We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some tips for the management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Do Contorno 7315, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30110-047, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 103 hotels in Belo Horizonte
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some tips for the management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If I were the manager of the Mercure BH, I would:

1. Replace the obviously defective coffee machine in the breakfast restaurant.
2. Ensure that there weren't 30 people waiting to check out on a Friday morning at the same time by introducing an automatic check out or similar system.
3. Check the wifi service that is provided - intermittent is not good enough
4. Seriously look at the gym equipment for replacement or repair - it is a low priority but your guests use the gym and deserve better than is currently provided.

Staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful - doing the best they could.

Bed was comfortable and the room to 3 star standard. Dining in is expensive R$ 90 for a prawn curry ... Seriously ?? Plenty sod good restaurants and cares nearby so avoid the rip-off.


I stayed here for 5 weeks so I am a Mercure expert. Have stayed at the BH Platinum before and it was head and shoulders above the Mercure - for. Location and general quality.

Room Tip: Avoid the room facing the main road - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel R, Assistant Manager at Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear flying_scotsman888,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem mentioned on your comments and prevent future occurrence. The coffee machine is already working and we are planning to implant an express check-out.

Your comments will be share with the restaurant manager and we will ask our gym maintenance to evaluate our equipments

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Raquel Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    396
    133
    25
    18
See reviews for
141
148
76
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

No complaints about this hotel. Very friendly staff. Clean rooms. Comfortable beds. The breakfast and internet could be a little better, but no real issues here.

If you need a place in BH, sleep here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilherme M, Assistant Manager at Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for all comments about your experience during the stay at Mercure BH Lourdes.

Be shure that we will share them with all staff.

We are available for any need and expect to have you back with us!

Best regards.

Raquel Rodrigues
Assistente de Gerência
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed 5 nights and have no complaints at all, in fact would recommend this hotel for business and holiday stay.
Good points:
Pleasant and efficient reception staff, bar / restaurant staff, most with well spoken English.
Room was spacious, well decorated and very clean
Excellent buffet style restaurant with many well prepared selections.
Free WiFi.
The only minor critism was the very small swimming pool.
All in all a very enjoyable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilherme M, Assistant Manager at Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for all comments about your experience during the stay at Mercure BH Lourdes.
Be shure that we will share them with all staff.

We are available for any need and expect to have you back with us!

Best regards.

Raquel Rodrigues
Assistant Manager
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Mercure is terrible on every aspect. I'm having problems, sistematically, week over week, with room facilities that doesn't work (shower, air exausting, telephone) and also the elevators (always full, today after wait 20 minutes I took the stairs and walked down 12 floors. Laundry is not capable of clean one single mark on one of my pants.
This hotel need renovation on the facilities and on the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilherme M, Assistant Manager at Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Luis;

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

As we talk on the telephone we will take an extra care with all your future reservations so you can have a pleasant stay with us.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We are at your service.

Sincerely,

Camila Gischewski
Assistant Manager
Mercure BH Lourdes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are comfortable, besides the noisy air conditioning, and very clean. Staff is extremely friendly, and the breakfast is very diversified. WiFi this time worked well, unlike the last time, when it was horrible.
Location is very practical, close to most offices and walking distance from some good restaurants.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilherme M, Assistant Manager at Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for all comments about your experience during the stay at Mercure BH Lourdes.

Be shure that we will share them with all staff.

We are available for any need and expect to have you back with us.

Best regards.

Raquel Rodrigues
Assistant Manager
Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel is well located (within BH chaos), and has nice "air"... Lobby is confortable, service is very nice and friendly. Rooms are small (at least mine was) and bathroom needs some improvements, but still very confortable and, specially, very funtional.
Breakfast is good, with nice offer of bread, eggs, omoletts, juices, etc. Fruit is fantastic.
Overal appreciation is good, and could be better ir I did not knew the backdoor and service elevator (due to a power problem, only elevator working was on the back, and aspect was awfulll.).
By the way, even after problem was solved, elevator service is still a mess...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilherme M, Assistant Manager at Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The room is large with plenty of room and a good attention to details. Free wifi in room and lobby, and US type outlets next to the desk. Flat screen TV with plenty of channels in different languages. The hotel is very customer friendly, and has a great breakfast. The lobby has a piano with a player every evening. I had a very pleasant stay. My only criticism would be that the wallpaper in the room is starting to come off the wall at some spots and some of the walls show nail holes that were patched.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilherme M, Assistente de Gerência at Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Greatly appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your comments will be shared with our staff. I'm sure your feedback is an incentive for us to continue to improve the quality of our services.

Thanks again for letting us know about your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes

Address: Avenida Do Contorno 7315, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30110-047, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#9 Business Hotel in Belo Horizonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes is the perfect hotel for those who want to be close to everything.Located in the most charming neighborhood of Belo Horizonte and near the main points of the capital of the state, Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes offers to guests comfort and elegance.The staff is highly qualified, friendly and eager to tell you what the city has to offer. In addition, Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes is perfect option to host your business meeting, since it has Wi-Fi and a modern convention center. The Hotel combines the tradition of a french brand and the famous hospitality of the local people. Come and experience this unique concept of accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes Hotel Belo Horizonte
Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mercure Belo Horizonte Lourdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.