We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple room, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Cataratas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada Cataratas to your Saves list
Pousada Cataratas
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Parigot de Souza, 180 | Vila Yolanda, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863-270, Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 77 Foz do Iguacu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Clean and simple room, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived before check in time but got our room straight away which was great. Our room was very large with 4 beds despite only booking a twin. The room was clean with good storage, comfortable bed and good shower. We had a huge balcony being a corner room, which we would have loved to use if it were not for the fact no furniture is provided to sit out there. And in the middle or our stay we had heavy rain and the balcony flooded!

Breakfast was good - nice selection of breads, jams, fruit, cakes etc. Staff were helpful - especially one lady who spoke excellent English and was able to give us useful info on how to get buses to the falls etc. Also we had a medical problem during our stay and staff were helpful in finding a resolution. On the down side during our stay there was no wi-fi or internet facilities available as they were broken. And we couldn't find anywhere else to use the Internet close by.

Also we weren't that keen on the location - it is located just off a main road just outside of town. Whilst this made it convenient for getting the bus to the falls and into town, it made it hard work in the evenings going out to eat so we should have chosen somewhere with a more central location. (Incidentally there is a cinema 5 minutes walk away from the hotel where we managed to watch a film in English!)

No laundry serive is available at the hotel - but there us a lady round the corner who you can drop your clothes off to and she will deliver them back to the hotel for you. (As an aside we found the lady hard to find as not a signed business, and expensive compared to other services we used in brazil - but laundry done well and on time.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
24
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very modern and clean hotel. Really enjoyed our stay here. Staff were friendly, breakfast was good. There is also a nice outdoor swimming pool.
Its not 'downtown', but is on the bus route from town to the Brazilian falls and is close to a bus stop. There is also a good taxi rank 50m away (which we needed as we were a little pressed for time on our second day and wanted to see the Argentinian falls - really recommended by the way!). There are a couple of good restaurants nearby, and even a nearby bowling alley!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is owned by a very helpful and welcoming lady who was always eager to answer any questions and give us tips on the falls, transportation, and the town (small as it may be). The breakfast is quite good, the hotel is clean, and the room that my friend and I shared was a comfortable size. The main street (where you can catch the bus to the falls - either side) is super close-by, as is a currency exchange place (which had better rates than the ones we found in Buenos Aires or Rio de Janeiro).
The only problem with this hotel was that we were on the first floor, right by the stairs and by the wifi/computer area (FYI, there's one computer that's out for anybody to use, which I thought was nice). As you can imagine, it was quite noisy in our room as we could hear people as they walked by at night, and were woken up by the sounds of people walking around and talking in the morning. Perhaps an upstairs room would have been better. Overall, though, staying here was a good experience.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for a floor that's NOT on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

stayed in this pousada purely to see the falls. the room was basic and bathroom compact.
the beds were comfortable though.
the main drawback is that everyone staying seems to wake up at half 6 and slam there doors in the corridor and let there children shout and run riot which left me and my girlfriend realing as we like to rest and relax on holiday not be forced to wake up.
tip for cataratas start breakfast at 8.30 not 7.30 this will stop this problem.
there is no good reason to get up this early because the falls are 20 mins away and you dont need to leave this early.
another problem is the wifi, it is dead slow if you manage to pick it up and doesnt let you do anything ie upload photos watch clips etc. stingy.com
if you are a couple my advice is pay a little extra to stay in a nice hotel on nice grounds with No kids and NO buiding works right outside your window.

Best thing about this pousada is the Japenese restaurant right next door! i have in eaten in high end gourmet japenese place and this is up there with the best, seriously!!!

Room Tip: pick a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed here because we wanted to visit the falls and I would definately recommend this place to stay!

Upon arrival we were greeted by the reception staff who were very friendly and helpful. We were shown to our room which was extremely clean and a good size. The bathroom was also clean, they had a lovely hot shower, towels were provided and there was a safe if you needed it.

The location doesn't have a lot around, around 2 or 3 restaurants (A chinese, a Japanese and a huge buffet place). We chose to eat at the buffet restaurant because it was recommended by the pousada and it was actually very good.

The bus that takes you to the falls is literally a 3 minute walk up the road and the bus is regular. The same bus stop also has buses that take you over the border to Argentina (if you intend to view the falls from both sides, this bus comes once an hour). We had no problem getting either bus and the pousada helped us with any questions about timetables and costs.

The breakfast was really good, the pousada is well kept, clean and has a lovely pool, which was needed as it was so hot here!

We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This June we traveled to Foz do Iguassu to see the falls. We made reservations for the Pousada Cataratas and were pleasantly surprised by the Pousada Cataratas in all respects. Although we arrived on a late flight, 10 PM, we had emailed the Pousada that we would be checking in around 11 PM. No problem and no extra charge.
We purchased our taxi ticket on the way out of the airport for R$30. Upon arrival at the Pousada we were greeted by Senhor Orsini and check-in went smoothly. English was not a problem. Although my wife speaks Portuguese, English was used for my benefit. The room was basic, but quite acceptable and clean. The thing that impressed us the most was the cleanliness of the entire property. I don't think I have stayed in many places that matched the cleanliness of the Pousada Cataratas.
The only problem with the room was that there was not an outlet close enough to the bed for me to connect my CPAP machine. This was solved by an extension cord that was provided immediately after we checked.
We were placed in a room at the front because there was construction going on to the rear. We never heard the construction and noise from the street was not an issue except for some barking dogs.
The staff, especially Senhor Orsini and Virginia were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The day staff was not as fluent in English, but not to where it was a problem.
There was a wireless internet connection available in the lobby, but we did not use it.
Breakfast was excellent—the usual Brazilian fare of fruit, bread, cakes, ham, cheese, coffee, etc. The staff kept everything clean and the buffet well stocked.
The Pousada is one block from the main road to the Falls and into the town – Avenida das Cataratas. This makes it very was convent for public transportation and we took advantage of this. The public bus goes right to Iguassu Fall National Park. The ride back, however, can get extremely crowded after the airport. The next time, I would pay for a taxi from the airport. The bus ride was free because we are over 65, but I don’t know how someone not speaking Portuguese would fare.
Taxis were not a problem at the Pousada. The desk would call for a taxi and it would be there in no time at all because a cab stand is only a few blocks away.
We didn’t use the pool, but did sit by it resting. It was also extremely clean and pleasant.
There are several restaurants within a few blocks of the Pousada. There is a Japanese Restaurant next to the Pousada and a Chinese restaurant about a block and a half away on the Avenida das Cataratas. We didn’t eat at either of these, but did try two other restaurants another block further up the road. One was an excellent Churrascaria (all you can eat), the Don Cabral. This is a first class restaurant with excellent food and service. The other is in the Boulevard Shopping area that has several dining areas– good food and service at reasonable prices.
The price of the Pousada was quite reasonable. In fact, my Brazilian relatives were surprised at the cost. They will be sure to stay at the Pousada Cataratas when they visit the Falls.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at this Pousada with our 3 children and would recommend anyone to stay here. The rooms were extremely clean and very comfortable. The staff spoke English very well and gave helpful and correct advice for any of our enquiries. It was very easy to catch the local buses to both the Brazilian and the Argentinian side of the falls. They gave us a very handy tip to change money into Argentinian Pesos as this was the only method of payment to pay for entry on the Argentinian side.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Cataratas

Address: Rua Parigot de Souza, 180 | Vila Yolanda, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Cataratas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Cataratas offers good quality rooms with air conditioning and private showers, swimming pool and just one block from public buses to all the attractions. Just five minutes walk to many restaurants and in front of the football stadium, Flamenguinho. In the lobby you'll find a local tour operator which can help with all information about local tours. There are 27 comfortable rooms, all non smoking, equipped with air conditioning, minibar, TV, safe, private bathroom with hairdryer and an excellent shower. All with soft furnishings to give you rest and tranquility. Thinking about the convenience of our guests, our reception works 24h with Wi-Fi services, computer with internet and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Cataratas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.