the sleeping net in the balcony.
Breakfast – Everything that is expected in a five star hotel.
Lunch – Extensive menu although not cheaper, but affordable for European standard.
Dinner – We loved! We always went for the menu (BRL 80 per person + 10%) and the food was really good and they have Kids menu! Once again was not cheaper, but affordable for European standard. But in our point of view was good value for money.
Beach – Loving beach. One of the best beaches I’ve ever seen, the water was very nice and calm which allow us to rest in the sun chairs while the kids playing in the water. The only problem we anticipated is that in high season the beach for sure will be TOO small. August is low season in Brazil and in one of the days of our stay (Saturday) the beach was full during the morning.
Kayaks – Available for free on the beach and they can be used by one or two person. Our older son loved the kayak which he rowing alone several times.
Swimming pool – We haven’t used it but the view is amazing.
Game Room – Once again we all loved the snooker table which we used several times for free.
The negative:
Distance to Angra – Although we don’t need to go there too many times it cost us BRL 70 a return trip to Angra by Taxi (and we knew a taxi driver because in the reception they asked us BRL 100 for the some trip).
Cost of other services – If you want to do a tour through the surrounding islands you have to pay at least BRL 800 for a speed boat (three hours) because there are no alternatives from the hotel. From Angra we were able to make a tour on a big boat for BRL 30 a person. We know that a big boat with other persons is not the same as a speed boat just for you but the difference on price is huge and from the hotel there is no alternative within an affordable price.
Price – The rack rate is around USD 700/night!!! Our stay was great but not so great that would take us to pay that price to stay in this hotel again. However there a lot of promotions (more even in low season) and we were able to get a good rate (less than 1/3 of the rack rate) and in our case it was a great value for money.
In sum, we can tell that the hotel is amazing and we loved our stay (so much that we even overlooked the fact that we have to switch to other bungalow in the middle of our stay due to water problems) but it is not cheap and you must be careful because if it is a good value for money at USD 200/night it is not at USD 700/night. And you should be more careful when booking in high season (November to March), because not only the price will be higher but also the beach will be very small for all guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, MANAGEMENT ASSISTANT at Pestana Angra Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2010
Dear Customer,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Angra Beach Bungalows during your visit to Brazil.
We are glad to know that in general we have reached your expectations. Thank you for sharing your views with other travelers; your very detailed comments about the room, food, entertainment, beach and so one will for sure help other people to choose their accommodation when visiting Angra dos Reis. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation. As you may know, so few people take the time to write reviews, when they are satisfied with a product.
We hope to welcome you again not in the distant future.
Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Angra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Angra Hotel

Address: Estrada Vereador Benedito Adelino, 3700 - Centro | Retiro, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23900-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Angra Dos Reis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Angra Dos Reis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Angra Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Pestana Angra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Angra Hotel Angra Dos Reis, Brazil
Pestana Angra Dos Reis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Angra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.