We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location but unfriendly staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amazonia Hostel

Amazonia Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amazonia Hostel to your Saves list
Amazonia Hostel
Avenida Governador Jose Malcher, No 592, Belem, State of Para 66035-100, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Belem
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent location but unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Location was ideal, in a relatively safe part of town.
Most staff except for maybe one lady were unfriendly and unhelpful. The manager was very rude and disrespectful. The owner did not honor my reservation at the beginning and it wasted a lot of my time.
Breakfast was stingy and rationed out, not a good deal for money given the high prices of this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
5
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We moved to a nearby hotel. Just a little bit more money for a proper hotel room. This place has the hostel monopoly in Belem, so the prices are higher than they should be. But I would recommend, in light of this, saying a bit extra for a hotel. The reception staff were quite unfriendly. Not unfriendly, more, uninterested.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is an expensive construction site , dirty and unfriendly , the price charged was a joke R 100 for a double room with filthy bathroom and communal kitchen . Having just traveled , we were tired and just wanted a bed and shower ... Wish we had of just gone down the road a bit to a nice hotel for the same price .when the 12 pm checkout arrived ( we had a boat at 2pm ) we were told to leave the hostel and not sit in the lounge area as we were no longer guests !,and never will be again !
Do Not Stay in this DIVE

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect to be greeted with kindness or a word of English. Instead, we paid, after some bargaining R$110. (down from R$125.) for a double rooom with a very dirty unkempt bathroom - shower head literally over toilet seat!

One towel happened to be on the bed in the room, however, they were hiring them out at reception for an extra R$3.00/day!! No kidding!

I must make mention now that we did not stay in the hostel proper but in a property 2 doors down that was obviously a gem in it's day but had no recent attention paid to it (paintwork or scrubdowns) bar for an exceptional Venetian glass mirror in the foyer. There were also maggots and a horrid smell in a sinktop bin in the kitchen when I entered to store some goods in the refrigerator. Not acceptable!

The sheets on the bed were 100 percent polyester & did not fit meaning we spent half the night pulling them out from underneath us & sleeping straight on the mattress (no matress cover)!

We are extremely well seasoned travelers & felt that breakfast in the hostel proper was sufficient, however if you take a five minute walk to Hotel Grao Para as listed in Footprint guide book you will find a smart hotel for less money!!!! (R$120./double). Seriously, do not spend your money here We have spoken with locals since our stay who have said that it once was great but has since changed management. I believe that HI need to inspect as it is a long way off from the standards we experienced at Hostel Manaus in Manaus another HI hostel we recently stayed at.

To top it all off, management came to the annexe at 12:30 (checkout 12 noon), where we were finalizing some internet details with all our luggage in hand & told us to 'get out'! Not a thank you or may we call you a taxi...... Very disappointing & I imagine costly to their forthcoming business (if any).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

These guys are really kidding themselves by charging $R59 or even $R49 for HI members for their dorm rooms.
The hostel was more like a haunted house. The building is really pretty but that certainly does not warrant the exorbitant price. The staff were apathetic and absent, the bathrooms were not cleaned daily, and were in terrible conditions with demountable walls. For a couple you could stay in a mid range hotel or pousada for the same price.
Breakfast was awkward and stingy. Unlike every other hostel in Brazil that has a buffet they take your order and bring it to the table which limits you to the food they serve you.

Everyone we talked to at the hostel thought it was terrible value.

Reading the reviews from 2010 makes me wonder what must have happened to this place for it to turn into such a dump!

Do not recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were put through a check in process that took almost an hour during which staff were confused, did not understand we had paid a deposit and had to share the task between three staff members.

Our dorm room stank like mould, the bathrooms were cramped and the included breakfast was a joke - rationed out, not buffet style like other places. The yoghurt they served was 2 weeks out of date.

Definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Open living room, so make sure you have insect repellent during the appropriate season. I got more bug bites here in a couple days than a week in the Amazon.

That much said the accommodations were excellent. Being off season in February, I had the dorm to myself and there were only 2 or 3 other travelers in the hostel. Bathrooms were clean and there is a kitchen and fridge for visitors. Laundry is not self-service and I found it pretty expensive at 20BRL for 1 Kilo.

Breakfast is nice and it is a 15 or 20 minute walk to the main market and attractions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amazonia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazonia Hostel

Address: Avenida Governador Jose Malcher, No 592, Belem, State of Para 66035-100, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Para > Belem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Belem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amazonia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazonia Hostel Belem, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazonia Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.