We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this historic hotel- fabulous view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel das Cataratas to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Fraser, Colorado
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“I loved this historic hotel- fabulous view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

I loved staying here. The view is amazing you can hear the falls from the hotel. Why stay anywhere else? The hotel has beautiful grounds and lovely pool. There are restaurants at the hotel. I enjoyed a nice dinner in the bar listening to the singer and piano player. The room itself was expensive. It was a luxury room. It was a large room. The bathroom was nice. I did not get a good nights sleep because the bed was very hard. It was very weird because every time I came back to the room the alarm clock was the wrong time. I changed it to the correct time but gave up because it would not stay the correct time. Either the room was haunted or they had issues with the electricity. I really enjoyed staying so close the falls and plan on coming back to stay again. The hotel did charge an additional charge to my credit card, that was a mistake I wrote them and they are taking care of it. The staff is very friendly here. Watch out for the taxi cabs- I got ripped off. Establish the rate with the driver. The hotel told me what to pay for the taxi but the driver charged me 30 more Real.

  • Liked — The location to the falls
  • Disliked — The bed was hard
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,596
    251
    61
    22
    11
See reviews for
342
1,080
106
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

As has been said what your really paying for with this hotel is the location. If your looking for somewhere luxurious then I'd look elsewhere as while I didnt have any problems with the room/service it was certainly not up to the standard your'll get elsewhere for this kind of money. The reason to spend the big bucks and stay here is to get the chance to look around the falls when the parks closed and the crowds have left. I espeically recommend an early morning walk where your likey to see alot more wildlife than at any other time during the day.

If its a choice between Das Cataratas and the Sheraton on the Argentinian side then personally I'd recommend the former unless you want a view of the falls from your room(which will cost you alot extra). Not only is the Brazilian hotel much better looking/characterful but that side of the park is more suitible and benefits more from a quick morning/evening walk without the crowds. The Argentian walkways are much more spread out (meaning there less crowded during the day but alot further from the hotel) were as the Brazilian side is more compact(meaning there much more crowded during the day but right on the doorstep of the hotel).

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

The overall positive review is about almost everything but the room. For non-smokers the rooms are only on ground floor. Room was worth 3 stars and bathroom 1 star. Totally outdated, though clean. Service at the restaurant is bad and it is almost impossible to get coffee in the morning buffet. Shouting tourist groups are tolerated by the staff (they refused to ask them be not so loud so I did myself - it worked). There was no toilet paper in lobby bathroom. Everything is very nice just don't expect European 5star room and service. But as this was not the only 5star hotel during Brazil trip then this is just their standard - they do not refurbish hotels frequently enough.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

We spent 3 fantastic nights here on our first anniversary. If you are going to Iguacu, then you really should stay in the park. The service was excellent., Our room was lovely although we had no view but you wont be spending much time in your room on a trip to Iguacu. The breakfast was great and it was lovely to sit outside and watch the falls before the park got busy. The food and entertainment pool side every night was super. Really enjoyed it and will definitely be going back.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No iron in the room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
216 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

Enjoyed a delightful night's stay here at the end of a trip to Chile/Argentina. Check-in was excellent and we were very pleased with our room. It was classed as Luxury and had a sitting room, separate bathroom and vanity area and decent sized bedroom, with a very comfortable bed. The best thing, however, was our two balconies, as we were situated on a corner of the hotel. The falls were obscured by trees but we could definitely hear them. The furnishings could probably be described as 'Colonial, - a suitable description for the whole hotel.
We went for a quick swim in the large warm outdoor pool complete with its own diving board. The pool area was busy with groups of different nationalities, who were quite entertaining to watch.
We started our evening with drinks on the very pleasant terrace, followed by dinner in the a la carte restaurant. Both locations provided great ambience and superb service.
Breakfast next morning was fantastic as we sat out on the terrace with a view of the falls. Check-out is normally 11.00 am but we were kindly allowed to delay until 12.00.
This hotel has an unbeatable location, wonderful staff and great public rooms. A sense of history is everywhere, something a modern hotel cannot compete with.
I would recommend paying for a Luxury room as our view certainly added something special to our stay.

  • Liked — Staff, location and colonial atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Price of taxi to nearby airport (8 miles away) - US$37.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

I had read some reviews giving the hotel a poor recommendation. However, we found it to be excellent.
Check in was superb with cool hand towels provided by well presented smartly dressed staff.
We were surprised to have a huge plate of fruit delivered to our room compliments of the hotel which was both welcome and delicious.
The room was exceptionally clean and nicely decorated with a spacious, modern bathroom.
Two dressing gowns were neatly folded on the bed when we arrived which was another unexpected touch.
The hotel is a wonderful old colonial building and we saw some walls being painted during our stay - not that they looked like they needed painting.
The buffet dinner was excellent if a little pricey, but hay, for three days I could cope with that.
Breakfast was also very good indeed and the tables were laid out on the patio giving spectacular views.
The location is absolutely superb and although our room did not overlook the falls it made no difference.
The bed was very comfortable and each day a chocolate was
neatly laid out at the side of each pillow by the house maids, another nice touch.
Drinks were also a little pricey but the piano bar had a lovely atmosphere and the nightly singer was excellent and pitched at just the right volume to allow conversation.
I suppose once there it's difficult to get into town so they can afford to charge that little extra for food and drink.
However, I have to say it's worth it.
The staff were excellent and the pool a welcome relief after a hard day's walking in the heat.
A word of warning though for non swimmers, the pool shelves off steeply to quite a depth and should be treated with caution especially if you have young children.
It was also a little annoying how they continually asked for guests' room cards every time a drink or meal is ordered.
Giving your room number does not seem to be sufficient which can get a little annoying.
All in all though a wonderful hotel.

  • Liked — More or less everything but especially the falls
  • Disliked — Food and drinks a little pricey
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The location of the hotel is great, you are across the street from a section of the falls and are actually in the national park.

But, the location is also a detriment. If you don't have a car, then you are trapped there and are forced to eat all your meals on site. The main restaurant was sooooo stuffy and expensive for what you got. Our waiter could not have been more rude and disengaged. You can tell that these people don't get tips, b/c they acted like it. There is another restaurant by the pool, and we thought that would be a good option one night, but it is a BBQ buffet and over $50 per person. They really need a casual, less expensive option.

We requested a king bed, and instead got two twins. Our bathroom was clean and modern, but the room itself was a bit dated. It was clean, but sort of depressing.

The pool was great, big and warm and had a diving board - which was fun.

The bar was boring and dull and just not that fun. They need to updated their facilities a bit and make them more enticing for the younger crowd. There were a lot of young people staying at the hotel, and it just felt like a senior center at times.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Belmond, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.