We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for business ... but ..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Afonso Pena, 1050 | Downtown, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30130-003, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Belo Horizonte
Bolivia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good enough for business ... but ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed there for 2 weeks in late June 2013 while in town for business. Sure the best days of the hotel are long gone.

My room was large and comfortable (capital factor to live there for 2 weeks!), clean and with large windows. Problem is, windows are not sound proof so it was quite hard to sleep after 5:30 a.m. when buses and trucks start driving along the main avenue. Breakfast has a good variety of fruits and bakery, coffee from dispenser machine and some other food. There is a restaurant in the 25th floor with a very nice view of the city and some decent food although a bit pricey; strange thing: you cannot find there the meals and dishes you can order to your room, so if you want a fish and shrimp soup or a burger, you have to eat it in your room.

Rooms lack an iron and iron board, so you will have to get used to walk in wrinkles .. No shoe shine clothing among the bath stuff. You also don't have a water boiler to have something as simple as a tea cup in your room. Being a 4 star hotel, one would expect at least that kind of things, isn't?

Elevators are very slow and if you stay in a middle floor (say 15 - 10) then you will have to wait, and wait, first for the elevator to get to your floor, and then pray that it is not packed!

Neighborhood is the typical city center almost everywhere, getting a bit odd and probably dangerous at night. There is a shopping mall 2 blocks away, with some shops and food court, and the central market another couple of blocks away.

Staff at reception was friendly and kind, even on the days when the hotel was really packed because of the Confederations Cup.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor, at least you will not get packed elevators when going down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Make sure that your comments have been promptly recorded. We deeply regret the fact that we have not achieved all your expectations during your staying with us. We emphasize that we are in the process of modernizing our facilities and accommodation, having already completed several floors. We appreciate your comments because only through this way we can improve our services .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    343
    190
    46
    27
See reviews for
187
84
67
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed there for two nights to watch the Confederations Cup game between Japan and Mexico. The hotel is centrally located, overlooking the Central Park however, that also means a lot of traffic noise (the windows lack isolation) plus it was (too) close to the starting point for the huge street demonstrations that rocked BH, like the rest of Brazil during the Copa. Sleep quality consequently was poor.
The hotel is undergoing a complete renovation on a floor-by-floor basis, top down.
We had room 2009 which is one of those already renovated however, it is still pretty simple (primitive chairs; not so comfortable beds) for a hotel that charges more that USD 220 a night.
Breakfast buffet (self service) was average however, we found out that you can order bacon and eggs from the chief waiter (the others just clean the tables). As usual in Brazil, they had a rich collection of fresh fruits. They also offered various types of freshly made yogurts, a really nice touch.
We had dinner at the 25th floor restaurant (nice view of the city) which offered a large buffet at a reasonable price. The free welcome caipirinha was pretty strong (not the neutered version you get in New York City's Little Brazil).
When returning to the hotel Saturday night there was street fighting around the hotle and we got gassed a bit (not the hotel's fault, mind you).
The hotel still has some mile to go in order to be ready for the World Cup next year. At its current state it will certainly feel overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor as the hotel is in the process of renovating (badly needed) all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Make sure that your comments have been promptly recorded. We deeply regret the fact that we have not achieved all your expectations during your staying with us. We emphasize that we are in the process of modernizing our facilities and accommodation, having already completed several floors. We appreciate your comments because only through this way we can improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Othon Palace is quite old and not exactly wonderfully maintained, but is nice enough (huge rooms) and extremely well located. Breakfast is very nice. Parking is available at a somewhat expensive fee, but it is really necessary as there are no other parking options around.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Both our employees and our structural space are prepared to serve you in our best way and so to provide you the expecting satisfaction . We hope that your staying as well as the care of our employees have met you expectation.

We reassure the opportunity of having you for this short period of time and our great pleasure in hosting you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Othon Palace has seen better days; it is old and tired looking. On the upside, the rooms are huge, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price and offered a good variety of food. The slowest elevators in the world. The rooftop restaurant was a bit pricey and nothing special, but the poolside bar was a lovely place for a drink and snack at the end of the day. It is conveniently located downtown. Reception staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We inform that our hotel is undergoing through a process of modernization of facilities and accommodation to better serve you.
We reassure the opportunity of having you for this short period of time and our great pleasure in hosting you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Othon is a good standard hotel and very well located. Rooms are uncommonly big (because this is an old hotel I suppose). Furniture in the room is kind of old but overall clean. Carpet needs changing though. We stayed there for three nights while visiting Belo Horizonte and the historical towns (Tiradentes, São João del Rei, Ouro Preto and Mariana). The restaurant is very good and we had a very good salmon and wine there one night. We just expected more from the breakfast buffet, for, in spite of being in Minas, was rather standard. Staff was very agreeable.

Room Tip: We´d just advise guests to get a high floor room for Afonso Pena Ave. is very noisy, specially in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos pelas palavras e lembre-se que pode sempre contar conosco, pois sua opinião é o combustível para nossa motivação e nosso objetivo é ter nossos hóspedes sempre satisfeitos não só com nossos serviços, mas também com o nosso atendimento.

Informamos que nosso hotel está passando por um processo de modernização de nossas instalações e acomodações para melhor atendê-lo e para que sua próxima estada conosco seja mais agradável
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was driving from northern Brazil back towards Rio to catch a plane home and decided to spend the night midway in the town of Belo Horizonte. As i was rushed and driving i picked the first decent looking hotel that came to the top of the xpedia list. What a mistake! The rooms are fifty percent overpriced, the whole place is in need of a makeover, the wifi price was absurd and only worked in half the room, and the valet parking was also very high given that we are talking Belo Horizonte (ever hear of it?) and not Cococabana. And the noisy old AC was unable to cool the room down at all! That said, they did have a room for me on a friday night (not always easy to find on a Friday night in Brazil), and the staff were very freindly and helpful. The view from my 18th floor room was super and the windows did open enough to pass a piano through (dont look down). However, this did not help as the noise from the street even at 2am was overwhelming and the high humidity kept it very hot and sticky.

Overall, not a good showing. I would try one of the many other better rated hotels before coming herr again.

Room Tip: The higher the quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Google Translation
Registramos suas avaliações, onde foi imediatamente considerada pela Gerência Geral. Isso nos possibilitou reavaliar os itens pontuados.

O Belo Horizonte Othon Palace está passando por um processo de modernização de nossas instalações e acomodações para melhor atendê-lo e para que sua próxima estada conosco seja mais agradável.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good location downtown, but that is about all this hotel has going for it. Over priced, rather tired looking rooms, expensive wifi and the food very average. The rooms all face on to the main road, so even on the 20th floor, it was very noisy day and night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABHOP, General Manager at Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Google Translation
Agradecemos o vosso comentário, pois somente dessa forma poderemos melhorar nossos serviços para demonstrar-lhe em sua próxima estada conosco, a qualidade de nosso atendimento.
O Belo Horizonte Othon Palace está passando por um processo de modernização de nossas instalações e acomodações para melhor atendê-lo e para que sua próxima estada conosco seja mais agradável.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel

Address: Avenue Afonso Pena, 1050 | Downtown, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30130-003, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#7 Family Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#11 Business Hotel in Belo Horizonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belo Horizonte
Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.