We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just OK.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra to your Saves list
Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Estrada Vereador Benedito Adelino, 8413 - Loja 7, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23909-901, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Angra Dos Reis
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

After reading all the reviews posted here, I'd say that nothing really surprised me. The hotel is better suited to famlily trips. I didn't mind the hustle and bustle of having children all around, but couples looking for peace and quiet had better stay away from this hotel. I liked the spacious room and bathroom, and the gardens are well-kept. It's a nice place to enjoy an inspiring morning walk before breakfast. The meals are nothing to write home about. The breakfast offers a reasonable variety and, in fact, is better than the lunch and dinner menus. The food is just average, I wouldn't say it is what you expect from a 4-star hotel. Concerning spirits, they offer scotch (Johnnie Walker and Ballatines) and sparkling wine that are ok; however, the vodka available for drinks and caipirinha is Orloff, which the worst one in Brazil!
Another point I'd like to make is that I think the hotel should pay more attention to the number of employees in charge of cleaning. There are plates and cups lying around, and it takes a while for somebody to come and collect them.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor as they have a nice varanda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Customer,

We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.

The hotel entire team works very hard day after day to exceed our guest's expectations. Unfortunately some time we do not manage to provide the services that our guests wait for.

You may be assured that we have not overseen your comments.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to visit any of our hotels either in Brasil or Portugal

Yours sincerely

Simão Teixeira

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    545
    260
    117
    57
See reviews for
810
244
4
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I had stayed in this hotel 5 years before, when it was still called "Eco Resort de Angra" and was very impressed with the accomodations, food and service. So I returned there for Christmas and New Years. To our disappointment, everything had changed - not for the best. The rooms, once so clean and modern, needed urgent repairs - the lamp did not work, there was mold and rust everywhere. There were problems with the telephone line, which got constantly disconnected - the room was full of mosquitoes and the front desk couldn't provide us with mosquito repellents, which is usually offered in Brazilian hotels at no cost. The food, which was abundant and varied before, was now disgusting. We were a party of 15 people, and no one was pleased. The beach is incredible, and so is the swimming pool. But if it rains, it's hard for you to find something else to do, because the only covered space with games is far away, and there aren't so many choices. So, if you are lucky enough to have good weather and spend your days on the beach, you'll love it (but not the bad food and the cheap wine included in the fee). If not, find somewhere else to go. This hotel has seen better days. btw: we left on the third day and went to a nicer place in Mangaratiba.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Customer,

We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.

The hotel entire team works very hard day after day to exceed our guest's expectations. Unfortunately some time we do not manage to provide the services that our guests wait for.

You may be assured that we have not overseen your comments and we will take measures so that incidents like the ones you commented do not happen again.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to visit any of our hotels either in Brasil or Portugal

Yours sincerely

Simão Teixeira

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Poor service, even worst food.
Very poor quality drinks,such as wines and other spirits, soft drinks are ok.
The 3 restaurants compete to see which one can serve the worst food.
They had a barbecue and the meat was uneatable. The service by the pool just does not exist. Too many kids, but even them dont seem very happy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear Customer,

We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra.

The hotel entire team works very hard, day after day, to exceed our guest's expectations. Unfortunately some time we do not manage to provide the services that our guests wait for.

You may be assured that we have not overseen your comments and we will take measures so that incidents like the ones you commented do not happen again.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to visit any of our hotels either in Brasil or Portugal

Yours sincerely

Simão Teixeira

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed 2 nights with our kids ages 7 and 4 on the way from SP to Rio. The hotel has a pretty location, but all else falls very short of what you'd expect for the price. Clearly they do not have the money to care for the large grounds and pool. There is grass that is not cut, the food is just edible (plentiful, but not yummy and you normally can get good food in brazil even in the simplest places), the pool is a wreck with old cups and beer cans littered around all day with no one cleaning up until the days end, the pool floats are moldy and ragged, the rooms have been renovated, but it is very superficial and Quality Is lacking. This hotel seems to live on tour gritos and lower middle class families who are stretching to have a vacation of a lifetime. If you like charming, quality, authenticity or if you have a less is more philosophy (I don't need 8 entrees I just need one good one), this is not the place for you. Too bad, it could be so much more with the views it has.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

During the week we stayed at the hotel we had 3 kids that were injured and they received stitches. The hotel didnt have emergency care, so you have to travel to Angra (15' drive) to the nearest hospital. I was really very disappointed. We were looking for a place were kids can play and parents can relax a little bit. This was not the case. The kids swimming pool is very dangerous, not having proper safe measures and just one lifeguard for ALL the pools and beach.
Service was ok, clean .Food, good varietyy not so much in desserts.
If you are planning a trip with kids, probably you should think about it or if you are looking for a relax vacaction this is not the right one, just in case you are looking for adventure and stress.
Ah, be careful with cellphones, not all of them have signal

Durante a semana a gente ficou no hotel, tivemos três filhos que ficaram feridos e receberam pontos. O hotel não tem atendimento de emergência, assim que você tem que viajar para Angra (15 'drive) para o hospital mais próximo. Eu realmente fiquei muito desapontado. Estávamos procurando um lugar onde as crianças podem brincar e os pais podem relaxar um pouco. Este não foi o caso. A piscina das criancas é muito perigosa, não tendo as medidas apropriadas de segurança e apenas um nadador-salvador para todas as piscinas e da praia.
Serviço foi ok, limpo. Comida boa variedade não tanto nas sobremesas.
Se você estiver planejando uma viagem com crianças, provavelmente você deve pensar sobre isso ou se você está procurando relaxar um vacaction este não é o caminho certo, apenas no caso que você está procurando aventura e estresse.
ah, cuidado com os celulares, nem todos eles têm o sinal

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

After landing in Rio we rent a car from Localiza (Hertz desk was plain grumpy and so we abandoned it). The ride takes about 3 hours from Rio (be sure to have your GPS) and the roads were quite good (they were not tortuous and rough as in Seychelles).

The resort is a nice decent place. We had a decent 3 bed room which was kept clean.

As I suppose it is the off season, the hotel was not crowded at all, to the point that one day they served breakfast à la carte. Normally, I am not a heavy eater and I do not mind .
But ordering something from only portugese speaking personnel was a real ordeal. After complaining, they switched to buffets. The food was ok but very very bland. Do not forget to bring your Tabasco bottle, if you like hot spicy foods. They never put pepper on the table.
On the other ha
nd, the personnel do not adopt a mercantile attitude. Despite the fact that it is AI, they never pressure you selling you this and that. We really appreciated this.

The hotel grounds are nicely kept and you have real space to breathe.
We did not do any excursions as the weather was bad, but we did visit Paraty which was nice.
The beach is fantastic with a fantastic horzion. Occasionally, some water scooters or small yachts spoil the view and the tranquility. But uncompared to what you find on a rowdy Mediterrenean coast.

The personnel is nice except for one person who spoilt our stay. We choose this hotel because this was the only resort (we do not like Club Medders) that offered a kid's club
.
On the first day, we met the lesiure manager Tomas who was formallly from Club Med, to talk about the kid's activities. He was also one of the rare members who was fluent in American.
He told us that since the hotel is not crowded there's is no activities for the kids.

He had the cheek to add that we as parents can animate the kids !

So much for choosing a resort for its kid's activitie !

This really left a sour taste on us and maybe the next time we have to check out Club Med.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Dear Mr.
We thank you for your comments about your stay at the Hotel Vila Galé Eco Resort de Angra. We welcome all your comments and suggestions; they deserve our best attention and are very valuable for us, since they help us in correcting eventual deficiencies and in improving our service levels.
Our buffets change every day, with different thematic dinners all days of the week. Beyond food offering to attend differents taste, we seek to be careful in preparing the food by placing the proper amount of seasoning. Next to the salad buffet there are vinegar and olive oil bottles, as well as 3 kinds of pepper, one of them “Tabasco”. Nevertheless we are delighted to provide seasoning when the guest asks.
Our kid’s activities happen every day, seven day a week, to children from 4 to 12 years age, from 09:00am to 22:00pm. We’ve 8 young people to entertain the children with specific activities according the age. Maybe our leisure coordinator Thomas didn’t get explain appositely how the leisure department works, and we apologize for what happened.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and look forward to greeting you personally upon your arrival.
With sincere regards,

Marco Antonio Lacerda
(General Manager)
mlacerda@vilagale.com.br
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This resort lies in a beautiful part of Angra, in the middle of a florest and in front of a calm beach, but to be a resort it must have a better service. The food lacks variety and quality, the employers aren t very simpatic, it seems they are very tired to smile. The bars have a slow service. The beach has no activities to the quests. The recreation has almost the same actvities every day, but they are a happy group. The rooms are okay and the cleanliness too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra

Address: Estrada Vereador Benedito Adelino, 8413 - Loja 7, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23909-901, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Angra Dos Reis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#3 Family Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Angra dos Reis, 13 km away from the city centre and 150 km from Rio de Janeiro, this hotel was built from the old Brazilian hacienda Tangua, while still preserving some of its original buildings and royal palm trees. Surrounded by a unique natural landscape, this hotel has a total of 319 rooms, from which 11 suites and 1 presidential suite. Guest may expect wheelchair access ways, 24-hour reception desk with information counter and currency exchange, luggage room and baby changing room, gaming room, infirmary several shops and a beauty salon. Children are welcome to use the playground and visit the Kid's Club. The hotel has 5 restaurants and 6 bars where you may taste the best of Brazil's dished and drinks. The amazing rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable, private balcony, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the hotel outdoors we can find swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi, gardens. For those that are looking for sports the hotel offers multipurpose sports field and tennis courts. For the one that are searching for relaxation check out the Satsanga Spa, a special place where you can find massages and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Eco Resort De Angra Angra Dos Reis, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.