We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central Curitiba!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Royal

Save Saved
You added San Juan Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Juan Royal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Candido de Abreu 468, Curitiba, State of Parana 80530-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 91 hotels in Curitiba
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central Curitiba!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was definitely surprised with this hotel. Given the price I payed (around R$ 150 - US$ 75) I was expecting only regular accomodations and some usual problems I use to find in brazilian hotels, but it was the exact opposite.
I arrived very late on Sunday (around 11 pm) and was welcomed and promptly checked-in to my room. I was just spending the night for business reasons and the location was perfect for me. Very close to numerous government buildings around and a 2-minute walk from the biggest mall in town (Shopping Mueller). The executive bus that goes back and forth to the airport passes close to the hotel (a 10 minute walk or 2 minutes riding the cab).

As I arrived very late the room service options were limited to pizzas and sandwiches. I asked for a chicken sandwich and boy it was huge and very tasty! It was hard to eat all of it.

The room itself is very large. There is a small kitchen area with a sink, refrigerator and a big counter. There´s also a living room with a couch, two armchairs, a coffee table, a proper table and two chairs. In a separate area (with rolling doors) there´s the bedroom with a nice comfortable queen bed. There´s great wardrobe space also and the bathroom was very clean and the water pressure was awesome.

In the morning I had a very good breakfast, with lots of variety (milk, juices, cheeses, breads, turkey breast, salami, cereals, coffee and 4 or 5 kinds of fruits).

The regular checkout time was noon, but I asked for an extension and was able to go out at 2 pm, which was very nice.

There was a gym in the top floor, but there´s actually very few options of barbells and if I needed a workout I would definitely need to go somewhere else. The heated pool was broken.

Will CERTAINLY come back to this hotel when I´m in Curitiba, it´s a great clean hotel, with nice people and a cheap price for brazilian standards.

Room Tip: I believe every room is a good choice but the top floors away from elevators are always a good choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
10
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
curitiba
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

It's the second time I have problems with this hotel. The first time I had reserved through booking.com and the hotel hasen't received the reservation. Since the hotel was full they gave me an upgrade to a very good room. This time I made the reservation and send an email asking for confirmation. There was no reply. Even so when I arrived there was the reservation and the keys ready, but when I got to the room, it was a twin room and I've asked for a doble room. Me and my wife were completely tired (it was 11pm and we just arrived from a 22h flight from mozambique) and the manager was completly arrogant and said to us find another hotel.
So we needed to find new hotel in the middle of the night.
I'll never more am going to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indaiatuba, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is in an excellent location in a nice neighborhood.
Rooms are tiny and I could not find a place to put my bag (yes, the is big, but ot so much). After complaining about the room size the manager gave us a suite that had the same tiny room plus a big living room equipped with a small kitchen and other facilities.
The lift is always busy and we had to wait for it for unnacceptably long times every time we wanted to switch to the room or lobby.
There was a queue for a table to the breakfast and we ended up sharing a table with other people after waiting in line.
Coming from a night party, there was no hot water. Ugly Linen and towels complete the scene.

Room Tip: You can have more for your money nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We were sent here from the Ibis reception because they were full.
At checkin the receptionist first gave us a wrong key-card; after returning down to exchange it he sent us to a different floor, this time the door opened on a room which was being restructured. Back to reception and we were finally able to lay down our bags and request the extra bed to be prepared for the kids while we went out for dinner.
When we returned the bed was still to be prepared; and we had to wait another 20 minutes or so.
Then the real nightmare started; the building is an all-windows one, right on top of a busy intersection; no acoustic isolation at all, it feels like your right in the middle of the street. around 2:30 am the traffic called down but the noise got worse because of some party in the room below us. I add to go down to the reception again to complain and request a different room on a higher floor. Night auditor did not speak english at all so he called someone from the party as a translator, he arrived in his underwear with a strong vodka breath, but somehow helped me out. 3AM transfer of wife, bags and crying kids to the new room went OK, so to speak.

In the morning again no one around who could speak english or even care to try some excuses.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

The Worst Hotel Ever...

They are desperate for money... The Moment you arrive they do everything to take your money in advance...

They eagerly try to force you to stay... Even if you are not sure for how long you want to stay…

Quality of the bedrooms, bed, shower, food… Are horrible… Some of the employees are rude and loud ( including the guy that wears fake hair ’’ peruca ’’ at the front desk )…

The type of harassment to convince you to stay it is disgusting…

They wait for you to go out… And then, when you come back… They ’’ block your key card ’’ saying that you will not be allowed to go back to your room until you pay for the days that you stayed already…

The rooms face two loud avenues… It is impossible to sleep…

Loud ac, outlets don`t work, cable with ’’ only 8 channels ’’, internet connection that cuts all the time, transparent curtains… Hot water; - not really hot -

When you finally get some rest… You have to wake early due to the noise coming from cars passing by.

Curitiba it is a first world city…

The San Juan Hotel it is a third world hotel…

''Not recommended at all''............

  • Liked — Nothing... Everything is horrible
  • Disliked — No comment...........
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Juan Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Royal

Address: Avenida Candido de Abreu 468, Curitiba, State of Parana 80530-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Curitiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Curitiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Juan Royal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your San Juan Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Royal Curitiba, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.