We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury and stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel das Cataratas to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Burghfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“luxury and stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here as part of a self organised world cup tour around Brazil. The hotel was absolutely fantastic and is the ideal location to see the stunning Iguacu Falls. The Falls and the National Park will exceed any expectations you have as they are mind blowing. So much water, such natural power. An absolute must see and do it from the Belmond as it is by far the best location of all the hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    251
    61
    22
    11
See reviews for
340
1,078
106
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The trip to Iguacu Falls was among the most memorable vacations we have had and the stay at teh hotel was outstanding. The room was comfortable, the proximity to the falls was outstanding, the fireplace, the pool, the patio, the latte's on deck and the comfortable bar. This hotel has so many wonderful ammenities. The trip to the bird sancuary was also very memorable and the short trip across the border to Argentina to pick up some outstanding wine at an excellent price. Great experience all the way around. I stayed here 5 years ago, but that isn't an open in teh when did you travel pull down

Room Tip: Stay when it is cooler like July or August and try to get view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was nothing short of wonderful. The accommodated our every need. I had informed them that I am a Vegetarian and the Chef had personally come to our table and asked me what I would like to eat. The staff were very attentive. The Igacu Falls are within walking distance in front of the hotel. Basically we had a great time and we hope that we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

How do you match one of the most spectacular places on earth? Add one of the best Hotels! Having enjoyed the mayhem of the World Cup, we had a fantastic 3 day trip to this wonderful hotel. From the minute you arrive you know this is something special, as you get to the end of the park (the hotel is the only hotel located in the actual national park) you had greeted with a magnificent view of the hotel on one side and the truly wonderful view of the falls on the other. The service was excellent from check in, to concierge and the restaurants. They do a wonderful breakfast and South American BBQ in one restaurant and have an excellent a la carte restaurant. Unlike many hotels in Brazil, the staff at this hotel all speak excellent English. Our room was large and well appointed with an excellent shower. Special mention for Claudio in the main restaurant who remembered our names and how we had our tea and coffee etc - just his manner and attention to detail were back. This was on my bucket list, but have added - must go twice before I can tick this off

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 nights stay at the Belmond Hotel during our recent trip to Brazil.

It was almost midnight when we arrived after 40hrs and 4 flights, but our spirits were instantly lifted by the warm welcome and cozy room in the Garden wing that we were allocated to. The facilities and amenities of the room are as expected of a 5 star standard, and we had a good rest in the room every night.

Much has been said of the privileged location of the hotel in the National Park, and therefore you should make full use of it if you are staying here. We went up to the clock tower at sunrise and sunset (magical and different feeling during both periods), and also had a leisurely stroll all the way to Puerto Cano lookout point at dawn. Do keep your eyes peeled for wildlife like the toucans and various wildlife that seem to be present only when there are fewer people around.

We also made use of the pool and restaurant facilities during our stay. The breakfast buffet is a highlight and really worth the $. Generally we had a very heavy breakfast after our morning walk and shared a light lunch of sandwiches or salads. This helped to keep the budget down! We tried the churrascaria buffet one night and found that we were flat-out full after 2 rounds. I think that there was only two beef cuts (picanha and sirloin) the night we were there so that was perhaps the only improvement we would suggest.

All in all, we found ourselves really reluctant to leave the hotel when we checked out. Job well done and we hope that other travellers will be lucky and able to experience the magic of the hotel for themselves!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Belmond hotel das cataratas on the Brazilian side of the falls is a top spot to see everything , much within walking distance of the hotel. Free shuttles and buses make getting around easy and relaxing . The hotel is quietly sophisticated and the staff are superb in every department . You need at least two nights to see everything and more if you want enjoy the hotels facilities especially the steam sauna!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Location, location AND a beautiful hotel. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay for our visit to Iguassu. We ate in both dining rooms and both were excellent. The rooms were great, the staff were friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommend you stay at this hotel right in the park at Iguassu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Belmond, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.