We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location, Setting and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu to your Saves list
Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. das Cataratas, 6845, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000 , Brazil (Formerly Iguassu Golf Club & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Bremen, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location, Setting and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Hotel is located approximately 10-15 Km. from the Brazilian Side of Iguassu Falls. The Property has controlled Gate Access and is set in a spectacular lush and wooded Setting. It has its own Golf Resort. The Hotel consists of multiple Buildings; a large, stunning Lobby, all Marble, of course, housing several Restaurants, Bar, Lounge and adjacent to Event Facilities. The Rooms are in Villa Guest Clusters; randomly arranged around a large Parklike Facility with spectacular Features. Each Cluster features its own Swimming Pool and Jaccuzzi. Additionally, there is an enormous Swimming Pool in an asymmetrical Setting but within easy Reach of all of the Villas. The Grounds are kept immaculate; the Staff is extremely helpful. An outstanding Breakfast is available each Morning and it may be included in some of the Rates. The Hotel features two Evening Restaurants; the Italian One, which we frequented was considerably above Average and excellent for a Hotel Restaurant. The Staff is available for almost anything needed 24 Hours a Day. The Rooms are well appointed and are extremely clean. Large Walk In Showers and Amenties are provided. Extremely reasonable given the Quality and Ambience of the Hotel, which we would rate at 5 Star. The Hotel is a short Drive from the Argentinian Border (visiting the Argentinian Side of Yguassu Falls is a Must) and an equally short but adventurous Drive from Ciudad del Este, Paraguay, a Shopping Mecca. At the Time of our Visit, there was no Border Control on the Brazilian and Paraguayan Side of the Border but Argentina had strict Controls and checked all Visas.

Room Tip: You may request a First Floor (i. e., Second Floor in American Parlance) Room with a Balcony; this c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    288
    67
    17
    5
See reviews for
407
311
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our original intention was to stay in the National Park but once we checked the prices our group decided to allocate nearby but not in the Park. The large main building including the reception is most impressive when you first arrive. There is new buildings nearing completion but that did not stop us from being surprised by the look of the hotel. The design of the hotel is - main building with restaurants, pools, conference rooms, spacious decks etc and have a feeling of oppulence. The accommodation is set out in dwellings around the grounds. Our dwelling had 10 apartments. 8 on the ground floor and two above. Our room was a good size and was a studio style. Our son and his wife were on their honeymoon and they received an upgrade to a separate bedroom style accommodation. They also received rose petals and chocolates on their bed on arrival as a nice touch. There are many of these bungalows separated by either a small pool or fountain. Noise was not a problem from any of the rooms. To travel to your room from the main building you either went in a small van (including luggage) or a golf cart (depending on numbers). You just need to ring to arrange a pickup if you want to go to the main building to save you walking although we did not have a problem walking on occasions. There is also a full children's club house with well stocked supplied to keep the children entertained (including their own small pool, table tennis, snooker, TV, Computers etc). There are tennis courts and a small soccer field nearby for the use of the guests. The main feature at the front of the main building is the golf course and this appears to meet the needs of those who want to spend their spare time playing golf. We arranged a trip with a local taxi to take us to the Falls and the lady was very helpful in allowing us to also visit the town of Iguassu and a local souvenir shop that had marvelous amethyst gifts (This stone is mined nearby) on our return journey. My main complaint is that there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and you needed to ring room service or go up to the main building if you want these items. When I did receive the tea bag and hot water the hot water pot had obviously been used to serve coffee and the water smelt of coffee. This then stopped me from having my luke warm tea. I waited until I had breakfast the next morning to enjoy a hot cup of tea as part of the buffet which was included in our accommodation price. There is a stocked bar fridge in each unit. There is a noise curfew around the main pool area after 9.00pm each night so as not to annoy the guests staying in the bungalows closest to the main building. This is recognised as a five star hotel and although we enjoyed our stay I would possibly give them a 4.5. A few items still need to be improved or completed to meet my 5 star rating.
Just a side note. If you are intending to go to the Argentina side of the Falls then if you are Australian you will need an Argentinian visa which can be purchased before you enter Argentina - check with your tour guide. The cost was around $A100. Some websites still say that if you are only going to the Falls you don't need a visa. If you are going to the Brazilian side this is correct but the other side is a must.

Room Tip: The rooms we had were away from the main building and easily accessible via the golf buggy or a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When we arrived at Iguassu Resort hotel.we were allocated a handicap room. But I wanted room closer to the main building( reception, restaurant). I told Diego at the reception who spoke english that we would prefer a room nearer to the reception. We could not believe in 10 minutes he came to our room and told us that he had found us a room closer but this was not a handicap friendly room. This made me happy. Within minutes they put a ramp outside the door for the wheelchair and also provided a seat for the bathroom.This made my husband happy. Now we call this EXCELLENT service. The staff always welcome you with a smile and are very helpful.
This resort is on a beautiful golf course and the buggy is always available to take you back and forth. We had our own swimming pool jacuzzi. There is also main swimming pool.The room is very clean room and has 2 queen comfortable beds.
For a 4* they should also provide a kettle in the room.

Room Tip: Carry a kettle unless every time you want a tea or coffee you have to pay a lot in the retaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are well travelled and stayed at many hotels around the world and this one is high on our list! The grounds are beautiful with lakes, fountains, golf course and lots of small pools and hot tubs. The rooms are in villas dotted around the grounds. We stayed in a Superior room on the ground floor - 1202. The room was wonderful - lots of space, very modern, clean, lots of storage space, very comfortable bed, large shower and sinks areas .... Everything in the room is new and to a high standard especitally the shower room. Yes the tv has a small blue light on it but we put something in front of the light at night so not a problem. The fridge does make a quiet noise - as do all fridges, but easily resolved by unplugging it if it causes a problem.

The air conditioning is very effective and quite, we turned it down a little at night and you could still hear the wildlife outside above any noise it made.

The hotel is priced very reasonably, especially compared to others of a much lower standard. We booked a half board deal so evening meal was included - this was really good value and the food choice was fantastic.The bar and 3 restaurants offer very good value drinks and food and decorated to a high standard.

The bus to the Falls and town stops at the end of the road to the resort. the hotel drop you at the end of the drive upon request and pick you back up to when you return. The walk from here to the bus stop is only 5 minutes.

The main pool is lovely and near reception with 2 hot tubs. There is also smaller pools dotted around the resort so you always have access to a pool quickly no matter where your villa is located.

We would return to this resort again. We only stayed here 3 nights but wish it was more! I think that some of the reviews must be for a different resort!!!!

Room Tip: If we stayed again we would pay for an upgrade to a room on the first floor with a balcony to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Definitively, the park around the hotel is nice; but behind this nice picture, the quality of the place is very poor.
Room are noisy (fridge unplug during the night, big blue light from the TV with no possibility to switch off it, Air conditioning, etc...) --> basically you have to turn off the circuit breaker to be able to have a good night.
The room, the facilities look nice but in reality when you look to the detail, everything has been badly finished (paint, concrete, furniture, etc.)
Concerning the breakfast the quality is not really good (even the omelette has no taste!)... I didn't try the restaurants.

In addition the main swimming pool was close (under renovation) and they never tell us this information.
Definitively not a place a recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barra Velha, SC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Foz do Iguacu is more than the waterfalls - it's that plus Argentina, Paraguay and the Itaipu dam amongst other attractions. While Hotel das Cataratas is the best for the waterfalls, this hotel is more convenient to other attractions and significantly lower in price while having very high standards of comfort and convenience.

The resort, which has its own extensive grounds and golf course, is structured around a main reception and food/beverage building, with many small buildings surrounding it with about 10-12 apartments each. The individual units are supurbly done, with quality furnishings, and a shower that makes you think you might be under the waterfall. The hotel has three restaurants - one Italian (nice anti-pasto bar, limited menu selections), one Japanese and one buffet-style which is used for the included breakfast. Contrary to another reviewer, I found the breakfast offerings to be extensive and outstanding.

The staff is quite attentive but not overly friendly. The wine list is fairly limited, especially in white wines. And the way the resort is structured is not very handicap-friendly. Other than that, it is an excellent choice for visiting the area. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main building to avoid long walks to meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

stayed only overnight and the room was fine. looks like a nice place to stay with a family some of the rooms got private little pools - the resort is big, a lot of space to walk and they also have a golf court breakfast was OK but nothing to write home about, not far from the attractions

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu

Address: Av. das Cataratas, 6845, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000 , Brazil (Formerly Iguassu Golf Club & Resort)
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguassu Resort is located at Foz do Iguacu, which is at the western region of Parana State, 15 minutes from the international airport and 20 minutes from the Iguacu Falls, laid between the borders of Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina. Accomodation in 190 new apartments, all very cozy and spacious. You can enjoy maximum comfort, surrounded by 555 acres of green area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguassu Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Bourbon Iguassu Hotel
Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz Do Iguacu Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.