We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a worth to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honey Island (Ilha do Mel)

Honey Island (Ilha do Mel)
BR 277 ate Paranagua, Curitiba, State of Parana, Brazil
41-3426-8075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 199 things to do in Curitiba
Attraction details
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a worth to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

this is a smal island em front of city paranaqua, there you will take a boot to arrive to the island. Nice beaches, if you will go there not on high season, it is better, not so much people. Wether there is mostly good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    378
    78
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“It is alright but its no carribean island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I find I add negative reviews when I get told by so many people that a place or something is amazing and I build up expectations. Ilha do Mel is a 1.5 to 2 hour boat trip (which is an experience). It is a relatively peaceful island with locals playing football on the beach and a few surfing. You can get lots of ice cream and coco gelado (cold coconuts which you drink the milk out of). It now has a range of resturants that can be expensive but there are supermarkets on the island with basics. The accomodation is generally basic and mosquitos a plenty (we bought an electric bug thing in the supermarket which seemed to work). If it rains everything smells damp. Also the water is not clear. So if you are expecting a tropical carribean island you will be disappointed but its a good break from everywhere else.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was on my own, but it is a great place to travel solo, with friends, as a couple, with kids... Encantadas beach faces the continent so the waves are not too strong, good for the little swimmers or grown-ups who just want to chill out. Many trails for the adventurous kinds that can take you to even more beautiful beaches...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Três Barras, Santa Catarina, Brazil
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun weekend getawy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for a weekend. this is a large island but you can take boats to othere areas of the island and then do some walking form there. There are no cars so we left our car on the mainland and took a ferry to the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tranquil, gorgeous paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We visited during the off-season and stayed at Encantadas so had the place to ourselves almost. Judging from the number of accommodations and restaurants I would guess that the island is much busier during summer and holiday periods.
Getting there from Curitiba was pretty easy - Graciosa buses run daily every few hours and will drop you in Pontal do Sul close to the pier where you buy a return ticket to either Encantadas or Brasilia. We pre-booked accomm on the island but probably could've got a better deal if we'd just showed up and walked around a bit (low season...).
Walking around the island is the best way to spend the day if it's not warm enough for swimming. There are tons of birds and plants to admire. Very relaxing place! Note: Brasilia is a bigger village and has way more restaurants, hotels (pousadas) and nightlife.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey Island (Ilha do Mel) also viewed

 

Been to Honey Island (Ilha do Mel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honey Island (Ilha do Mel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.