We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Del Rey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Del Rey Hotel to your Saves list
Del Rey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Taroba, 1020 | Centro, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-220, Brazil (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Liege, Belgium
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's a fair 2* hotel with 3* prices. The rooms are ok, the A/C is working fine (it's THE most important thing there), the wifi is also pretty good. The pool on the roof is an added value.
There are always taxis in front of the hotel; you'll need them because the location is not exactly central.
This hotel can be recommended ... but the price should be 150 reais per night.

Room Tip: Level 0 has no window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Manager at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Good morning,
Thanks for answering Satisfaction Research on Tripadvisor, your feedback is very important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    341
    82
    17
    5
See reviews for
302
182
42
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed in the hotel just week after the carnival 2013. The room was okay, not very big, but enough for us, clean. However if you want to take a nice shower - forget about it! The water pressure was very poor and the shower cup small itself which was not particularly comfortable. Apart of that everything was great.
Swimming pool on the top floor was really nice. All the hotel staff also very nice, friendly, able to advice tours or whatever you needed to know about the city. Breakfast tasty, nice, everyone could find something for him/herself. Hotel next to nice restaurants, bus stop , important when travelling by bus from the airport. Tour agency available inside the hotel, very pleased with the service, not overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Gerente at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
The Hotel Del Rey thanks you for responding to our customer satisfaction research.
Your opinion about our services is very important, because our target is constantly overcome your expectations.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a G adventures comfort tour. Rooms were fairly clean, breakfast was adequate with a wide selection. Front desk were helpful. We ate in the restaurant one night and food was quite good with big portions. There is a very good buffet restaurant a few doors down the road and a well-stocked hypermarket a few blocks away. Good selection of TV channels here too. The pool looked inviting although we didn't go for a swim. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Gerente at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
The Hotel Del Rey thanks you for responding to our customer satisfaction research.
Your opinion about our services is very important, because our target is constantly overcome your expectations.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevastopol, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I took it after reading tripadviser,expected a lot. But didn't get very excited. Location is ok,but there are many others hotels close by. Stuff are nice,but night shift is 'sorry only portugeese, no englese senior'. First floor was soaking wet, rain was everywhere,smell was awful and they having some kind of constructions going on,not nice.
Room clean and simple, no soap ,no shampoo in the shower, view -Crap,just parking and dirty roofs.
They gave us free internet, breakfast costs $20, walls are thing so in the morning I heard everybody talks.
Let's say that it is just a hotel. Place where there is nothing to grab with you :) lol

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Manager at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Google Translation
Bom dia Sra. Daniela,

Agradecemos seu comentário postado no Trip Advisor.

É muito importante saber a opinião de nossos hóspedes com relação às mudanças que o hotel vem sofrendo. Pois, a nossa principal missão é o bem estar do nosso hóspede e por isso estamos em constante mudança e inovação.

Nós do Del Rey Hotel também queremos revê-la em breve!

Atenciosamente,

Tatiane Duarte/Gerente de Reservas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed with my family for almost a week. Clean, big room and bathroom, nice breakfast with a lot of choice and a pool in the last floor. Staff is helpful, very close to the bus terminal (from where you can take buses to the National Park, Itaipu dam and also to Ciudad del Este and Puerto Iguazu) and to a supermarket. Very recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Manager at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Good morning,
The Hotel Del Rey thanks you for responding to our customer satisfaction research.
Your opinion about our services is very important, because our target is constantly overcome your expectations.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Tatiane Duarte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is located very centrally in Foz do Iguacu. The receptionists speak excellent English. The travel desk will change any Argentine pesos you may have or vise versa. The lobby floor is undergoing renovation. They gave us good recommendations for dinner. There is a large supermarket within two blocks.

The room was quite large and with desk and chairs. Wifi worked well. Unfortunately our room had small windows and no view at all.

The roof pool was nice but the water was too warm on a warm day. The breakfast was excellent with good choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Manager at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

The Hotel Del Rey thanks you for responding to our customer satisfaction research.
Your opinion about our services is very important, because our target is constantly overcome your expectations.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Tatiane Duarte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is OK, rooms are clean but VERY noisy. Every morning we were woken up by the housekeeper in the room above us. Also the first night when we turned the shower on, the shower head exploded and water was splashing on electrical wires...
Hotel has a nice pool and bar on the last floor. Breakfast is good with a lot of choice.
The bus stop and terminal are right by the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Manager at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience that occurred in your stay.
We will be reviewing all the points and doing everything for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Del Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Rey Hotel

Address: Rua Taroba, 1020 | Centro, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-220, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Del Rey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Del Rey Hotel é um charmoso hotel situado no centro de Foz do Iguaçu, sendo um dos únicos hotéis do Brasil a possuir a certificação 3* estrelas pelo Ministério do Turismo. Convidamos a hospedar-se em modernos apartamentos. Sendo todos os apartamentos equipados com ar condicionado quente/frio, camas Queen size, travesseiros antialérgicos, secadores de cabelos, tomadas 110/220w, TV LCD, apoio de bagagens e acesso gratuito à internet. Oferecemos toda a estrutura para os hóspedes com necessidades especiais. Dispomos de internet banda larga e mesa de trabalho, e para a tranqüilidade e conforto dispomos de cofre digital e estacionamento coberto sem custo adicional. Nosso delicioso café da manhã é servido a partir das 03h00 da manhã em estilo colonial com mais de 70 itens. E no jantar dispomos de excelentes opções de pratos a la carte.Utilizamos produtos com a mais alta qualidade, preparados e seguindo normas de segurança de alimentos (PAS), higiene e sabor. Cuidados são tomados com os principais ingredientes do cardápio: Verduras e legumes cultivados com as melhores práticas agrícolas existentes, com menor impacto ambiental possível, resultando em produtos saborosos, saudáveis e seguros. Desfrute também da nossa piscina aquecida no 5.º andar com uma vista belíssima para a cidade.Preocupado com a qualidade de vida de nossos hóspedes, o Del Rey Hotel é o único hotel na cidade que possui o programa SuperSan. Realizamos este controle microbiológico, em ambientes fechados, promovendo a qualidade de vida dos clientes. Elimina e impede a proliferação de ácaros, bactérias e fungos. Prezando pelo bom atendimento, estamos comprometidos em sempre aprimorar e capacitar nossos colaboradores. Pois, além do hotel ser aconchegante e estarmos preocupados com o seu bem – estar, nosso atendimento faz toda a diferença para a sua estadia se tornar ainda mais agradável. Dispomos também de passeios diários totalmente gratuitos para o Dutty Free e Cassino Iguazu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Del Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Rey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.