We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solar Do Rosario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solar Do Rosario to your Saves list
Hotel Solar Do Rosario
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Getulio Vargas 270 | Bairro Largo do Rosario, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a excellent hotel in a perfect location. Great facilities, friendly staff providing a quite rest after going up and down in Ouro Preto. It has a candle lit restaurant which looks very pleasant and romantic but we didn't try it because there was no more than two people in each of the three days we were there. Good choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    103
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
52
142
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I agree with my fellow Massachusetts traveller. The hotel is a gem and is very charming. The staff was welcoming, informative and professional. I found the breakfast very nice and above average. Eggs were cooked to order on a wood fireplace which I found very nice. Our room overlooked a beautiful 17th century Catholic church and the street scape had a european feel. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and the food was great. The wine list was adequate and had variety. Like most places in Brazil, wines by the glass are hard to come by. Our room was very nice and well appointed with unique restored furniture. I heartily recommend the Hotel Solar. Its a unique property in a truly beautiful city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

It's the start of our holiday in South America and this is a great start. Ouro Preto is a World Heritage Site and well worth this accolade. To go with the town is this excellent hotel not far from the centre, but you have to be prepared for some very tiring walking. There are many hills here and most of the streets are cobbled. Not easy if it's been raining. But it is well worth it - great food too.

Room Tip: All rooms are by the side of the cobbled roads so not is quiet during the day. A different matter at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governador Valadares, MG
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Loved this hotel. Great character, great value, impeccable service and food. Highly recommend as THE hotel of choice in Ouro Preto. In fact, having traveled to Europe, Asia, South America and all over the US (home), this is a top five hotel for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

When we arrived at the 2pm our room was not ready and we got the option either to pay for an higher price available room or wait half hour for the standard room we had booked. This is one of the few hotels in Brazil that still claim an extra 10% service charge on top of the publicly advertised and booked rate. Coincidentally it took the reception half hour to do all the check-in formalities. When we got in the standard room it was so small we could barely walk around a double bed. Fortunately for us there wasn't any Wi-Fi signal in this room, so we managed to obtain a slightly larger room closer to the wireless router with a stronger signal. When we got back in the evening it turned out that the staff didn't know the password for that router. Fortunately the night porter was willing to let me switch a router from the other end of the corridor with a known password with the one with the unknown one, so that after more than half hour troubles we finally got Internet access…. Overall the staff was friendly and accommodating albeit not prepared with all the situations they were confronted with. At the same price paid here we have had better rooms and service elsewhere in Brazil.

Room Tip: When comparing prices with other hotels discard the standard room which isn't really an option b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayer, Massachusetts
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is a converted large multi-residence from Ouro Preto's early days. Much of what you see in this hotel, including wood, stone, and tiling are as much historical relics as the various tourist attractions themselves. DO NOT expect this to be a spa-laden, english-fluent modern-day Hilton. Appreciate it for what it is.

Here are some tips to help you avoid the "issues" other reviewers are having:

1) Learn key phrases in the language of the country you are going to. Don't be arrogant enough to assume that other people are going to learn YOUR language to accomodate YOU in a country that is THEIRS. And guess what? The staff will actually be more willing to go out of their way to help you if they see you're making an effort! Who would have thought?!

2) Learn how to use a bathroom in the typical manner that many South American countries style their bathrooms. Most Brazilians do not flush toilet paper down the toilet, they put it in the trash can next to the toilet. The shower and general bathroom area drain from the floor, which you have to open. The power of your toilet flush depends on how long you hold the button down, and the little button is only to release water into the bowl.

3) All the noise "problems" are related to the architecture of the period in which Ouro Preto and this building were built re: width of the walls. Traffic noise is par for the course for any city in Brazil, re: motorcycles and trucks.

4) And there are complaints about the Hotel looking "old"? If you want to stay in a Hilton or Ibis hotel, stay in Belo Horizonte and drive to Ouro Preto. Otherwise, appreciate the antiquity as part of the charm of the hotel.

5) The typical breakfast cuisine of Brazil in class includes ham, cheese, a variety of breads, and a LOT of fruit. This isn't a country that is going to pander to your bacon/sausage/potatoes/toast/pancakes American palette. Tough luck. You don't whine about the pastries in France, right?

And now, for my own personal review of our stay:

This hotel is everything you could expect for someone looking to genuinely appreciate the historical beauty and significance of this beautiful town. My fiancée(a native brazilian) and I spent a Saturday night here and this is easily the best hotel in the city and worthy of its ranking and awards. The front desk staff is charming and informative, the waitstaff was brilliant, and the rooms were clean and charming. There is not much of a view from certain rooms like ours, but if you're here to see Ouro Preto you're doing it wrong if you're sitting in your hotel room. They had a pleasant selection of wines for dinner, and the gorgonzola risotto will leave you fully satisfied. The ambiance in the restaurant is lovely, as it is in the rest of the hotel as well.

Overall this hotel was everything we ciuld have expected, and contributed to a wonderful weekend in Ouro Preto. We will stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel years ago and loved it, but this time was a major disappointment. It is still beautiful, although the pool has been moved and is now much less charming.
The first room we were given was just awful. Very small, smelling of mold, with a tiny bathroom and a toilet that took several attempts before finally flushing, it would not have been a credit to a two star hotel. But the hotel was full, so we remained until the next day, a Monday, when we had to talk to three different people to finally change the room (which we had been promised the night before). The second room was larger and more comfortable, although the bathroom still smelled of mold. We had to shower in installments, cutting off the water periodically to avoid flooding. Even then, on the third day, the whole bathroom was flooded.
Some of the staff were very nice, some less so. The lobby of the hotel was left mostly in darkness at night, and the floor to ceiling windows there and in the dining room were left open even in cold weather during a rainstorm. Breakfast looks better than it tastes. We had dinner at the hotel twice. The first night, I was the unlucky one - I had ravioli that would have been al dente if it had been left to cook for a few more minutes, but was completely inedible as it was. The others in my party found their food ok. The next evening, we planned on going elsewhere, but, due to the rainstorm and mobility issues, ate there again. This time, nobody ate well, and two of us were ill.
It is truly unfortunate that a previously charming hotel in an adorable town has declined so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solar Do Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solar Do Rosario

Address: Rua Getulio Vargas 270 | Bairro Largo do Rosario, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Solar Do Rosario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Solar Do Rosario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solar Do Rosario Ouro Preto, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solar Do Rosario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.