We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildman Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athelstane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildman Adventure Resort
N12080 Allison Lane, Athelstane, WI 54104   |  
Hotel amenities
Watertown, Wisconsin
1 review
“Bucket List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

It was my husband's birthday and zip lining has always been on his "bucket list". First time zipping for both of us. Always felt safe. Great experience - guides were great - Hillary and Joey - we all had a lot of fun. Would definately do it again.
Crazy, bumpy ride to the first platform seemed a little unnecessary...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Spent the day with the kids (14 & 13) in funyaks on the Peshtigo. The water was low and we were warned that it would be a workout -- and it was. But it also was the best adventure of the entire week. James, Fransis, and Moose -- our guides, kept us safe, kept us moving, and made sure we all had fun. Plus the gave us the option of going body surfing and a chance to duck into a waterfall...it was AWESOME.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

my girlfriend and I spent the weekend w/ this company. whitewater rafting was awesome. our guide "Eagle" made the trip what it was. we did buy the "wild ride" option and expected to have the smaller (4-5 person) raft the whole trip, but we had to spend 3/4 of the trip on the river in a larger group/raft w/ 10+ people. not as advertised and I was disappointed. they said they were short a guide so that's why we had to do that, but that's not my problem.. I booked and expected what I purchased. however, the guide, eagle, was awesome and I highly recommend this trip based on him alone. the guides make or break your trip. If you want a real adventure, book the wild ride option...smaller raft, less people = more fun rapids. we then did the alpine ropes course. again, our guide was awesome. it is a workout and a challenge/adventure. we were lucky to have it just be the 2 of us for the ropes course, which was cool and made it xtra special. overall, great trip and highly recommended. our experience is more about the guides and less about the company as a whole. customer service was not so good, but the guides rocked!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxx
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were part of a group spanning late-teen/early 20s to early 60s, several first-timers. Guides were friendly and encouraging, but first and foremost safety-minded.
A general discussion was followed by the fitting of safety gear for "ground school" to practice techniques a couple feet off the ground. A unique transport vehicle then took us on a very bumpy ride over uneven terrain to the first of 5 platforms to begin our ziplining.
We always felt secure about their equipment and our safety since the guides (Ken and Katy?), were constantly vigilant to ensure our well-being. We had a great time and were happy we had this outing in Niagara with Wildman!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I went zip lining last weekend at Wildman. My second time zip lining and his first. We had a great time and he thought it was awesome and can't wait to go again! Our guides were the best. Very informative and concerned for our comfort and safety at all times while still interacting with the group and having a great time. Wish I had known about the camping, rafting, etc. available before we went as we would have made it a weekend trip. Plan to return in the near future with friends for more adventure!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I just returned from Wildman Adventure Ranch with my senior girl scout troop. We had nine 14-year-old girls and two adult leaders. We stayed in one of the cozy cabins and were able to also pitch a tent on the site. The property is absolutely beautiful, heavily wooded and about 150 yards up from the Peshtigo River, which you can hear bubbling all night long. Very soothing sound. The cabin was clean and very nice with two bunk beds -- one with two twins and one with a twin and double. We had two picnic tables that were big enough to seat our entire group and a nice fire ring. You can purchase firewood and ice from the resort and they will deliver it to your campsite. Very convenient. The wood was nice a dry and burned beautifully. The first day we kayaked on the Peshtigo. The individual kayaks are fairly comfortable, although the seat back was too low and I ended up with a nasty bruise on my lower back. The river is beautiful, but don't be fooled -- this is a strenous trip! The first mile and a half or so is all boulders that you must navigate around, and all of us kept getting stuck. The only way to get off a rock is to paddle hard and rock your kayak back and forth. After about an hour of this I was exhausted and we hadn't even gotten to the rapids yet. The rapids themselves are a blast -- three level II rapids and two level III rapids. Of course, between each rapid was more boulders. It was fun, but even my energetic girls agreed it was just too much strenous work. The next day we drove up to the Menominee Outpost for a whitewater trip on the Menominee River. All eleven of us were in one boat! We towed another boat so that we could run the level IV rapid through Piers Gorge twice. Before you get to the rapid the river is nice and smooth and slow. We floated along and the guide had the girls play a bunch of fun games using the boats and balance. Of course they fell in a lot and had a blast. Finally, we came to the rapid, which was incredible. It is not for the fainthearted, as it is very rough and dangerous. Another raft in our group (there were 4) ended up losing four people when their raft tipped. They had to ride the rest of the rapid in the water, but I don't think they were beat up too badly. We wore lifejackets and helmets, but I'm glad we didn't tip. We made it through both times with no mishaps. The girls all agreed this was much more fun than the Peshtigo. Wildman Ranch also has a high ropes course, lake kayaking and a zipline. We didn't do any of those activities, but I think if I come back with my family we might try them out. The property also offers cabins with full kitchens and bedrooms, which is what we woule most likely stay in the next time we go. All-in-all it was a great trip to take with a goup of adventurous girls who like to camp and experience the outdoors in a variety of ways.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Spent the week of Fathers Day at the Wildman Pestigo River Outpost with a small group of Scouts. Our group did one day of rafting on the Menominee River and one day of kayaking on the Peshtigo River.

The Campground:
The campground is right along the Peshtigo River and most every site is riverside. There are several tent spots and a few cabins. There is also a lodge, but I did not go near it. I don't believe there are RV hook-up either. The campground is well kept and I saw staff going around each site picking up trash after people checked out. There are outhouses at one end of the camp and a shower house with flush toilets at the other end. The out houses were cleaned reguarly. The (pay) showers were dirty at the end of the day when everybody was hosing off after a day of fun. There is also a pavilion with picnic tables near the showers. A sand volleyball court sits next to the pavilion. They sell wood by the bundle or by the wheelbarrow load. The climbing tower is located at this camp too.

There is a hiking trail that goes up river about 2 miles and you can see some nice rapids along the way. We took many pictures along the trail.

Menominee River Rafting:
The Menominee River Outpost has a small golf course, rock climbing, zipline, paintball, rafting and a bar and grill called Bombers. our group only did the rafting.

The rafting trip starts with a short bus ride upriver. They have a photographer taking pictures of your group. You put in on calm water and your guide teaches you commands how to paddle as a team, as well as how to bring someone back into the boat. once the guide is satisfied that everyone knows how to be safe, you get to play in the water. You are towing a second raft so you can shoot the class IV rapids a second time, and this second raft is where we played some fun games. After a while the guide rounds everyone back into the lead raft to start the whitewater fun. There is a decent set of class III rapids to start. After that you make your way to the shore to drop off the spare raft to get ready for the class IV Piers Gorge rapid. This is what the trip is all about. You drop in with the raft almost verticle and just when you think you've recovered you hit "volkswagen", a large boulder in the middle of the river that can send several in your party into the water. Once you finally finish this set of rapids, you hike back upriver to do it all over again. The photographer is there to capture your ride. After that there is another set of III rapids right before the out point. Then a very short bus ride back to the outpost. Total trip time is around 2 hours

The rafting is great for beginners, but experienced rafters may feel a little let down with the amount of whitewater.

Peshtigo River kayaking:
This trip starts at the Peshtigo River outpost and a short van ride upriver. The kayaks are rally something the call funyaks, a single seat between two inflated pontoons. Our group had 3 guides, one showing us the best route, one in the middle, and one bringing up the rear. One of hte boys in our group was having a lot of trouble getting the hang of paddling and the guide (James) worked with him until he got the hang of things. We navidaged several rapids and spent quite a bit of time rerunning one class III. One of the guides was taking pictures and even video. There are two sets of class III rapids that you run that are along the hiking trail by the campground. You take out at the campground.

This was more fun than the rafting to me. I would go again and spend the time kayaking.

The Staff:
All of the staff that we saw were college aged. However, all were very professional. Everybody seemed interested in making sure we were having a good time. I cannot say enough about them.

Notes:
-Showers require quarters
-Peshtigo and Menominee Rivers are about an hours drive apart
-Must have shoes that won't fall off for Memominee rafting
-Check the water levels, if it has not rained in a while the Peshtigo may be difficult to navigate without getting stuck a lot.
-I WILL GO AGAIN

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildman Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildman Adventure Resort

Address: N12080 Allison Lane, Athelstane, WI 54104
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Athelstane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Athelstane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildman Adventure Resort is a multi-sport outdoor adventure resort located in Northeastern Wisconsin. Accommodations include riverside camping, camping cabins, and deluxe cabins. Guided activities include whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tour, stand up paddle boarding, climbing, sea kayaking, paintball, golf, guided ATV trips, and guided snowmobile trips. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildman Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wildman Adventure Resort to your Saves list