We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reasonable price hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Belem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Belem to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Belem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa Dom Romualdo de Seixas, 1560 | Umarizal, Belem, State of Para 66055-200, Brazil (Umarizal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Belem
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great reasonable price hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 years in a row and I can tell it's a great hotel with reasonable price. Great location and the staff are really helpful. It's easy to get to anywhere in downtown from this hotel. They also provide a nice free breakfast. The room is business oriented with many facilities for working.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelly m, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Belem, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Sr. Wagner,
Seus comentários são muito importantes para nós.
Agradecemos pelos elogios a respeito da comodidade das instalações para trabalhar, além da utilidade dos colaboradores, qualidade do café da manhã e localização.
Aguardamos seu retorno em breve a Belém e uma nova avaliação.
Atenciosamente,
Kelly Menezes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    84
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
28
31
17
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo, brazil
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Golden Tulip Umarizal for a business meeting at the Hangar Convention Center . The hotel is not in a central position. Rooms are extremelly small, even for european standards (not to mention for brazilian / US standards...), badly organized and not clean (our room had only a very small window). Staff was attentive, but the infrastructure did not cooperate. Very basic breakfast and meals. They have another branch in the city, which they told was of a lower standard...Would not go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My 11pm arrival/check-in started off with the front desk telling me they had lost my reservation. We should have parted ways at that point. Once they decided to give me a room, they provided a room key-card that did not work. After standing in line for 10 minutes, I was handed a key-card to a room already occupied by guests. After another wait in line and another key-card, I entered a room to find that the key-card-activated lights did not work. After finally (the fourth attempt) receiving a key card that worked in the door and the power system, I made it to bed a little after midnight. However, the hotel errantly directed a wake-up call to my room at 4am!

Two days later, the check-out process was equally inept. Because I was checking out early (5:30am), the clerk was unable to give me a receipt for the last night, saying it was too early for the system to add that to the bill. Nevertheless, a slew of incorrect charges were added to my bill, and this took 4-5 minutes to rectify. The clerk promised me that a correct final bill for all the nights would be sent to my e-mail (something I need for reimbursement). That was four days ago, and I am still waiting.

Besides the incompetent front desk staff, the rest of the hotel experience was mediocre. The showers featured a small ridge purportedly to keep the water restricted to the shower area, although the daily post-shower pond provided evidence of a serious design flaw. Although, as a frequent overseas business traveler, I am used to not having a large selection of English-speaking channels on my hotel TV, the Golden Tulip offered only one partial news station in English. Not BBC, not SkyNews, not CNN International, but Bloomberg. No iron or ironing board was in the room. The gym contained one exercise bike, one treadmill, one elliptical, and some dumb bells (not to be confused with the ones working the front desk). Breakfast was decent.

If given a choice, go someplace else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I first had made a reservation through booking.com. Then I visited the hotel website and they were advertising a cheaper deal, which I took. However, when I arrived at the hotel I was told that I would have to pay extra since we were two people and the reservation made through the hotel website it is automatically set for one person. This made the price goes way over what I had initially booked with booking.com, which it is set for two people automatically. I asked to talk to the manager to try to solve this problem (I am still waiting for this talk). Nonetheless, I wrote to customer services of both the hotel and the headquarters and up to this date I have NOT heard back from them. From that date I refrained from staying in any hotel of this chain. The fitness centre is terrible. They do not keep the air conditioning on, which makes you feel like in a 100 degrees sauna while exercising. The restaurant of the hotel is worth a visit for an afternoon snack.
There are better and cheaper hotels in Belem. I would NOT recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you need to do laundry instead of paying overpriced services at the hotel just go around the corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Belem is an interesting city and my business associates recommended this is a really great hotel. As a woman traveller on business I felt safe and the hotel was super clean and the amenities were very good. The breakfast buffet was good and overall it is a great choice in Belem.

Room Tip: go for the highest floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

First Class Business Hotel for visiting Belem. Large confortable rooms. Helpful staff.
IThey accelerated my check in because I arrived very early in the day and prolonged my check out because I left late.
Don´t miss out on the pool on the 30th floor if only to take in the supurb view from up there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jeannet, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Traveling for business to Bélem, I have tried two other well known hotels on previous trips, but this one is by far the the best choice. The hotel is new, the rooms, although small by North American standards, are comfortable, very clean, and complete, with a Northern European design. Room service is efficient. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The only noticeable downside is the tiny entrance lobby, which gets crowded very quickly, and the rather small restaurant. The hotel location is good, in a residential neighborhood, about 10 min by taxi to the historic quarters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Belem

Address: Travessa Dom Romualdo de Seixas, 1560 | Umarizal, Belem, State of Para 66055-200, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Para > Belem > Umarizal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Belem
#4 Family Hotel in Belem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Belem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Belem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Belem Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Belem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.