We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, very good internet, good atmosphere, ok accomondation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Bambu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Bambu to your Saves list
Hostel Bambu
Rua Edmundo de Barros | Centro 621, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fortaleza, CE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service, very good internet, good atmosphere, ok accomondation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Generally a good experience, the only bad thing that comes to mind is that I had to rent a towel, and you should not be the kind that needs it cold when sleeping (if in the mixed dorms). The staff helped me out far more than you can expect. Fixed me tour on the Itapu, laundry, bus tickets etc. Good atmosphere, and lots of interesting people in the bar in the evenings.

I have no problem recommending this hostel :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
25
49
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar,Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Staff were superb and very helpful.Very close to bus for falls and dam.Great chill out area with a pool and bar and free pick up from bus station is great.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We (girlfriend and I) stayed for a night and was really happy with the four bed dorm and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in February and would have stayed longer if we could. Really good value, comfy bed, great breakfast including toasties, quiet location, great staff with useful info. Bathroom could have been cleaner and make sure you book for as many nights as you need as priority seeme to be given to new guests.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

A group of 5 friends and me stayed in a dorm here for 2 nights. The staff on reception were genuinely warm and welcoming and that was the atmosphere of the whole place. It was very easy to get chatting to other guests around the bar. There's a common room with TV and a couple of internet terminals (but the cable internet is not 100% reliable- I think the wireless is OK). Breakfast is good - lots of fruit, cake, cheese and ham toasties. There is a pool but it's super small - quite nice to cool down in.

The staff are very keen to answer questions about visiting the local area, and at 10am each day they organise a tour. We went on their tour to the Argentian side of the falls, which is well recommended because it's a reasonable price and they handle the border crossings for you. Oh and of course it's amazing!

OK so it's not the cleanest place in the world - we were in a downstairs dorm. But it's a good price and is a nice and safe place to stay. Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights for 35 Real per bed per night. The dorm rooms weren't too cramped and there was space for all our things. Also there were two showers and a toilet connected to the room. We aren't really into the hostel party scene but found Bambu to be just right - there is a nice bar and pool/kitchen area outside where you can socialise but if you want to go to bed you don't get disturbed. Staff are friendly and nice. Good TV area and the kitchen is very well supplied if you want to cook for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

The allure of Foz do Iguacu is no doubt the cascading Iguacu waterfalls, but we found another reason to love our stay here...Hostel Bambu. A spacious hostel (which was clearly once a home) with a main TV room, Internet office space, high tech security system with electric fence, good sized double rooms, a fun bar/BBQ area out back beside a pool and lounger chairs, where a fantastic breakfast is served every morning. The BBQ nights are tasty, and the Caipirinhas are strong. The staff speak some English and are very helpful in every regard. Everyone had smiles on their faces, and the hostel clearly attracts a very adventurous, happy crowd of travellers. One to two blocks from the bus stop where the public bus picks you up for the 30min busride to the Brazilian side of the falls - the hostel also organizes a 'tour' to the Argentinian falls side, which saves a lot of hassle at the border and doesn't cost much extra than if you were to get there yourself. We had so much fun here, and wished we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bambu

Address: Rua Edmundo de Barros | Centro 621, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Bambu Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Bambu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.