We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic and interesting place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Espaco Gatos de Rua

Espaco Gatos de Rua
Rua Esperanca, 127, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
+55(81)3552-1044
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
brazil
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Exotic and interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a place with a restaurant on the top floor and a store on the street level. The store sells clothes and accessories made by youngsters from a social program. The objects were designed by Beto Sendler and produced by people assisted by the social project. The store is not cheap but worths a visit. The restaurant is also a very nice palce to visit. The decoration is very creative and the food is very good. Try the fish with banana.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio Novelino, at Espaco Gatos de Rua, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
The Restaurante Gatos de Rua is delighted and want to thank her return soon! Always be very welcome.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    210
    42
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We were curious after this restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

But we did't like it so much. We were there on about 20.00 and waited long before the food was served 1,5 hour for entrada and another hour for main course. Food was not as good as we expected: not sofisticated en too simple. Full of cream and other fat things. We saw other people waiting even longer than we did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio Novelino, Supervisor de Marketing at Espaco Gatos de Rua, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Excuse us for their first impression wrong. The Street Cats Restaurant invites them in a next opportunity to visit us again and withdraw this bad impression.

Thanks for cometary and are awaiting his return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible experience!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a reservation for 9pm, so we arrived at 8:50pm to avoid any trouble. We waited until 10:40pm to get our table! We asked the hostess several times regarding our reservation, and every single time she told us that the table would need "only 10 minutes" to be ready. Ok, after waiting 1:40 to our already reserved table, we went to our table and we ordered several dishes. I ordered a duck magret, that was highlighted by the waiter to be cooked rare. I even stressed that I really want it rare (as any duck magret is supposed to be cooked). So, after waiting more than 40 min to our starters (that was supposed to arrive in less than 10 min), the duck arrived beyond well done, the flesh looking grey. It was kind of a bad joke. A fake "gastronomy" restaurant that can't even handle a simple duck breast. This restaurant ruined our night.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Hippie Chic and Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just above a very cool (and expensive) design itens' store, this restaurant has a great atmosphere, created by the soft light and deco, with huge chandeliers, napkin rings and other stuff all made from shinny and multicolored beads (all available for buying).
From the fancy vibe, you would expect it to be super pricy, but prices are reasonable and fair.
Bossa Nova plays on while you enjoy a wonderful meal and the menu has many delicious options, from appetizers, to salads, pasta, seafood and meat.
I dinned there twice and everything I ordered was delicious, specially the Shrimp Farfalle.
The staff is very friendly and service is great.
Definitely stands out in Porto de Galinhas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio Novelino, Supervisor de Marketing at Espaco Gatos de Rua, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The Street Cats Restaurant(Restaurante Gatos de Rua) is delighted and want to thank her return soon! Always be very welcome.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having read the review, we decided to dine there on our last night in Porto de galinhas. Either the chef had changed or there is a great divergence in taste. But the starters were dull; the salad competent; the fish decent but not great; and the steak picante chewy. The atmosphere and service were indeed good, and there is an English translation of the menu; but the food quality was decidedly ordinary for all three of us. there are better restaurants in the village.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espaco Gatos de Rua also viewed

Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca
Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca
 
Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca
Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca
 

Been to Espaco Gatos de Rua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espaco Gatos de Rua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.