We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Platter

The Platter
315 Turner Rd, Ashland, WI 54806
715-682-2626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Ashland
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Was not disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

First time visit. Stopped because of the reviews, was not disappointed. Love the historic building, the service was fabulous, the drinks were mixed well and the food was delicious. Want a great place to go for dinner in Ashland? Stop here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    5
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were traveling to see the Ice Caves and decided to spend a night in Ashland and grab dinner. We were expecting to find a place with pretty standard supper club fare and after reading some reviews decided to try the Platter.

Needless to say the food was not what we expected - much better. We started with the Tostada and Risotto appetizers which were both deliciious. We also each had soup (fish chowder and onion soup) and split a fish fry. Even though we got the breaded whitefish it was very light breaded, very well seasoned and light - exactly what we wanted and very different than the typical heavily breaded and deep fried fish fry. In looking at the menu there were a number of other main courses that looked even better, but since it was a Friday....

The house is a historic landmark that was previously a brothel, and after dinner we received a private tour of the upstairs and the restoration that is underway. It was great to see the old rooms and the work being done and capped off a great dinner.

This was a perfect evening after six hours of driving. We were expected pretty standard fare but instead had great service, wonderful food that was very flavorful and well seasoned, not too heavy, and perfect atmosphere in the old house. We absolutely recommend to anyone that is in or passing through Ashland.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Ridge, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A unique take on traditional supper club fare. The menu took wisconsin supper look and tied an Asian influence and the result was delightful. Blue gill appetizer a treat and fennel pork loin was great!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbster, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Why didn't we try this place sooner?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Last night my wife, daughter, and I decided to go out to eat. The restaurant where we had planned to dine had a long waiting list, so we decided to try The Platter. It was one of those places about which we had often remarked "we really should try it some time", but then forgot about it when planning to eat out. We won't forget about it again! In one visit this became my favorite local restaurant. Everything we tried was delicious! Unlike other fine dining establishments in this area, which seem to cater either to the hipster set (Good Thymes) or the mega-rich (Wild Rice), The platter provides all the quality and elegance without the attitude. If I could design the perfect restaurant for me, it would be a lot like The Platter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best presentation followed by wonderful flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nice varity on the menu. Great service, charming and helpful server and the food was enjoyed by all at our table. We thought the prices were reasonable as well, especially when you consider the quality oif the food & service. Great drinks made by Host Tim. This is must stop if you are in Ashland, Wisconsin

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Platter also viewed

 

Been to The Platter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Platter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.