We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice breakfast, good location even if you are not with a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rafain Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rafain Centro to your Saves list
Hotel Rafain Centro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Marechal Deodoro Da Fonseca, 984, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-030, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brazil
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Clean, nice breakfast, good location even if you are not with a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I choose Rafain Centro to stay and get to know Iguassu Falls and Foz do Iguaçu city, without a car. My room was very confortable, plenty of room to move around and to store luggage, with a little balcony. Bathroom was also spacious and clean, and the shower was strong and hot. The towels and bed linen were not top quality, but were clean. The continental breakfast included in the rate was very good. If you are not brazilian, do yourself a favor and try PAO DE QUEIJO, and all the fresh fruit juices. There is also a nice pool and a well priced bar. The hotel is within walking distance from the main restaurant/bars/night life area, also short walk from the financial district, with market and banks. It is also possible to go to/from the airport, Brazilian and Argentinian National Falls parks using public transportation. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    251
    62
    13
    1
See reviews for
161
124
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casino, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in nearly 40 hotels on a recent 12 week trip to South America and the USA. This was the best place we stayed. The spa bath was great and the breakfast was excellent. The only negative was an extra charge for the internet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good place, near everything, clean, well trained staff.

Room Tip: ask not to be near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I read in our Only Planet tour book that this hotel was "TOP NOTCH"...in my dreams maybe! I guess you get what you pay for. I paid $65 USD a night...and that got me a pretty filthy, lumpy bed, ant infested, dirty blanket, bedroom. The door to our room didn't lock properly, so we had to change rooms until they could find one that was sufficient. Also, we had wanted to use the in-room safe---which I found out you have to pay extra for (and have to get the key from the front desk people). They also charge for internet. All that being said, I guess this hotel served it's purpose---being that I was just in town to see the Iguazzu Falls, and at least I had somewhere to lay my head at night. I would probably not stay here again, nor would I recommend this hotel to others. I would look elsewhere for a cleaner, budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I found ALL previous reviews accurate, Thank you Trip Advisor.
Do NOT wander the neighborhood after dinnertime, very dangerous. Very noisy on Weds nites only, they have a B'Que w/live music at the pool until 10pm- very quiet after then. Go use the internet room until 10pm, as it is on the street side and not many cars come thru at nite. Great breakfast, yummy desserts. Most of the front desk staff speak poor English, but are helpful. Need cash? Walk out the front door, cross the street(south) and go east 4 blocks(downhill). You will find a HSBC bank. You ATM card will open the door-Best exchange rate in the country. You pass lots of Itaipu Banks in Brazil-none take American bank cards.

Room Tip: All rooms the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I spent 2 night in Rafain Centro in December 2010 with my partner. The hotel is well located, 2 "quadras" (200 meters) from the bus stop going to Cataracts, Ciudad del Este and Puerto d Iguazu. They are many good eateries around. There is a swimming pool, but with very loud music and screaming children. The hotel is old and basic. The room was very small and basic. The bed was really small, maybe 1,30 m wide, with a mattress profonding in the middle and a very noisy air conditioning. The buffet breakfast was very good.
I pay 100 USD for the room, I estimate the price should be around 30-40 Usd.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We were very pleased with the location of this hotel after seeing where some of the others were located. For the most part, the staff were very pleasant to me (a woman) except for the front desk staff. They seemed to prefer to deal with the male clientele; after witnessing how they dealt with my husband. The dining had a great selection for breakfast--catering to the tastes of both European and American tourists alike. On the down side, when we asked to change some large Brazilian bills for some smaller ones, the would/could not to this for us. It was easy to arrange for sightseeing and there were many choices of dining places around this hotel; many within walking distance. The best one we found was a place called Bello Pasta & it was the best meal and the price could not be beat! I would stay here again should I every return to see these Falls!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rafain Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rafain Centro

Address: Rua Marechal Deodoro Da Fonseca, 984, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-030, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#22 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rafain Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rafain Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafain Centro Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Rafain Centro Foz De Iguassu
Hotel Rafain Centro Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rafain Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.