We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Taroba, 1048, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-220, Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Public transport tickets
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
vancouver, bc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

There were 10 of us travelling. We booked 5 rooms. We were all in the older part of the hotel and the rooms were on the second floor.
Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Their English was decent enough to handle our enquiries and check in.
Definitely not a fancy hotel, but it certainly was not run down.
Room is a little small, but for the price, you really can't complain. I've stayed in smaller rooms (with higher prices) in other parts of the world.
Breakfast downstairs was very good, nice selection, and again friendly staff. You really can't beat it for something that's included in your room price.
Had a couple of lunches in the restaurant. Price was reasonable, friendly servers.
We ended up paying just under US$300 for three nights, including the 2 lunches with beer.
All in all, not too bad a deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauro S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello, thank you for dedicating your time and leaving a comment about our Hotel and staff. Your evaluation is very important so we can constantly improve our services. We hope you had nice days while being here and we are looking forward to see you again! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    791
    183
    33
    21
See reviews for
665
538
135
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have chosen thi shotel based on reviews, and could get quite good deal 80 eur night/single room, which was quite OK. I was quite surprised by size of the room - you really do not expect the single room to be size 2*2.5 m or so. Breakfast was rather average. Wifi password provided from reception was not working. Unsecured network (eventos) was quite unstable, which was a bit annoying. We made quite bad experience with Travel Agency in lobby - you can get the same services cheaper everywhere in the town.

Room Tip: If reception tries to accomodate you in OLD part (numbers starting wit 1xxx, just refuse -> you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarobaexpress, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Greetings "fthepoorops"! Thank you for leaving us a comment about the Hotel, it is really important for us to have a feedback of our guests. We are sorry that the Hotel didn’t achieve your expectations, our Single rooms are really projected on the cost/benefit point of view. About the Wi-Fi, normally our front desk solves the problems in case of the password is not working, you just have to explain them and they will do it. We hope that, despite this, you had spent nice days here at Foz do Iguaçu. The BEST WESTERN Tarobá Hotel e Eventos wishes you the best always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A second tower has been added to the hotel and the ongoing renovation results in some noise, dirt and inconveniences (like only one elevator available). The new building offers small, but nice rooms with contemporary baths. The sixth floor offers the best view, but might be noisy once the event center just above has opened. There is a small pool on the roof of the older building. The breakfast is decent, but busy when bus tourists stay at the hotel.
The location of the hotel is one block south of the local bus terminal with direct connections to the airport, Iguacu National Park and the Itaipu Dam. A good churrascaria next to the hotel offers an all-can-eat buffet for just R$ 20 (meat, side, salad and dessert).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarobaexpress, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello "Topbernina"! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time and leaving us a comment, it is very important to us so we can keep improving our services. We are glad you were able to move around the city and the touristic places with no problems at all thanks to our localization. Regarding the renovation, it will be over by the end of this year, so we will be able to offer a nice and improved Hotel! We hope we were able to achieve your expectations, that you may come back soon and that you can indicate us to your friends and family. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Taroba Express wishes you the best, always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Being short on time and even shorter on clean clothing we decided to use the hotel laundry service. Upon receiving a bill of $R 558 ($279) for two loads of washing and one breakfast it goes without saying that we were extremely dissatisfied with the hotel, the staff and their services.

To begin with, the hotel failed to disclose any prices for the laundry service, also failing to consult with us on such excessive prices before performing the service. Secondly, they failed to return our clothing by the promised time forcing us to by additional clothing from the gift store just to be able to go outside. Finally, when we asked to discuss the charges with management, after being presented the bill, all reception staff refused to help, instead seeing to other guests.

Overall, this episode has had a major negative impact on our holiday not only ruining our budget but also leaving us with an overriding bad feeling of such a beautiful place. Our initial worry in Brazil was scammers and pick pockets, but the last place we thought we would be extorted was a reputable hotel chain.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarobaexpress, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Greetings “DazAndHol”! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment, it is very important to us so we can keep on improving our services. We are sorry for the inconvenient you had here at the Hotel, but we will like to inform that our laundry, as well as the other Hotels at the city, charge the service per clothes and not per pounds/kilos. All the details of this service are informed at the directory of the room, and the information is in Portuguese and English. We understand your resentment about the fact that you weren´t told about the bill, but once the laundry receives the order they only perform the service, considering that the guest is already aware of the values and the situation.
About the front desk attitude, the Front Desk Manager has already been informed about this situation, he will be in charged on verifying what happened. We hope you can analyze and verify the situation, and once again, we are sorry about the misunderstood. In case you have any additional doubts our comments, please contact us. The BEST WESTERN Tarobá Hotel e Eventos Staff wishes you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you are just going here to go to the falls the hotel is based about 13km away from them. Actually the falls are only a couple of kilometres passed the airport so if you are on a quick trip, it may be worth finding something near the airport and then get a taxi to the falls, back to the hotel and then back out on the plane.
If you are staying a bit longer than a day trip, the hotel is in a good position in the town centre and is surrounded by a wide selection of restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is nice and clean although on the couple of days we stayed there was a massive amount of building work going on, luckily is finished by 6 and didn't start again until 11am the next day.
The staff are all very nice and have a good knowledge of the local area. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was to a reasonable standard but better can be found for the same value if you venture out. Breakfast was great, so much choice and I can honestly say that for a full hotel they didn't run out of aything. Breakfast offers both hot & cold options with a good selection of breads, fruit, drinks and more filling choices. Wi-Fi is free but this does not reach some of the floors so can only be used in social spaces, you can upgrade to a higher wi-fi grade at a cost of $5.
Don't get too excited about the swimming pool, it's actually a very large bathtub!

All in all, a great hotel with lovely staff

Room Tip: If you are staying in the new side, get a room as far away from the lift as possible while the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarobaexpress, Gerente de relações públicas at BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello “Peth99”! Firstly we will like to thank you for the comment you left, it is very important for us to have a feedback of our guests. The Hotel is really well located if you are staying more than one or two days at the city as you well said! About the swimming pool, it really is small as the Hotel is bigger now, but we have a project to have a new area with bigger spaces. We hope you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and you days at Foz do Iguassu. Thank you again for the great compliments! The BEST WESTERN Tarobá Hotel e Eventos staff wishes you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This Best Western is clean and a decent, comfortable place to stay. Not fancy, but completely fine, and reasonably inexpensive. As others have noted, it has a great location -- one block from the central bus station, so it's very convenient for getting to the falls. It is also 3 blocks from a huge supermarket, Muffato, which has a good, cheap lunch buffet. The breakfast buffet at the Taroba was pretty good. Nice rooftop pool and deck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarobaexpress, Gerente de relações públicas at BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello, thank you for dedicating your time and leaving a comment about our Hotel and staff. Your evaluation is very important so we can constantly improve our services. We hope you had nice days while being here and we are looking forward to see you again! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Foz Do Iguacu has hotels catering for all budgets, but if you are like me and regard your hotel as a place to sleep and eat in comfort and are not looking for other amenities you will like the Taroba.

I stayed here for over a week for a conference and some sightseeing. I found the hotel to be quite good value. It seems to be well run and offers a very good breakfast (with the exception of their coffee which I found to be quite bitter). They have a wide selection of fruit, cold meats, cheeses, breads, cakes and some hot options.

Wifi was free and after some teething problems it worked OK. They give you a login associated with your room number. Not a huge range of TV channels. In English they have CNN and a couple of Brazilian channels that broadcast shows in English with Brazilian subtitles.

Because this hotel is beside the TTU (urban transport terminal) you can get the public bus from the airport to almost the doorstep of the hotel for a tiny fraction (about 5%) of the price of a taxi. The TTU is also the base for public buses to the Iguacu Falls, the Itaupu dam, the downtown area and for a quick visit across the border to Argentina.

I picked this hotel mainly because I did not have the budget to stay at the hotel where my conference was taking place (in a much more expensive hotel about 6km/4 miles out of town). I was able to easily commute to that hotel using the public bus system which seems to be well organised and is quite affordable.

As other reviewers have commented, renovations continue at the hotel (seems that they are extending it) and these works were ongoing throughout daylight hours on weekdays while I was there. On the plus side it did look like they might be finished in the next few months and to be honest if you are hanging out in your hotel during daylight hours while visiting Foz you are missing the point of being there.

If you arrive during the day and are in need of some sleep my advice would be to seek a room on the side of the hotel furthest from the construction.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarobaexpress, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Greetings “Mr. TrevD”
First of all we would like to thank you for leaving us a comment, it is very important to us so we can keep on improving our services. We will be taking providences about the coffee and regarding our renovations, they will be finished by the end of October, and there will be no problem at all with noises. Thank you again for leaving your comment and we hope you have enjoyed your stay here at our city, that we were able to achieve your expectations and that you can recommend us! The BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel wishes you the best, always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel

Address: Rua Taroba, 1048, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-220, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#14 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel & Events, synonym of sustainabilityTechnology and modernity together, allied to the EnvironmentInnovation combined with quality, technology and sustainability is one of the reasons why BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel & Events is among the highlights of the hotel belt in Foz do Iguacu. Focused on comfort to suit the convenience of their guests, one of the distinguishing features of the hotel is to value and care for the environment.In an age of environmental awareness, BW Taroba Hotel & Events is ahead once more and lines up with an eco-friendly structure, not as a beginner, but seeking to innovate more and more as they understand that from now on, there will be room just for the ventures that are in accordance with environmental awareness and respecting the environment.Their new investment is to collect rainwater for reuse in the toilets of the hotel, aiming to reduce the use of potable water and thus contributing to the preservation of the environment.The goal is to innovate constantly and walk ahead in terms of technology and sustainability. For the expansion and construction of the events center, the project has good part of the sustainable technology available on the market, including flush with dual-flush control valve used to reduce wastage. Among other great actions, BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel & Events was the first hotel in Foz do Iguacu to ban smoking inside their facilities and counted on this action to attract more guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taroba Express
BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.