We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit to Iguacu falls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bella Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bella Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Bella Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Republica Argentina, 1700 | Centro - Ao lado do Shopping Cataratas, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85852-090, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“visit to Iguacu falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

hotel is a good base to visit the falls.
Rooms are small but sufficient.
Staff is friendly but very limited in english.
For Breakfast, there was a large variety of food available.
The in house restaurants served very good food, including buffets.
After beeing out at the falls all day, the heat and the rain, you are pretty tired and glad you can have everything right there.
Depending on time and web site, there can be a big different in price.
There is a Tourist company in house for your convenience.
Hotel offers free pick up from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    439
    105
    10
    9
See reviews for
307
289
60
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I must state I can only base the hotel on my room as I did not see all rooms and suites in the hotel. To be honest some reviews I just read are so different to my experience, that it is hard to believe they are talking about the same property.

It is true the lift is noisy but that is the only complaint I have. I do feel we all go to see the falls and really only sleep at the hotel not spending all that much time in the room (I assume).

Bags collected by porter outside. Check in and reception friendly and usual Brazilian form to be completed. Nice reception old world feel.

We had a suite lounge and bedroom with huge bathroom featuring a jacuzzi bath. It also has a big walk in shower separate from the bath. The room has a fridge and 2 balconies faces the street and was excellent. On a par with European hotels and quite European feel to it. the room is clean and comfortable.

As I say looking at other reviews it all depends on the room don't book the cheapest and read reviews on the most expensive that just makes no sense.

Location is fine we walked to a beer garden maybe 2 km away and it was quite safe.

Breakfast was absolutely awesome, easily the best we had in Brazil. They go the extra mile and it is not the few eggs and sausages found at other Brazilian hotels. Breakfast deserves 5 stars.

All in all nice stay bearing in mind we came to see the falls not the room or hotel. I do recommend spending a bit extra and getting the best room as they are nice and obviously those are more comfortable from the reviews I have read on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: The suite is not crazy expensive and is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a difficult review to write... on one hand this hotel is excellent in terms of; the staff (friendly, helpful, just the best you want on a trip), the location is excellent (walking distance to restaurants, a large mall / grocery store, safe district) and the value is there. However... the noise inside this hotel is atrocious. There is, as others have mentioned, a very loud low frequency hum that I think is related to the elevator. Plus the elevator itself makes a giant bang noise when it moves / stops and the hotel is very noisy inside the hallways with people at late and early hours, no fault of theirs they are either getting up early for the falls etc. or coming in late from a party etc. I slept maybe 1 hour in total on each night which is brutal. The elevator noise seemed to permeate the whole hotel, low frequency travels easy. I don't know if it is different or better in different parts of the hotel but our room was simply atrocious with ambient noise. I will say this... if you are a heavy sleeper and generally not bothered with noise (such as my wife who heard the noise but was able to sleep) this hotel would be an ok choice. If you are a light sleeper (as I am) I can't recommend it even though the rest of the stay (staff, location, etc.) are excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The lobby is spacious and inviting with a bar, several seating areas, a tourism desk and complimentary tea and coffee. The rooms are very small and clean, internet was intermittent, particularly during the day. The rooms in the back are extremely noisy because of a busy thoroughfare, be sure to ask for a room that faces the hotel entrance. The breakfast buffet has many items, but the hot items have been heated and reheated and the cakes and bread are dry, it's obvious they put the same food out day after day. They do have a good variety of fresh fruits, cold cuts, cheeses and cereals, I'd stick to those. I had asked the hotel to reserve with my credit card, that I would pay in cash, which they didn't honour, they took the full amount off my card and this was a problem for me. As to the tours, BEWARE of the moonlight tour, it's not a tour at all, they just drop you at the park entrance, then you just wander around on your own and they pick you up at midnight. I had booked the dinner as well and when I got to the buffet restaurant, the staff said they didn't have my name on their list and it took a lot of convincing (I had my receipt with me), but I finally got a table. The moon doesn't appear above the trees until almost 11 and never gets high enough before midnight to shine fully on the falls, so it's really not worth it. The Italian buffet in the hotel on Wednesdays and Sundays is tasty and pricey, so go hungry for full value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street rather than the back, for a quieter sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a Sunday and they had an Italian buffet. This Italian food can be compared to the best restaurants in Italy. The buffet is only 2 times a week, one is Sunday. No comparison with the other Italian restaurant where the food is so so. The morning breakfast is out of this world in variety and quality. Great value.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Hotel Bella Italia is a total trip. From the moment we entered the spacious lobby it felt like we were being transported back in time. The outdated Italianate furnishings, fixtures, and many oil paintings on the walls at this hotel are certainly from a bygone era but, that being said, it definitely does not lack for charm. In fact, we were absolutely charmed by the place and the staff! The fact that the hotel was elaborately decorated for Christmas didn't hurt either.

While our room may have been as outdated as the lobby, it was clean and decent enough and fine for a night or two of sleep. But the real pleasures of this hotel are the people at the front desk and lobby bar (as pleasant and helpful as they could be!) and the AMAZING Italian restaurant buffet at the Bella Tavola, which is only available on Wednesday and Saturday nights. We actually pity the people who might stay on other nights and don't get to experience the VAST buffet of salads, meats, breads, the dozens and dozens of cheeses, and pasta, pasta, and more pasta served by waiters in jackets and bow ties. Our dinner there was absolutely wonderful! And our drinks in the lobby afterward (near the huge creche scene) were just about perfect. It felt comfortable and homey, a hard thing to achieve so far from our home.

If you are planning to stay in Foz do Iguacu, try to stay here on a Wednesday or Saturday and one other tip: DON'T each lunch that day. Just don't.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our six-night stay here met all of our basic needs, had an incredibly large and diverse breakfast spread each morning (included), a generally helpful staff and very good location in the city center.
The hotel room's air conditioning worked well, a key point in this locale that can get very hot in the summer. Bed was comfy, shower was strong and wifi reliable.
Hotel had a small swimming pool (may disappoint kids), and a mid-sized gym that met our needs. Laundry service was offered.
It features a full-service restaurant with a popular Italian Night twice per week, featuring very good homemade pastas, a smaller quick-service diner that had good food, and a nice little bar with friendly barman.
It is right down the street from the city's major shopping mall, helpful for food, bank ATMs and a supermarket. Taxi stand right across the street had cabs ready at nearly any hour.
Loumar Turismo, one of the city's biggest agencies, has a desk inside with lots of good tour options. We used them for multiple outings, and were pleased overall with the service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Italia

Address: Av. Republica Argentina, 1700 | Centro - Ao lado do Shopping Cataratas, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85852-090, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#12 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Italia is a four star hotel located in the heart of the city, beside Cataratas JL Shopping Mall, next to bank agencies, supermakets and public tranportation. Offers personalized services with comfort and safety you deserve, excellent breakfast with more than 125 itens and available room service 24 hours a day. Rooms are equipped with mini-bar, telephone, safe, air-conditioning, cable tv, balcony, private restroom, hair dryer, anti-allergic floor, free wifi Internet access. The hotel has swimming pool, gym, library, business center, free wifi Internet access and the delightful Noite Italiana dinner. We are in a hotel car rental company and a travel agency to arrange your rides in Foz do Iguaçu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bella Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Italia Hotel And Events
Bella Italia Hotel Events
Hotel Bella Italia Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bella Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.