We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore, Learn, and Enjoy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center

Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
29270 County Highway G, Ashland, WI 54806
715-685-9983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Ashland
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center is a four-season facility, capturing the unique qualities of this multi-state region. An intriguing objects theater, engaging exhibits and special programs are designed to tell the stories of the region's cultural and natural history. Comprehensive visitor information services and a friendly hospitality staff will help guide you on your journey. Open Daily from 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Free
Milton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Explore, Learn, and Enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A treasure trove of local history form native American life to Lake Superior fisherman and lumberjack lore. Mining too! Kid friendly with many interactive gadgets for kids to enjoy with hands on experiences.

We've visited many times and it is a great place for any day, but is always good to keep in mind as a cool or rainy day outing.

The view from the top most level is breath taking! Being your camera!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 2sweet4umarie,
Thank you for visiting the NGLVC and for the detailed review. Winter is always a quieter time for our area, so we were very happy that you stopped in. You saw the snowshoes that were available, so next time we hope you bring the winter gear and head out on the trails. We would also love for you to stop back and see the mural. It took nine months, but it's all finished, and we think it is beautiful!
Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    25
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Frances, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Impressive building for what's in there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Really nice building, free is as good a value you can get, typical pricey gift shop. Small museum type display area, nothing too awesome or extra kid friendly. The observation deck is a 360 degree view which is pretty nice, my first question was "where is the lake?" Hard to tell in winter and it is not right on the shore. There are walkways to take and you can even snowshoe if you are dressed for the weather. Did not take the trails so can't speak on those. Did get to witness the mural in progress which was neat. Artist was friendly even though I'm sure she has answered the same four questions thousands of times. Nice little stop on our trip but not worthy of being the destination. Did see that they support the junior rangers program which our children loved when they were younger.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knife River, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited the center on a blustery winter day and loved every minute of it. Our grandchildren are 1, 3, and 5. There was something special for each one of them. Many of the displays are interactive. We left and returned later to snowshoe the trail behind the center. Snowshoes are available for free use. What fun we had!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear KnifeRiver,

Thank you for bringing the grandkids in last February. We appreciate that you took the time to review us and gave us 5 stars. We hope that you'll be able to visit again this winter and use the snowshoes again.
Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Northwoods Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This modern building is not your typical roadside visitors' center. It is beautiful, interactive visitor center with museum, art gallery, viewing tower, great gift shop and hiking trails. In Winter one can rent snow shoes to trump around the property. In simmer, one can walk the trials. Coffee is available for free. There is something for all ages here - any time of year.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Lots of history to learn here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice stop along Highway 63. I would recommend this stop for families who are interested in learning more about the area and about Lake superior. If you go to the top of the building you are able to walk around the catwalk which has elevated views of Lake superior this is the best part.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.