We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax in a paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xales de Maracaipe Pousada Fazenda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Xales de Maracaipe Pousada Fazenda to your Saves list
Xales de Maracaipe Pousada Fazenda
Pontal de Maracaipe, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
1 review
“Great place to relax in a paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Amazing to have the joy of experience such a paradising beach with a carefull staff in Xales de Maracaípe.
The negative point is related to insects, but nothing that the place itself don't surpass by it beauty.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    46
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
54
69
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This would be qualified as less than one star hotel and a little above a South American hostal: floors of bricks, no hot water, a lot of mosquitoes (probably due to the animals' dung all around the place), only cash and located after a very scary looking shanty town. The first night my girlfriend and I had to fight an army of mosquitoes, after paying 70 dollars for a dinner. Bring cash, with the risks that implies in Brazil, because the restaurant and the Pousada have separated administration and the restaurant only accepts cash. The room is barely functional and they do not have hot water. One of the 2 bathrooms of the cottage was out of service, the AC is as noisy as a diesel engine. The worst mistake of my life, the beach is not as it is pictured, definitely the rooms are DIRTY.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and overall it was fantastic. The chalets are very basic, but they are clean. Elene, who works at the desk, is wonderful. She is fluent in English, arranged a number of taxis for us, was very knowledgeable and could not have been more helpful. Have the hotel arrange your pick-up from the airport. It is very easy that way and you know the driver knows how to find the resort, which is down sort of a crazy road in the jungle.

Pros: LOCATION. If you don't want to be in the middle of things, this place is for you. It is about a 10 minute taxi ride from the city, right on a quiet stretch of beach. The loudest noise you hear are the waves crashing on the beach. A ten minute walk up the beach gets you to an incredible stretch of Maricaipe beach, which is perfect for kids and families. Breakfast is good and there is a great massage therapist at the resort. Also, it is about a 3 minute walk to the river area where you ride on the Jangadas to look for sea horses. So much fun!

Cons: The pool is very pretty but needs some cleaning. Don't stay here if you are looking for a fancy, modern resort. This is basic and rustic, but so beautiful. Also, you can be a bit stuck for dinner if you don't want to go in to town or eat at the restaurant located at the resort. This is only an issue if you have small children who go to bed early.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

My friend and I chose this as our last destination after 3 weeks in South America. We were hoping for it to be a relaxing place to restore ourselves before we flew back to the United States. We found it to be just that - quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. They even have an onsite massage therapist - who does a great massage in an open hut on the grounds...you can feel and hear the ocean breeze. It was like $30 each for an hour massage. Highly recommended.

Accomodations: This isn't a 5-star resort so don't expect lush accomodations. That being said, we found our room to be basic, but very clean and comfortable for what we needed. For what you are paying - it is worth it. There is a TV and a refrigerator in each room. We stayed in the "Standard Frente Mar" with two beds. There is a nice hammock out in front of each room as well as quiet places on the grounds with hammocks.

Food: There is another Pousada almost next door with a restaurant called "Brisas" that we enjoyed eating at a few times. The restaurant at Xales is really only open for breakfast and they serve a nice breakfast. Other than that, for food we would walk into town along the beach - about a 30 minute walk. There are tons of excellent restaurants in Porto. Xales recommended we eat at "Domingo" - which we thought was excellent.

Transportation: USE THEIR TRANSFER to and from the airport! We got in early so we took a taxi instead to save time - big mistake. The taxi driver couldn't find it. We ended up being in the car with him for 3 HOURS vs. the 1 hour it should take from the Recife airport. He drove us to Porto then an hour out of Porto thinking he was taking us to Maracaipe beach instead then back to Porto. Grrrrrrrrrrrr! All for the same price, but totally frustrating. Once you get their, there are plenty of dune buggies to take you in and out of town if you don't want to walk the 30 minutes to Porto. The dune buggy rides are totally fun. (Although - that is the one noise you will hear while you are there...are the dune buggies going up and down the strip. But you'll hear that no matter where you stay and it's not excessive).

Staff: Doesn't speak English so brush up on your Portuguese! They are very kind and do all they can to be helpful. If you stay out late, they always make sure someone is waiting for you outside the reception to give you back your key (you have to leave your key when you leave the property).

Internet Access: There is one computer in the office that you can use. But it's not available that often and only during business hours. You can use it for quick things - checking weather, email briefly. Don't plan on going their with the idea of updating your blog. =)

Safety: We are two girls, and we always felt safe. All of our belongings were also kept safe while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

I stayed in Xales for 4 days.The location is wonderful,beautifull beach ,very quiet.Very good breakfast and friendly staff.The rooms itself ,where not what I expected (I stayed in the family xale).The rooms are small,broken furniture(baby bed) full off dust and small bugs.The frigobar was empty!
There is no restaurant,like it says in their web site.
I think the place needs managament!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

If you like simple, rustic accomodations then this a quiet coconut plantation is the spot for you. The location is ideal for snorkling immediately after the extraordinary breakfast each morning. If you are visiting the area stay here and avoid the noise in Porto de Galinhas. 5 stars!

  • Liked — Rustic accomodations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

If you are planning to go to Porto de Galinhas and don't want to stay at the fancy hotels and want something closer to nature you gotta stay at this XALE. 50 meters of the beach, calm, beautiful and friendly staff. Very good food. Worth every penny.

  • Liked — The accomodation theem
  • Disliked — The was TV in the room!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xales de Maracaipe Pousada Fazenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xales de Maracaipe Pousada Fazenda

Address: Pontal de Maracaipe, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#16 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Xales de Maracaipe Pousada Fazenda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xales De Maracaipe Pousada Fazenda Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xales de Maracaipe Pousada Fazenda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.