We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a close second; maybe even the first attraction in bonito.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abismo Anhumas

Abismo Anhumas
Estrada p/ Campo dos Indios (Faz. Anhumas), 22 km, Bonito, State of Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Attractions in Bonito
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
Austria
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a close second; maybe even the first attraction in bonito.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

this place is breathtaking. it#s not for everyone, though.
even if you are in good shape: rapelling UP from the cave after scuba diving is really really really exhausting, more thank you might think. you will feel it for some days afterwwards unless you are really an athlete. the training on the evening before is compulsory - but keep in mind that it does NOT give you the right impression of just how strenuous the whole real thing is (the training rapel distance is only 10 meters or so). also: DO wear GOOD shoes and good, THICK socks, otherwise the rope will make very nasty scratches and wounds ( mine did not heal properly for about two weeks after, i abhor "good shoes and socks in a tropical climate, but in this case i should have listened)

the cave is georgious. do it. but take your time. and, if you are a scuba diver, don#t opt out. the stalagmites are incredibly beautiful.

be sure to make a reservation well in advance as visits are limited to a small number of people per day.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    25
    7
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The greatest adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

210 ft rappel down, 210 feet prussiking up. A gorgeous cave that only gets to be visited by 15 people a day. stalagmites under water make the scenery surreally beautiful.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An memorable experience! Adventure and ecoturism.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We went down 72 meters by rapel to go inside a big cave with a beautiful lake. There we coul dive using proper clothes and then we used a boat to see the cave. We stayed there for 4 hours. It was wonderfull to see the sun light entering the small hole and illuminating the cave!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best attraction in Bonito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is one of the atractions that you should leave for your last day in Bonito. It is one of the most amazing places ever! Everything begins with an abseiling, with an incredible view! I remember thinking I was getting into a different world! When the sun starts to enter the cave it is also amazing!! The snorkeling is quite different, you can see the stalagmites, which seems to transport us to a different era... The guides were always concern with safety and always make sure that we are ok. The way up is also another adventure, and although I'm not fit, I could do it quite easily. The one down side is the price, it is expensive, but it is worth every penny!!!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Abismo is that kind of place that you don't have to reconsider visiting it. If you are in Bonito, you gotta go there and find God by yourself.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abismo Anhumas also viewed

 

Been to Abismo Anhumas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abismo Anhumas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.