We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Rock Inn & Bait Shop

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Rock Inn & Bait Shop
Save
You added River Rock Inn & Bait Shop to your Saves list
1200 Lake Shore Drive, Ashland, WI 54806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Belleville, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the cleanest place I have stayed. The room was very spacious and it was like staying in a woodsy lodge. The staff were very friendly and informative. The office is located in their bait store and it was one of the cleanest bait stores I have been in. I am happy I chose to stay here and would stay again my next trip back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrinn, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review we really appreciate the feedback we have been getting. Its great to hear when our office and housekeeping staff are doing a fantastic job. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
46
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison Heights, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our room was so great. It was like a cabin in the woods. It was clean and spacious and the decor was so great. It was the most unusual motel we've ever had the opportunity at which to stay. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrinn, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we really appreciate it. We put a lot of thought and consideration of our guests needs into remodling our motel. Our goal was to give people something different and by your review it seems we are on our way to accommplishing that. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

What a charming place! We stayed in rooms #11 and 7 this past weekend and were so happy with the choice! So clean and cozy with every amenity thoughtfully provided! Very comfortable and clean and well worth the price. I am happy to support a family run business than an impersonal chain!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrinn, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We really appreciate the wonderful review. We try hard to please our guests as much as possible. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Falls
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were attending a conference in Ashland and had missed out on getting a reservation at the big hotels so ended up here. What luck! This place was like having an apartment for the 3 days. Centrally located, huge room, beautifully decorated and CLEAN like shiny clean, rooms. Very pleasant people, great little bait shop/front desk, coffee and cappucino available, just so pleasant and convenient. Very good walls, no noise from other rooms (one of my main problems in so many hotels) and not even road noise with US-2 so close.

Room Tip: We only saw our double king room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrinn, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we take pride in the fact that we have wonderful housekeepers and a little different set up to ensure that our rooms are clean and it makes it even better when our guests notice as well. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Is this a Bait Shop or a Motel? Answer is - BOTH! Only place I know where you check in and have an opportunity to ask how the fish are biting, and can purchase the bait and tackle on site. The rooms are recently updated - very clean. Great place to stay for a night as you travel along the shore of Lake Superior. Only downside that I see is that it is located on the highway and the traffic noise woke me up pretty early - but, access to the lake and city are easy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrinn, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We love to hear that we made you smile, that is what we aim to do with all our customers. Hope you will consider us again the next time you are in the Ashland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our first time in Ashland and I had to google hotels for the area and one of the cheaper ones listed was River Rock Inn. The hotel was on a main road and made it easy for us to get to places we wanted to go to. We were delited to see how clean and comfortable our room was including the recliner and variety of TV channels. The shower was huge and I loved the unique mirror above the sink. The rustic style room had a fridge and microwave so we could bring food back to our room to enjoy. We loved being able to park right outside our door and sit outside with a view of Lake Superior. River Rock Inn is a great value and we were happy we chose this place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrinn, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will consider us again the next time you are in the Ashland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We love this place, but unfortunately guests must check in by 9pm. That's the only notable negative to this little roadside gem. The kitchenettes are well appointed, and if you don't need it the Inn can offer you a discount on the room. The rooms are newly updated, with rustic decor that is charming, not kitschy, and bathrooms that are modern, spacious, and relaxing. The Wi-Fi is unpredictable, but an ethernet port is available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrinn, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I want to let you know that we do offer late check ins and if you call the office the person on duty can give you more info on what we do for a late check in. Thank you for the nice review, we hope you will consider us again the next time you are in the Ashland Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Rock Inn & Bait Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Inn & Bait Shop

Address: 1200 Lake Shore Drive, Ashland, WI 54806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Rock Inn & Bait Shop is located in Ashland, WI with one of the most beautiful views of Lake Superior's Chequamegon Bay. We are rated 5 stars by Trip Advisor and received an award of excellence in 2013. The Inn is newly renovated with some of the best quality available in comfort and luxury. Some of our rooms are available with kitchenettes. All of the rooms include free WIFI, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pots. For the hunter or fishermen and women we offer the areas only fish and game cleaning room. Our goal is to make your stay one of the best, hoping you will make River Rock Inn your first choice for lodging while you are in the Chequamegon Bay area. The Inn has room side parking and there is ample space for boats, snowmobiles, ATVs, and trailers. The Inn offers an outside cooking area, including a gas grill and tables. Or, if you choose to eat out, we are within walking distance of some of the finest local eateries in Ashland. Our unique location gives you the best Ashland has to offer with a walking/biking trail and a boat launch just a stones' throw away. We also provide bicycles for our guests to use. Additionally, we are just a short drive to Bayfield, WI where you can catch a ferry to Madeline Island or take a boat tour of the Apostle Islands. Our bait shop personnel will help point you in the right direction for some of the best fishing in the area. Or, if you prefer, you can purchase fresh Lake Superior fish and smoked fish from our shop. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.