We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La em Casa Hostel-Pousada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La em Casa Hostel-Pousada to your Saves list
La em Casa Hostel-Pousada
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua Eurita, 30 | Santa Tereza, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 31010-180, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks. There is a wonderful atmosphere here and I felt very much at home. The staff is very friendly and warm. Elizabeth, Paolo and Juliana were so helpful in providing information, directions and arranging my accommodations. Like myself a lot of the other guests were staying for longer stretches. The guests are easy going and friendly and we ended up doing a lot of things together along with the staff- watching novelas, having BBQs, going for drinks etc.
The breakfast is good and the kitchen is nice and spacious if you want to prepare other meals. The washrooms were really clean and nice. Although the flushing system was weak and you have to flush twice. The rooms were big, spacious and well ventilated. The blankets provided are also nice and cozy for the colder nights.There was plenty of space in the house to have your personal space and time when needed. The house is located in a safe neighborhood and is not far from the centre by bus or by foot. It is also within walking distance to the subway station. The supermarket and places to eat are also close by. One of the owners Chris has also offered to help me find an apartment if i wanted long-term accommodation. Although I didn't require it as I was leaving by then, it was very kind of him and I appreciated the gesture.
p.s- the taxi from the airport to the hostel costs alot ($50). Take the airport shuttle to the centre instead and take a taxi from there it is much much cheaper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    36
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
13
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

this hostel is one of the best i have come across so far. the rooms are good but the best about it is that you feel like beeing in a family home and you are treated excatly in that way. it is easy located in a quiet area and still it is easy to reach the city centre by metro. the breakfast, the staff and the equipment (internet, computers, travel books) are excellent. you guys are doing a great job!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a few days before looking for somewhere more permanent, and La Em Casa was just perfect. All of the staff were incredibly helpful from the minute e arrived (even at 2am), and went out of their way to offer extra information and ideas to help us settle into Belo Horizonte. The place was spotless, with a great kitchen and other communal areas, and dorm was super comfortable considering it slept nine... The location was great too, only about a 20 minute walk to the centre, with buses and the metro only a few minutes away. I would reccomend this to anyone passing through Belo Horizonte... perfectly reasonable prices, and a great base from which to get to know the city and to meet other travellers.
Also - massage for only 15 reais, it was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed for just one night. very nice place! well equiped and nice kitchen, computers available, tv and a couple of dvds as well. all in all very clean and nice commun places to hang out. very friendly and helpful staff! location could probably be better, but as we only spent one night there it didn't matter. the centre is a 15 reais taxi drive away...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hostel run by the Frenchman called Cristophe is excellent! He is a good person and knows how to run a hostel. He gave us a map and plenty of information about the area. The kitchen is good so you can cook meals of an evening. The only downside is the location as it is in a bit of a shady area in Belo. Other than that it is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our stay was wonderful and we enjoyed a good night's sleep in a private, tho spartan room in a separate building across the street.
The room had excellent quality twin beds and AC, with a separate large bathroom across the hall. We were allowed to park our rental in an interior carport.
Breakfast was cozy, casual and plentiful with an assortment of breads, juices and other delicacies and of course with the great coffee Brazil is famous for.
The charming hostess did everything to make our stay enjoyable and the vibe around was excellent.

In short, two thumbs up for this Pousada which I absolutely recommend !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

run by a french-brazilian couple, this carefully kept place offers a friendly, intimate, cosy atmosphere. it is housed in a beautiful building, transformed by some skillfull carpenter with love for details. the house is located in a quiet street not far from the underground line and in walking distance to the historic centre, a superb location from where to explore the area.
The friendly hosts are very helpful and seem to love what they are doing. I absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La em Casa Hostel-Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La em Casa Hostel-Pousada

Address: Rua Eurita, 30 | Santa Tereza, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 31010-180, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Belo Horizonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La em Casa Hostel-Pousada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your La em Casa Hostel-Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Em Casa Hostel-Pousada Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La em Casa Hostel-Pousada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.