We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay at Americinn Ashland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Ashland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Ashland to your Saves list
AmericInn Ashland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3009 Lakeshore Drive East, Ashland, WI 54806   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
maple grove
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family stay at Americinn Ashland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our stay in Ashland was for a family get-together. We couldn't have been more pleased . The Americinn was very clean,the rooms spacious with everything we needed, the view was excellent and the rates very good and the breakfast ample. But it was the staff that made our stay wonderful. They couldn't have been more accomodating and helpful and friendly. our children loved the pool and the snack bar was so handy, with it's homemade pizzas and burgers and beverages both alcoholic and non. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to share your family reunion with us here in Ashland. Everyone here wants to not only meet our guests' need, we want to exceed our guests' expectations, and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to serving you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    102
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
225
91
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carrington, North Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff was very helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean and well stocked, this hotel had the best breakfast selection and well stocked, and the view is awesome. We stayed during the off season so the hotel was nice and quiet, next time we are through the area we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and 5 star rating of our hotel. I'm glad you were happy with the accommodations and service we provide, and really appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle river, w,i usa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Clean, reasonable rates,good location
This is my place to stay when in this part of the state. Morning breakfast
Staff has always been very helpful
This property is located along shores of Ashland bay off of lake superior

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty and nice review. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay here. I hope you will let us know what we can to do to earn a five star rating from you on future visits .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawano, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Ashland Americinn three times since May of 2012 and will stay there again. Our last trip included our daughter and grandchildren and they enjoyed their stay at this hotel. We had rooms with the view of Lake Superior and found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. When we visit Ashland again we will definitely stay at Americinn.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a view of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your many visits and for posting your review and 5 star rating. We know how important and special it is to spend time with family, and everyone here wants to make sure our guests are free to relax and enjoy themselves while they are here. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very friendly and helpful service. We had two great rooms that served our needs very well at a very reasonable price. They have a great pool area and it is conveniently located near stores and restaurants. We will definitely stay at this location again during future visits to Ashland!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for your great comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you and your family were happy and comfortable here, and that you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves during Thanksgiving. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washburn, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I visited the AmericInn in Ashland on Wednesday 11/15/12. I found the whole hotel very clean and nicely decorated throughout. The lobby area had a fireplace, flat screen TV, a computer, and many couches and chairs to relax on if you didn't want to sit in your room.

There was some work being done in the pool area and the "Splashland" park was closed, but this was completely explained at the desk when I checked in. There was a slight "varnish" smell from the work being done, which is the only reason I gave the facilities a "very good" instead of "excellent". A big plus was they had a guest laundry facility, at a reasonable price, which I utilized.

Everything in my room was clean, fresh, and modern with a flat screen TV. It included wifi, a coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave. It had an incredible view of Chequamegon Bay and the Ashland Breakwater! I wish I would have stayed here in warmer weather and had the opportunity to sit on one of the many lakeview benches or to use the outdoor patio and breakfast areas. My bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets. Not ONCE did I ever hear anyone or anything in the hallway or in the adjoining rooms to disturb my stay or my sleep.

The breakfast was wonderful and included the usual items coffee (which was very good as I'm a "coffee snob"), tea, juices, cereals, bagels, toast, and muffins, but it also had wonderful waffles, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, and more! The breakfast area was clean and neat with windows over looking the bay, newspapers, and a TV showing the news. Although I was unable to us it, there was an outdoor deck for guest to enjoy their breakfasts on in warmer weather. The ONLY drawback to breakfast was the little bit of a walk to get to the area, but it certainly wasn't a problem.

I found all the staff I interacted with friendly, pleasant, smiling, and very helpful! Although the price was slightly higher than a comparable local motel ($20) which I had stayed at previously, I found my overnight stay at the AmericInn much more pleasant and restful. Well worth the few extra dollars.

There were many little "perks" which I have forgotten to mention, such as a windshield cleaning station in the parking lot, that were unexpected which added to my positive experience and review of this motel. I have no idea where the reviewer from 2 years ago had stayed, but it certainly was not the AmericInn I enjoyed!! I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend family and friends to stay here.

Thank you Ashland AmericInn!

Room Tip: I stayed in the King Lakeside Jacuzzi room!!! I highly recommend it... if you can definitely pay a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and post your very first TA review about your stay at our hotel. We value all guest input and appreciate your comments about our facility and service. Your kind words and recognition of jobs well done mean a great deal to everyone here. I'm glad you found value for your money here, and look forward to the next time we can serve you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace Bay
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Two weeks ago we travelled down to Southern Ontario and we were forced to change our route because the Trans Canada Highway had been washed out near Wawa, Ontario. We decided to stay in either Duluth, MN or Ashland, WI. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to try the Americinn in Ashland.. We were not disappointed in our decision. We had a room with a jacuzzi overlooking Lake Superior for a very good rate. The free hot breakfast was more than adequate. The pool area looked great for those travelling with kids. On our next trip through this area we will definitely stay at the Americinn in Ashland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for checking us out on TA and then checking in at our hotel during your recent detour. I'm glad you were happy with your choice and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ashland

Address: 3009 Lakeshore Drive East, Ashland, WI 54806
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Ashland 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn of Ashland, Wisconsin, is more than just it's great location (a spectacular setting and great views). From the moment you walk into the AmericInn's warm and homey lobby, you'll know why it's a VacationLand favorite. Everything is right for a memorable stay: surprising luxury, comfort and quality, plus a friendly, helpful staff who, like friends, look forward to welcoming you back time after time. Come enjoy a Superior vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your AmericInn Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Ashland Hotel Ashland
Americinn Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Ashland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.