We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“serene location,helpful host n beautiful accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marica B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marica B&B to your Saves list
Marica B&B
Rua Gregorio Dotto, 118, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Ambala, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“serene location,helpful host n beautiful accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had planned a trip for two nights in Foz do Iguacu after our Rio trip.We finalised our stay with Maria after looking for so many othres on tripadvisor.She is a wonderful host and a planner for your tour.As promised by her Chris was there at the airport to receive us. From there she took us to bird park where we spent close to 2 hours.From there we went to falls and had a wonderful time there.All along Chris took care of our belongings.Next day she took us to Itaapu dam,border area, and a very good restaurant for lunch.We saw a show at hotel Rafain,which was amazing.
Next day we had a early morning flight for which Chris dropped us at the airport.Maria is a wonderful host and a very good cook too.She really served a very good breakfast with delicious cakes.The B&B was very close to lovely walking area and mall.

Room Tip: Honeymoon room is the best.Levender room is also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    51
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
32
114
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a cancelled flight that cut our trip to Foz do Iguacu to two nights and a day. Maria helped us plan a visit (with the reliable Roberto) that is best described as memorable. Long before our scheduled stay, Maria was in contact with me, first to acknowledge our booking in her place and subsequently to reply to numerous queries on Foz do Iguacu. She readily answered emails which is plus as this was our first trip to Iguacu.

This b&b is very homey. Maria spread out a lovely breakfast in a stylish mix match manner which added to the charm of the whole place. How Maria manages to keep a clean yet cozy place is amazing. Staying with her is like taking a vacation with a favorite relative.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We selected Marica's based on trip advisor . . . ratings were on right on target. Maria's B&B is well situated between falls and dam. There is a mall / restaurants within walking distance as well as a lovely walking / exercise path. Accommodations work great for small and mid-size parties. The breakfast was delicious and extensive. Maria is multilingual which is huge plus and very, helpful and attentive to all her guests. She pays close attention to her customers and their needs.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The Marica B&B is a perfect home away from home when visiting the falls. Maria took great care of us as she understands what the traveler needs. My adult son rated this the best place we stayed during our trip to Brazil since we had speedy internet, quiet room, help with finding restaurants and a great, varied breakfast. The B&B is in a quiet neighborhood in walking distance to a running trail, mall and restaurants. Maria can connect you with a driver who will take you to the Falls and other attractions.

Room Tip: The Family Room gives you two bedrooms in a walkout basement with access to the breakfast room and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Maria is a lovely hostess, very friendly and helpful both with local restaurant recommendations and with getting to the Iguazu falls. Roberto is a local driver who works with local hotels, including Maria's B&B. He took us to both the Brazilian and Argentinian sides of he falls, spoke excellent English, made recommendations about what to see/how long the different parts were likely to take and also took us through the Brazilian and Argentinian border procedures with ease and at a very reasonable cost.
We also enjoyed cooling off at the end of the day in Maria's small pool. The whole place is very well kept, imaginatively decorated and exceptionally clean.
The breakfast was plentiful, lovely freshly made fruit juice and coffee. We missed the homemade cakes and freshly baked bread that we've experienced in other Brazilian Pousadas, however this is a small point and overall we would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I've been staying at Marica's for 3 days now and I must say that I'm having an extremely pleasant and relaxing time of it. Yes, the Falls are wonderful but it's so pleasant to come back to this leafy near suburb, take a dip in the pool, chat with my hostess and listen to the parrots and caciques fly over.

Marica's is easy to find by taxi and the bus is not hard either but requires a change. It's a 15 minute walk to a big shopping mall where the food court has 3 or 4 very good pay-by-weight restaurants. It takes 25 minutes to walk downtown to the local bus terminal, where a direct bus to the Falls can be had for almost nothing (in fact, it was free on the way out today, Sunday morning).

Security isn't an issue here. The rooms are clean and spacious. The AC works very well. Marica's breakfasts (a bit too late for birdwatchers, but that's not uncommon) are very good and substantial enough that it's easy to go until dinner without eating. Drinking water is another matter. It would be nice to have a water jug to refill the bottle on the way out the door.

Marica is fluent in at least 4 languages. She has a "private" taxi driver who can take you places more cheaply that others, the pool is great. There is a military base in the forest just 2 blocks away and you can't enter but there's a nice walkway along the border.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

As per other reviews, it was a nice, clean place to stay. Stayed here 4 nights, Oct 8-12th 2014. The location is further away from the main Bus route to the falls and the Itaipu dam.

We asked, Maria, the owner how to get to the Argentinian side of the falls and she told us about the taxi service which was BRL180 per trip or if we can get others to share at BRL50 per person for 4 and BRL60 pp for 3. I asked for the bus and she says its difficult.

We rented a car for BRL70 per day.

I wanted to cancel our last night but was asked to pay unless she can rent out the room.... felt strange.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marica B&B

Address: Rua Gregorio Dotto, 118, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maioson Marica B & B is a two-storey villa situated in residential area near a forest reserve near the central city. With independent entrance, you can return at any time of day or night. The house, with separate entrance on the 1st floor is elegantly furnished and equipped with 3 large double rooms with possibility of extra bed. Some rooms have private bathrooms.The ground floor is the garden with swimming pool, TV room, large veranda, barbecue etc.. A space of relaxation, fun and prosperity.There are services in common use for the comfort and guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marica Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Marica Bed And Breakfast
Marica B&B Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marica B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.