We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best experiences in Brazil!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   BR 101 - Rio-Santos, km 509,5 | Condomínio Porto Frade, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23946-015, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 51 Angra Dos Reis B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of our best experiences in Brazil!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there around late Nov 2013. Hotel offered a car to pick us up from the airport. After about 2 hours drive, we finally arrived. BEAUTIFUL place!! As it wasn't a peak season for tourism, we almost had the entire place ourselves! A private resort, how much more can you ask! hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: get a room on the 2nd floor, where you can out look the trees and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    69
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
125
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night at this very nice and clean hotel. It is located 40 minutes outside of Angra dos Reis in a private area, but really hard to find without any navigation system. The hotel has a pool und small rooms. We had dinner at the restaurant within the hotel. The food and also breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angraguesthouse, Proprietário at Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
we greatly apprecciate your comment,
in order to make some points clear we must say that in our website there are detailed directions of how to get to our place, located in a gated condominum 25 minutes outside of the "busy" and "not so touristic" downtown area of Angra dos Reis. From Rio you only need a straight line to get to our place, only one highway all the way up till u'll find the entrance to the condominium, actually very easy and no need for a GPS. We have 5 different categories of rooms and each single room has its measure specified in our website, there are rooms from 18 to 40 sq meters and all the specifications and photos are posted either in our website or other intermediate websites. We make available as much info, images and videos so the guests can have their expectacions reached in all senses.
We're sorry for any inconvenient during your stay and hope to be honored by your choice once again.
Best regards
Eduardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Location: located in a beautiful gated, guarded, and secure community. The aesthetics of the hotel are amazing. It is quiet, private, surrounded by tropical trees and flowers, backing on to a canal, and neighbors to luxury style homes. The only downfall is that it is located ~2hour drive from the big cities so the taxi ride is expensive. This would not be a problem if you have your own vehicle. We also took the bus from the Frade to the near by towns. The neighborhood has nice restaurants and access to private beaches. We woke up to the tune of birds each morning.
Staff: the staff are very friendly, polite, welcoming, and went out of their way to help us with accommodation.
Rooms: The room we had was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was large, with two sinks, and large enclosed glass shower. The bed was comfortable. Every room has a private porch with a hammock and seating area. The definition of luxury!
Things to do: ideal for those who like to explore nature and see natural beauty. The hotels offers boat tours to beautiful island beaches for a good price - highly recommended! but for those who seek action this is not the place! This is a good place for rest, relaxation, and fresh air. If you want more action you have to travel to the cities or towns (or make your own). The neighborhood is also ideal for walking/running/biking. It is very safe and quiet.
Prices: We went during the world cup when all other hotel prices were inflated. It cost us ~$200 per night in Canadian dollars ($R400) including half pension/board (free breakfast and one free meal included per day, either dinner or lunch at the hotel restaurant). The hotel restaurant has very good food but is quite expensive, especially for seafood which is not included in board. I would recommend opting for the pension/board to cut down on food costs. I think the hotel was reasonably priced otherwise, especially considering the free fresh juice and fruit available for breakfast.

I really enjoyed this hotel, the people, and the location and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be very nice and well located. Rooms backing on to the canal had their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed there in October 2013 with my wife and I loved it. Friendly staff, nice food and a great spread for breakfast. We had a great time despite the rebuilding works in the reception area. The hotel is set in a condo park far away from the cares of the world (it seems) and a good place to relax among the rich yacht crowd of the area. We got the President's suite, a nice room with a little veranda facing the canal where the yachts go past. Ideal for a few relaxing days. If I am in the area again, I will definitely stay there once more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and had a great time. We stayed at the presidential suite (quite a pompous name :-)), the room is spacious, very comfortable, with a private deck and with a large bathroom and shower. The place is located inside a big condo, making it very safe and you can enjoy very nice walks around the place, to the nearby beach and waterfall. It is located outside of Angra dos Reis, which is good, and about 1 hour drive from Paraty, which I highly recommend for a visit. Upon arriving ask the porter for directions to the hotel. While we were there in October 2013 the hotel was being renovated. Food was delicious. As for the service, a waiter dedicated to take the orders could improve it. The owner/manager is caring and did her best to fulfil our requests. I would also recommend the boat trip. On the day we wanted to make our boat trip it was supposed to be the boat driver's free day, which I think the booking staff forgot, but he came anyway and we had a great trip. Thanks a lot for that! We also enjoyed sitting and chatting in the commom area of the hotel, very relaxing. The Angra dos Reis nuclear power plant is just 15 min away by car heading to Paraty, which is also an interesting view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I loved it. Classy room with views over the water frontage; charming staff and caring owner. More millionaire's boats per square meter than you could ever imagine! Food good and local. Lovely pool, well looked after. Definitely worth a stopover if you are driving from Sao Paulo to Rio, or vice versa and good value for money. Impossible to find so do not rely on the instructions on the web site and most important, don't think it is in Angra dos Reis - about 20 kms away! We have stayed at several boutique hotels on this trip and this one was rift up theatre and well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Only a handful and each has different qualities. Ours was in the main building on the corner so had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay in Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel, it is very cozy and comfortable place, located inside a private condo so it was very safe too. We liked our room, next to the pool and close to the waterfront. Great value of the place was the hospitality of Ezequiel, the owner of the place, he did his best to make us feel comfortable and happy. One of the best moments of our stay was the boat trip which we highly recommend. Hotel is little bit outside of town (what we really liked) so we recommend to go there by car, rather using public transportation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel

Address: BR 101 - Rio-Santos, km 509,5 | Condomínio Porto Frade, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23946-015, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Angra Dos Reis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Angra Dos Reis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angra Dos Reis Boutique Hotel offers sophisticated suites beautifully decorated, swimming-pool with bar, a restaurant with excellent homedae Brazilian cusine open from 8:00 to 22:00hs, and private deck for boats. Each suite has its special characteristic and decorations. All of them include private bathroom, air conditioner, cable TV, fridge and balcony.The Boutique Hotel is located in a true ecological paradise, which offers beauty and peace, situated in a private condominium with 170 million square meters and just a few minutes away from Angra dos Reis downtown. The condominium has many sports facilities, trails to waterfalls, marina, stores and a private beach.Among our distinguished and personalized services, we offer boat tours to the islands (extra charge) as well as shuttle from/to Rio city or airports (extra charge). Wi-Fi and parking are available at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angra Dos Reis Boutique Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.