We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, courteous staff and lovely grounds.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrua Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marrua Hotel to your Saves list
Marrua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Joana Sorta, 1173, Bonito, State of Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Bonito
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quiet, courteous staff and lovely grounds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with my sister for three nights. It is a little hike into town and taxi is best however the staff are only too happy to arrange one. We did walk home from a delicious seafood restaurant on the third night and it only took about 15 minutes. We felt safe enough and were able to find our way without too much bother. The staff don't speak English but always tried their best to help and would happily read translations on our phones. We enjoyed a few hours by the pool after our tours and it was like a proper resort with well prepared drinks brought to our table and the meal we had at dinner was terrific as was breakfast - even had a toaster for us Westerners! The pool area was an attraction and the water was refreshing and clean. We had the standard room and it was as expected - small however very clean although the bed was a little hard for me. I had no trouble sleeping and I don't recall needing to use the aircon so cannot comment on noise. In general I found the place quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: I would stay in the main hotel wing as I suspect the rooms immediately overlooking the pool would ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    122
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
96
67
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

O hotel tem uma ótima estrutura, com destaque para a piscina. O café da manhã é super gostoso e variado e a comida e os lanches do restaurante e do bar também foram aprovados. Fica em uma região tranquila, mas um pouco distante do centrinho, cerca de 15 minutos de onde estão os restaurantes e lojas. Os quartos são muito bons e limpos e o atendimento atencioso. A internet deixa um pouco a desejar.

The hotel has a great structure, highlighting the pool. Breakfast is delicious with lots of options, and the food served by the restaurant and bar were also aprooved.It is situated in a calm neighborhood, but a little bit far from the place where the restaurants and stores are, about 15 minutes walking. Bedrooms are pretty good and clean and staff is friendly and efficient.The Internet could be better.

Room Tip: A parte de trás do hotel tem quartos mais novos que os do prédio frontal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Grande
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stay in this hotel two times in 2012 , first of all Bonito is so small City and the location of this hotel is far from the city center, the treet which hotel built in is not completed yet, Reception people are warm and welcoming, hotel have 2 wing in left and right , the left wing is more accessible but afew noisy but the right wing is quiet and calm, hotel have a big yard in middle and the restaurant is in end of the yard, the breakfast was good and delicious and also the meals was suitable and acceptable , the information for city attractions like guide maps .... can be found on reception desk, the price of the hotel was so good , you can arrange the tours of the city right from hotel reception places like :Rio Sucuri, Blue Cave , Boia River and ....
if you see the room and do not like it you can change it easily, room was clean but in winter days was cold , the bath rooms was dark and old and the water heated by electric heather which was not so warm and if it was winter season you can imagine what happens, hotel does not have parking inside and you can park your car in front of the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms in Right wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I spent 7 days in Marrua Hotel. The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and always willing to please. The breakfast is very good. The bar staff is excellent! Great food and delicious Caipirinha Taboa. The rooms always clean with great attention to detail. Loved the beautiful towel sculptures that I encountered every day. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Summary-
Very satisfied, the hotel and is nice, clean and basic.

Detail-
We went on a family trip and had booked 3 rooms (2 triple rooms and a double room).
The rooms were nice and very clean, but pretty basic.

The triple rooms included 3 beds (2 singles and one double), a flatscreen TV (with 4 channels), a closet (containing a safe which costs 2 R$ a day) and bathroom with shower (very warm).

The hotel garden area was very nice and clean with areas to sit and relax.

In general the service at the hotel was good. As an example the cleaning lady left a note with her name next to some cute animal shaped towels.

Breakfast was also very good. There is a very large variety of things to eat (Large variety of bread, cakes, fruits, juices etc..)

I saw some someone wrote that breakfast was in a basement with very difficult access.
The breakfast is indeed on the lower floor (not a basement), but it has 3 different access paths (normal stairs, stairs for easier walking and a steep flat path), so I really didn't understand this remark.
Also the small pool next to the breakfast area was very clean when I was there, and added to the hotel atmosphere.

Perhaps the hotel is taking notes from previous reviews and really improving things, as I really had no problems in the hotel and was very satisfied with my stay.

a drawback in the hotel maybe was the list of rules that are on a paper in the room (ex: don't bring drinks from outside of the hotel, pay for renting towels etc.).
In the end the hotel was not strict and forcing these, but it was not very welcoming to see a list of rules on your arrival.

one more drawback, the air conditioning system was a bit loud. but we didn't need it most nights.

The location of the hotel is a little far from the main street. So you need a car to reach the main road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We got to the hotel around 8 pm. The check-in was fast, but the personnel at reception seemed bland and inexperienced. We got to the room. It's quite big, and we thought it was fine, with a nice and firm bed. This day it was an unusual 105 ºF for the first day of November. The room is about 50 sq meters and probably to cut costs (even though it would make the guests unconfortable), they put an air-conditioner of only 7,500 BTU, which would be fine if the room had about A THIRD of its size. Besides that, they chose the NOISIEST air con that I've seen in my life. The result was that we couldn't sleep with the heat. I complained 2 times at the reception desk, and they just said that they looked it up. But nothing changed because UNLESS THEY PUT AN AIR CON OF A HIGHER CAPACITY, this one could work properly. The whole hotel felt like a "do it yourself" programm. The owner might have chosen the furniture and the fabrics were not thought to be used by a hotel. The result is that they had a filthy look. The breakfast was had in an UNDERGOUND room, with difficult access to people with mobility problem. It had a "pond" in front of it that is right under stairs and looked dirty too. The pool was ridiculously small, and they keep building more and more rooms, due to the popularity of Bonito, and don't seem to bother with confort. I WOULD NOT COME BACK HERE EVER!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Hotel is located on a dark street 10 blocks away from the tourist center of Bonito, so it’s best to take a taxi if you want to go downtown The reception service was regular, not very warmly. The room was spacious and the bed was good. The bathroom was very small and the shower had little pressure and it was difficult to regulate. The breakfast was acceptable but in a dimly lit room. The pool area was nice. On the way out I had to pay 2 “Reais” for a glass I broke in the bathroom. I do not think it's normal charge for a loss as low .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marrua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrua Hotel

Address: Rua Joana Sorta, 1173, Bonito, State of Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Bonito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bonito
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bonito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrua Hotel is located in Bonito – Mato Grosso do Sul state, a city internationally known for its organization on the environment preservation and for assuring the economical viability of the touristic attractions without causing any damage to nature.Marrua Hotel offers sophistication, leisure, comfort, and the best services in the region. It is well location allows fast and easy access to all you need as the center of the city, the touristic attractions, Convention Center and airport.The hotel has all the physical structure and a well trained staff team to attend guests who are in vacation tourism, ecotourism, adventure tourism or even business travels… Get to know our accommodations and leisure areas in all angles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marrua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrua Hotel Bonito, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.