We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like macaxeira” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcaxeira

Barcaxeira
Rua da Esperanca, 458, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
81 3552-1913
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Crans-près-Céligny
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“If you like macaxeira”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice place with good live music. The food is good but nothing extraordinary. The service was also good but the kitchen mistook my order and I had to wait about 20 min more than the other people at my table and ate when everybody had nearly finished their food. Toilets are ok. The restaurant provide children with pencils and paper in case they want to make a nice coloring while mum and dad enjoy their caipirinhas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    669
    147
    40
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“no service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We did our research on trip advisor and decided this was the place for lunch when we arrived. It was half full with a decent number of wait staff around. No one offered to seat us so we took our own seats and collected menus to choose. We decided on drinks and food but still no service. We managed to grab one of the staff who ran away when we made contact (in portuguese) the next waitress said we had to wait for another waiter so we left. In the UK or USA when staff see unhappy people leaving they usually try and persuade them to stay etc here the just watched as if we were in the wrong

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“REGIONAL FOOD EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Don't make the simple installations make you wrong: Barcaxeira is the best place in Porto de Galinhas to have the real taste of regional Brazilian food. Nice for children's (they have a special menu for them) and parents, maybe the time to have the order ready is too much (more than 20 minutes) because the natural way they prepare the courses but you will not get disappointed. Try the Moqueca de Peixe e Camarao: fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Mandioca rules!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Mandioca or Macaxeira choose the Brazilian name for this root and go along! Try the gratinated puree filled with carne de sol or shrimp!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
884 reviews 884 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
1,581 helpful votes 1,581 helpful votes
“We need urgently a branch in Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is simply awesome! It is unpretentious and even simple, but it is authentic in everything; from the delightful food to the decor, from the attention to the fair prices.

The appetizers are not that amazing and we thought it was not worth it... But the main course... the Macaxeira filled with Carne de Sol was simply the best we have ever tasted.

A short, but suitable and honest wine list is also available.

After all, we do think that it would not be such a bad idea to have a branch at our neighborhood in Rio.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcaxeira also viewed

Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca
Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca
 
Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca
Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca
 

Been to Barcaxeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcaxeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.