We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summerville Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Summerville Beach Resort to your Saves list
Summerville Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia de Muro Alto s/n, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Coalhall
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We arrived late at night with our friends and their kids, they had a bungalow and we were booked into one of the standard rooms. We were upgraded into the bungalow next to our friends which was great and gave us more room. Pool was large and ran through the middle of the resort to the beach, pool bar and different activities around the pool too. Kids club was a bit of a disappointment as it seems to be for kids around 5 years old our friends children are 8 and 10.
The beach is great for walking but if you want to swim go to your left as you walk onto the beach and walk around the point there is a very nice lagoon just there and better for swimming and snorkelling near the reef.
At the restaurant wait until it is open for half a hour then go upstairs selection of food is just as good and it is a bit quieter than downstairs and easier access to the food.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned everyday but remember and switch on the light for them to clean your room it is a switch at the door, we missed that on our first day.
Look for the Sun chairs in the shallow pools, when its hot is great to just dip your feet in the water to cool down.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows if you can afford it you may end up in a room within the main building which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PontesHoteiseResorts, Gerente geral at Summerville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Victor,
We appreciate your choice to stay at Summerville Beach Resort and for sharing with other travelers your impressions about our resort.
We are happy to learn that your stay was pleasant and we surprise you with our service, pool and food.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Dezan Rodrigo Cunha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    380
    116
    21
    15
See reviews for
683
181
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Last october, we got an opportunity to spend some award miles and decided to visit Porto de Galinhas. After browsing to choose one hotel: Summerville was the choice. We managed to get a fair fare, and were able to spend 4 nights.(If you book in advance maybe you can get a good deal). The resort is huge, located in Muro Alto Beach, a very beautiful beach( less crowded than Porto de Galinhas beach).Nice and clean pools. It has a family environment. Food bellow average. And I think the hotel has seen its days... Outadated rooms, quite noisy, lacking in confort. It only outstands because of the staff. The destination: Porto de Galinhas is five stars,once there you may visit other beautiful sites of Pernambuco's coast. When returning will definetely try another place to stay

Room Tip: Try to stay in the bangalows, not in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuitjenhorn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The resort is beautiful and very clean. Happy and nice people who always help you. Great big and clean pool also for small children.
Nice kidsclub and entertainmaint for everyone!
The most wonderful thing was the FREE Doctor, medical help and medicine 24 hours a day which the hotel pays for you!
Every day live music.
Thank you Summerville and especially BRUNO!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denkendorf, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We paid around 350€ per night for a standard room. This should be the final of our 7week trip through Brasil, so we decided to spend more money and book a really nice hotel for the last 5days of our vacation. But we soon find out that it is not worth the money. The only good thing of the hotel is the nice pool. The water is clean and there is enough space for everybody. But the beach is not usable. The food is not what we expected for a 4*+hotel. We had better food in a 3* hotel in hotel that cost a forth of the price. No special dinner. Only cheap and standard food. Long lane in front of the buffet. The tables are not cleaned after one guest finished the meal. The personal looks very stressed, and even the other guests does not look very amused. We have full pension, but you have to pay for every extra. There is a shuttle service to Porto de Galinhas, but they charge 10R$ per person. Same we paid for the taxi. A little bottle of water(330ml) at the minibar cost 5R$ and so on. We always hear the TV of the rooms next to us that avoids us to sleep.
The personal don't speak English and I did not feel very welcome as non Brasilian.

The hotel is in my eyes a 3,5 *Hotel, and should not cost more than 150€ (450R$) per night.
We expected more and it is painful to see what you get and what your paid. Maybe it is better outside the main season. But we will not test it again. It is a lesson for us not always trust the good ratings.

Don't expect to much when you book this hotel. It is too expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

‎2 star rooms, with 4 star common areas.‎

Don’t let the lovely photos of the common areas fool you, the fact that you have a nice swimming ‎pool, is not going to help you when you sweat through the night in a mouldy smelling room, with poor ‎air conditioning and a horrible bed, you can’t even dream of the pool, you just wait for the night to ‎pass by.‎

This hotel sucks from beginning to end, it’s huge, with lots of families, children and it’s a circus like ‎affair, very noisy, common, food uneven, can be trashy and can be very good, you never know what ‎you gonna get.‎

After a sleepless night, we got switched over to a suite, which is the second top room in the Hotel and ‎it does not reach the most basic room in the awesome Nannai Hotel, which is literally next door, and ‎we paid the exact same price. You might not always be lucky to get such an awesome price in the ‎Nannai, but it’s sure worth checking out.‎

The Rooms in the Summerville are old, neglected and in urgent need of refurbishment. The Hotel in ‎general is understaffed permanently and unsurprisingly the staff that are there are disgruntled. When ‎we left a member of staff asked if we enjoyed our stay, to which we honestly replied NO, he said, ‎well, I don’t like it here either, I just work here, nuff said.‎

You pay at least $400 per night for an 80’s relic, there is obviously no shame and no end to greed. We ‎popped in the next door neighbour, the Nannai Hotel and never left, the best move we did in a long ‎time. Welcome to the Nannai Hotel, were awesome meets unbelievable, do yourself a favour, check ‎out this awesome hotel, even if you have to pay a little extra, worth every single penny!! ‎

Room Tip: If you have to stay in this Hotel, don't go for anything less than a suite, the standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recife
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Amazing resort,food is incredible and staff very friendly.I loved the way i was treated.Food is delicious!Pool are very clean and hotel has a great care child program.I will never forget this experience!I wanna be back soon and i really recommend this resort to family and friends

Incrivel resort,a comida eh incrivel os funcionarios muito bacana.Amei como fui tratada.A comida eh deliciosa.Piscinas sao limpas e o hotel tem uma reacreação boa, voltada para as crianças.Nunca esquecerei essa experiencia.Recomendo para familia e amigos,quero voltar de novo em breve!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staff gives you a nice treatment. Hotel pool is excellent but hotel asks for some maintenance and renovation. Food is good but could have more variation. Good child care. Don´t miss the nautical facilities outside the hotel area.

Room Tip: Nice relaxing in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summerville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerville Beach Resort

Address: Praia de Muro Alto s/n, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerville Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Summerville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerville Beach Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Summerville Beach Resort Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerville Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.