We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Iguassu Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel das Cataratas to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Iguassu Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was Everything you would expect from a luxury hotel. Very efficient and attentive staff.
It's well worth being inside the park to beat the crowds and for spectacular sunsets, and a much more stylish building than the alternative hotel on the Argentinian side. You can easily do a 90-minute walk to see Argentinian falls, straight from hotel.
If you have the time really ought to see falls from Argentinian side as well, but this takes much longer and can get really busy, so try to get into the park as it opens and be aware that there is a 1-hour time difference between Brazil and Argentina.
It has 3 restaurant options at night - a fine dining restaurant which has great views, the churrascaria, which is a Brazilian-style barbecue buffet restaurant overlooking the pool. This was very good, serving delicious chicken and meat, a very wide selection of salads and vegetables for a set price. Lastly, the bar serves light meals and snacks in the evening, which are also available by the pool at lunchtime. Every taste is catered for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,840
    285
    68
    26
    13
See reviews for
394
1,250
117
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were seamlessly transferred from the Argentinan airport thru the border by our courteous driver William. On arrival at the hotel you feel pretty special as you are the only hotel in the Iguazu National park ... You look out the front door and the falls meet you eyes in a 'better than the photos expierence' ... Plus as the national park opens to tourists at 9.00 and closes at 6.00 you have the falls to see yourself for the beautiful sunsets and early morning walks. The hotel is grand in appearance and style and we enjoyed the feel and ambience ... You must try the al carte restaurant it looks onto the falls and have a drink in there bar ... It was busy but still oozed class beyond its room prices ... The pool is wonderful and gardens and surrounds are immaculate

Room Tip: 2009 is very large with a great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours, makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

After the disappointment of the Sheraton hotel (see separate review) on the Argentinian side, it was a relief really to arrive at this hotel. From the moment we opened the car door to be greeted by the smiling doormen to stepping inside the calm interior and checking in and given the kind of attentive service you look for (and perhaps only hope for in a lot of hotels) to the minute we left, we found this hotel to be superb in every way. It is as a 5 star hotel should be and the whole staff team in our experience should be congratulated for it.

It is quite a big hotel and although our room was a bit of a walk, we found all the interiors to be in good shape. We had a lovely room that we were very pleased with, airy and well appointed and a very comfortable bed with good linens and shower gel (always a good marker we find!). The young bellman that showed us to the room, like all the staff we encountered, were terrific, helpful and smiling - and doesn't that make a difference to your overall impression. And the wifi worked in our room and, good lord, it was free!

We ate at both restaurants, the finer dining room for dinner and the pool area buffet style restaurant for lunch and both were excellent and very good quality. Our dinner in particular was delicious and it is a very nice dining room with an outside terrace also with seating. We chose inside as it was so humid during our visit.

We also used the spa for a massage and manicure/nails for my wife and we thought it was very good. Like everything at this hotel, this was also fairly expensive.

We found the access to the falls far easy and better on this side of the border and decided to go for our trek in the late evening around 5pm when the majority of the crowds had started to dissipate. Still quite busy but a lot less walking than the Argentinian side and a more panoramic view of all the falls from the Brazil side - we preferred it. We did the boat ride early the following morning and it was great fun with no queues. Tip: get your tickets for the boat ride and jungle trek at the same time you have to buy your park entry tickets, saves queuing later. The boat rides also start earlier on the Brazil side for some reason.

I could see why a lot of people at this hotel seemed to just be relaxing by the very nice pool area to be honest as this is a hotel that is a lovely escape as well as having access right on the opposite side of the road to the main pathway along the falls.

So in summary: fabulous location and views, very high quality service and food and although it is expensive, you do actually get what you pay for so it is well worth it.

We highly recommend you stay here rather than the Sheraton on the Argentinian side if you have the choice to do so.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours, makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you can afford this hotel, there is no comparison. The location is outstanding, the food is very high quality, the pool is nice and the service is outstanding. I didn't like the 2 twin beds squeezed together to make a queen bed but the room was very nice and an appropriate size. The concierge will plan all your excursions and make your experience hassle-free. The staff is incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel das Cataratas on 23 December 2013. It was such a grand and luxury hotel. The ambience was so pleasant and comfortable. The reception staff and porter are friendly and helpful. After we had checked in, another staff followed us to our room that faced the Falls. Along the way to our room he told us the directions of the hotel and the tower was the lookout for the sunset. He told us that the park would be closed at 5 pm but the hotel guests could be able to walk on the trail path to the most beautiful site of the Iguazu Falls, the Devil's Throat. He opened the door of our room and told us the utilities of the room politely and then he left. Great service. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was clean except the floor was slippery when wet. We booked Macuco Safari by boat from the Iguazu Experiences which had an office at the hotel. It was terrific and awesome. Then we went for the helicopter flight which we had to take the hotel shuttle bus to the entrance of the park which was a distance away from the hotel to the helicopter office and site. We did the thirty to thirty-five minutes flight over the Falls, Itaipu and the Three-Border Mark, Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay. Good flight and magnificent view. After 5 pm the park was quiet. We and a few hotel guests walked towards the Devil's Throat. It was such a spectacular, magnificent, amazing and incredible waterfalls that was so near to us. We were so happy and enjoyed every moment with the Iguazu Falls. As we walked back to the hotel, we stopped to admire the sunset over the Iguazu Falls. So beautiful! We had our dinner at the hotel, BBQ and buffet dinner. The price was reasonable and the food was delicious. We had a satisfactory day and slept soundly on the comfortable mattress. Actually any room was good because even we had a room that faced the Falls, when night came, we could not see the Falls and we drew the curtains always during the day.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Opeartions Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours, makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at that charming hotel long before it was run by Orient Express... in 1967. I was 9 years old then and even today I remember this experience as if it was yesterday. I may even have some pictures somewhere from the time. I will always remember that place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinslaken
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you want to see the falls, you HAVE TO choose this hotel! Why? The falls a inside a natural reserve. It opens from 9 am to 5 pm. In this time the park is full of people. Busses and Busses are coming and everything is very crowdy. It's very difficult to enjoy the unique atmosphere of this amazing place. BUT: The Hotel is located only ONE MINUTE from the falls. So you just walk over the street all the time. We've been at the falls ALL ALONE a couple of times. That is already worth it!
But the hotel is also a very good five star ressort. It's very beautiful, the rooms are nice. The pool is quite big and offers a very good service of drinks and food. The Hotel Restaurant is really amazing. We went fpr the barbecue and we had almost the best steaks on the whole brazil trip. This hotel is not only my recommendation. If you want to see the falls, THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO TO!!!
If you want to have fun, try the speed-boat-trip to the falls. You will never get this wet again! The best sunset-pictures can be taken on this little tower of the main-building. But go there pretty early - it has only space enough for 1-2 people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours, makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Belmond, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.