We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location & Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sao Bento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sao Bento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sao Bento
438 Rua dos Guaranis | Centro, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30120-040, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 103 hotels in Belo Horizonte
Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Location & Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed her for a couple of nights in August and have only good things to say about this hotel. It is located close to Belo Horizonte's main bus station and is in a reasonably safe neighborhood. The owner--Anthony Luiz--was extremely helpful and arranged a car & driver for me so that I could visit the churches of Sabara as well as make a stop at Congonhas before being dropped off at Ouro Preto.

The rooms are comfortable with all modern appliances. I asked for a quiet room and got one.
The breakfast was quite good.

Belo Horizonte is the gateway to all the beautiful colonial towns and churches of Minas Gerais.
You should definitely visit Ouro Preto, Mariana, Sao Joao del Rei, Tiradentes, and Congonhas. Spend a morning at Sabara which is a suburb of Belo Horizonte.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    67
    37
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
16
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The location of this place is definetly its best attribute - it is an easy 5 minute walk from the bus station. Rooms and lobby are spacious, if a bit drab. For the price, though, value is decent. Breakfast is really quite good with a wide selection.

On the down side, you need to pay for and obtain a password from the front desk for internet. Definetly get a room facing the courtyard, as external rooms can be a bit noisy.

Very few of the hotel's staff members speak english, so if this is a must, it's probably not the place for you. They do have a couple of staff members with limited English skills (they may or may not be on duty at a given time), so it is possbile to communicate with the hotel via e-mail.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Staff: only some of them could speak English. But that is normal in Brazil. The hotel owner is very helpful. Room: I have been staying there several nights and in several room type. Some rooms are very new, some are old. Depending on the location of the room, some are loud, some are quite. So, you have to ask for the right one. Breakfast: despite of different room types, the bf – buffet will be the same, typical Brazilian breakfast. And on WE, there will provide also pao de queijo, directly delivered from the bakery nearby. Location: in the middle of the city, nearby the main bus station of BH. Some ppl might be worry about the area. I was very careful, so felt well there. Price: very reasonable. All in all: I really like this hotel. I suppose when I go back to BH, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel is close to the bus station and is of great value. Clean rooms, hot water, and an amazing breakfast buffet! The area around the hotel seemed a bit sketchy, but we arrived late at night and left early in the morning, so did not get a chance to see it during the day.

I'd stay there again just for the breakfast!

Stayed June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We arrived in Belo Horizonte by bus and as this hotel was in Lonely Planet we thought we would give it a try. It is nothing fancy but the rooms are clean and comfortable and the price is right. I think we paid Rs 120 (about $70) for a luxo room comlete with air conditioning, breakfast included. Front desk staff did not speak English but it was not much of a problem. A decent choice especially if you arrive by bus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I was amazed at the value you got at this hotel. The room was good with a comfortable mattress and updated bathroom. The location is right down town so you can walk to everything that you want to see. Good breakfast and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sao Bento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Bento

Address: 438 Rua dos Guaranis | Centro, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30120-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belo Horizonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer budget rates and comfort. One of the best value hotels in Belo Horizonte. We have internet wireless with low costs. Breakfast with more than 35 items, tributes and taxes are included on daily rates. HOTEL SAO BENTO is continually investing in our clients satisfaction, through remodelings and improvements. We have De Luxe rooms, with air conditioner, minibar, 22" to 24" LCD cable TV (including internationals channels), direct dial phone, electronic safety box, AM-FM radio, indoor decoration, renoved bathroom with granite finish, hair dryer and another cheaper kind of rooms. Some of our rooms have acoustic door and window and a modern electronic lock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sao Bento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Bento Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sao Bento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.