We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely and inspiring getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Churchtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast
2100 Main Street, Churchtown, Churchtown, PA 17555   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Churchtown B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“A lovely and inspiring getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

It was our first time as guests in an inn, and I can truly say it won't be our last, thanks to the wonderful experience at the churchtown inn.

Rooms: The charm of an old victorian style is well preserved and each room history and decor was introduced to us by the innkeeper, Chris. We stayed in the Griffin room and it's exquisite!. The view is great, and you can hear the subtle sound of horses and carriages. The canopy bed, fireplace and antique furniture really gave us a peaceful "stopped in time" feeling.

Common areas: Nice living and reading rooms, all details are worth to see. Sweet cherry cognac, hot chocolate, coffee and tea was available at night which makes a winter reading night a true pleasure. Add to that any of the working fireplaces and comfortable seating.

A delicious four course breakfast was served by the innkeepers, who also found the time to chat with us as if we were visiting relatives, but enough just to make you feel comfortable.

Lancaster, the antiques shops and all attractios are minutes away, and Chris and Jim would provide you with all directions and recommendations needed.

Visiting Amish county is a must, and from all the towns, we realized we did the right choice in churchtown and with this unique and affordable inn.

We are planning to go back for one mistery murder weekend and perhaps in the summer with our parents.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    9
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
31
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

This was our third stay at Churchtown Inn. Unfortunately we were sadly dissappointed to find it has new owners. The new owners just were not as friendly and attentive as the previous owners and the gentleman that watched the inn in their absence. We felt ignored and Jim & Chris the new owners couldn't have seemed less interested. The breakfasts were good as always but the service seemed chaotic. We were not offered the Amish Dinner (The Highlight of our stays)as we had in the past The inn itself and the room were as beautiful as always however any seasoned B&B guest knows it is the hosts that make it warm and inviting.
We will have to think twice before returning.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2006

I have read all of the reviews of Churchtown Inn on this web site, and I am disappointed by the recent bad reviews it has received! So, I thought I should share my wonderful experiences at Churchtown Inn with anyone who is interested in staying there!

My girlfriend and I, who are both in our late 20's and from Connecticut, have stayed at Churchtown Inn (the main house) for 3 nights during each of the past 2 summers. We have had only PERFECT experiences at the Inn! We stayed at Churchtown Inn during the final evening in which the old owners, Michael and Diane, ran the Inn, and we had the honor of having the last breakfast with them! Michael and Diane were the perfect inn keepers: more inviting and friendly than you could possibly imagine, and they brought a unique 'warmth' to your visit. To be fair in this review, I must state that we have not yet met the new owners.

We have spent our two visits in the Jones Room and the Griffin Room. BOTH rooms are so elegantly decorated (and spotless!) and immediately make you feel right at home (if a spot of mold in the corner of a bathroom ruins your trip, then you are probably not the Bed-and-Breakfast-type)! Both rooms have private bathrooms with showers, A/C, etc. The views from the windows are incredible: from the Jones Room, you have a wonderful view of the farmland behind the Inn, and from the Griffin Room, you can watch the Amish horse and buggies pass by directly next to the Inn! The rooms are spacious (Griffin is the larger of the two), and they really make you feel right at home.

The Inn itself is absolutely beautiful throughout. There is definitely a reason that the Inn has won the "Best Inn to Visit Again and Again" award. Parts of the Inn were built as far back as the 1700's, and the charm of that time is kept intact. The common rooms downstairs are beautiful and inviting; my girlfriend and I spent many hours sitting on the couches in the common rooms, and we met many wonderful people in those rooms, two of with which we have become good friends. The Inn is NOT overwhelming or intimidating; it is elegant and romantic, no matter what your taste is!

Since this is a Bed and Breakfast, the standard rules of the house are expected and should be respected, since you are essentially staying in someone else's home! Each room has an amazing Amish quilt on the bed. These quilts sell for anywhere from $400 to $1000 each, and in order to protect these quilts, there is a little plaque that is set on the quilt asking you to "Please remove the quilt before retiring." As guests of the Inn, we would have removed the quilt even if the sign weren't there...we know and appreciate the beauty and value of such works of art!

Breakfast is at 9am sharp, and traditionally, everyone meets downstairs at this time to eat together in the beautiful dining room (which offers you great views of the farmland)! I am not sure if the current owners do this, but Diane and Michael used to ring a bell in the hallway at 8:30am as a sort of 30-minute warning. I don't know why people have complained about this; we normally get up by 6am to go to work every day, so we had no problem getting up at Churchtown Inn for a 9am 5-course DELICIOUS breakfast! The breakfast atmosphere is VERY open, friendly, and social. There are approximately 3 tables in the dining room, and each table sits an average of 6 or so guests. So, you will meet wonderful people and have a very relaxed breakfast!

Some of the touches that we absolutely LOVED were: 1. The sherry (wine) that was left in the living room on the first floor, 2. the cookies that were left downstairs for all of the guests, 3. the coffee that was left downstairs for all of the guests, 4. the tea and lemonade that was left downstairs. Nothing was more relaxing than coming back to the Inn at night, making a cup of coffee, grabbing a few cookies, and joining another couple for a few hours of chatting down in one of the historic living rooms! Or, when the weather was nice, we would do the same thing, but instead of sitting inside, we would sit on the swinging bench outside and enjoy the view of the farmland!

The Inn itself is located adjacent to one of the "main" 2-lane roads in Churchtown, PA, right near the Amish Farmland! If you are looking for the complete Amish Experience, then Churchtown Inn is PERFECT for you, as it puts you right in the MIDDLE of the farmland with Amish shops/produce stands down the road in BOTH directions! The area is NOT commercialized or touristy....it has been preserved right in the heart of Amish country. Numerous times during the day, we watched Amish buggies ride by...and we watched Amish children walk along the sidewalk in front of the Inn. What an AUTHENTIC experience!

Of course, the highlight of our two trips were the 2 dinners with an Amish family! The dinner works like this: At approximately 5:30pm, everyone who is going to the dinner (probably approximately 15 people) meets downstairs in the living room. Directions are provided to the Amish home, and everyone takes their cars for the 10-minute drive. This dinner is AUTHENTIC. You will drive through the farmland and onto the host family's farmland. The dinner is served "Thanksgiving Style" by the wonderful Amish wife who cooks an INCREDIBLE home cooked meal. You eat in the actual kitchen of a real Amish home in the middle of the farmland with the Amish family and their children! The families are EXTREMELY nice and open and will talk freely with you about anything...and if you ask, they will give you a little tour of their farm! It honestly does not get any better than this! (As a side note, since the Amish don't actually 'ask' for money for this dinner, it is an unwritten rule that each guest bring $15 or so and hand it to the family at the end of the meal. We usually brought a little extra, $40 ($20 each), for the both of us and discretely handed it to the husband after the meal.)

If you are looking for other things to do around the area, here are some ideas: 1. If you travel around the roads near the Inn, you will stumble upon Amish produce stands, home-baked Amish goods, Amish quilt stores, homemade Amish ice cream, etc.! Remember, you will be right in the heart of the Amish farmland! Keep in mind that the Amish reserve Sunday as a holy day, so these shops/stands will be closed on Sundays. 2. If you travel approximately 35 minutes or so through the town of Blue Ball and north to Lititz, you can visit and tour America's first pretzel baskery: Sturgis Pretzel House. For a couple dollars, you can tour the little baking area, and don't forget to buy their fresh-out-of-the-oven soft pretzels! They are very inexpensive and UNBELIEVABLE! 3. If you take a short walk from Sturgis Pretzel House, you will end up at the Wilbur Chocolate Factory. Make sure to go in and sample the Wilbur Buds near the back left corner of the shop!

To sum up our two trips: We have had the most wonderful time during both trips, and we have thoroughly enjoyed all of the good food, hospitality, and charm of Churchtown Inn and our fellow travelers! Remember, Churchtown Inn is a Bed and Breakfast, not a Holiday Inn. Thus, there are certain rules that should be expected, and you should be ready for a very social and enriching experience!

We will definitely be returning to the Inn in the near future!....we may keep going until we have stayed in all the rooms!

Churchtown Inn is the most romantic and peaceful get-away that my girlfriend and I have ever experienced! If you are social and ready to have an experience you will remember for a lifetime, then please open up to the warmth and charm of Churchtown Inn!

If you have any questions or concerns about the Inn, please feel free to email me (my address is above my review)!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

It looks like the Churchtown Inn has changed ownership and that is why the ratings were high in the past. We stayed in the "Covered Bridge Cabin" for extra privacy and were extremely disappointed. Upon check in we were informed the cabin was off the property about ¾ of a mile away and that there would be no housekeeping and if we needed anything to call them.

The photo online is misleading. The entire first floor of the cottage is locked and you are only allowed access to a living room and kitchen on the second floor and the bedroom/bathroom which are in a converted attic with only one small window. The climate controls were deplorable with the bedroom being extremely warm and the living room/kitchen ice cold. We tried to adjust, but our efforts were futile. We ended up mostly avoiding the downstairs area because of the temperature and the lack of window coverings in this cottage, so at night we had to take refuge to the near windowless upstairs.

The biggest reason to avoid this place isn't the lack of creature comforts or the abundance of horse manure around the cottage, but the cleanliness inside. The towels looked quite ragged, the floor mats in the bathroom left us wondering if they had ever been washed and the shower was completely moldy. I found a slug sliding around in there one morning.

When we complained, the owner didn't offer to reduce the price we had paid for this experience, but handed us some unsolicited granola and told thanks for coming and hope to see again soon. She indicated that the Inn was much better and we should stay there next time! A good innkeeper would keep all the rooms equally clean and inviting including the two cottages.

In short - Churchtown Inn was overpriced, dirty, and lacking the charm that we anticipated. Go there only if you are a glutton for punishment.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, Owner at Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
The bathroom shower has been replaced two years ago and all tile is brand new and extremely clean. The cottage is in a park setting and is the property of the township. It is immaculately cleaned and maintained by paid workers and community volunteers. There is a charming covered bridge surrounded by picnic areas and the slow meandering Connestoga Creek. It is a most relaxing secluded cottage loved by many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

My husband and I really enjoy the Churchtown Inn. We have stayed there many times and I will keep returning. It is a lovingly restored Inn that takes you back in time with the gorgeous antiques. The rooms each have private baths and plenty of hot water and the inn keepers are friendly and very accomodating. This trip we travelled with our 2 Labs and were amazed that they could accomodate us in such a beautiful setting. We stayed in one of the two cottages. My family drove up to join us for dinner one evening and the cottage provided a perfect place for us to visit. The cottage (really a beautiful old home) sits next to one of the oldest churches in the country, and of course it has an equally old graveyard. Our first night there we had an amazing thunder and lightning storm. We giggled and cuddled close like a couple of kids while watching the storm light up the graveyard. It was perfectly cozy and wonderful. There are plenty of modern conveniences too. The livingroom boasts a big screen TV and the Inn has an enticing selection of movies to borrow for free.
On previous visits we've stayed in the main Inn. I love the peaceful feel of the place. The breakfast is fabulous and served on delicate china with a breathtaking view of the gardens and countryside. They've even included special touches like Sherry by the fireplace in the evening. We've had many wonderful dinners out in the area and I always get a recommendation I can trust from Chris. We highly recommend the Churchtown Inn. We travel to Lancaster from outside the state twice a year, and have always had a perfectly relaxing stay in this fabulous and elegant place.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2005

I also stayed in the Davey room, thought it was very claustrophic; thought the owners were off standish and too business like and not that "all american friendly" that we hear so much about. It's unhygenic to have public cookie jars, much better to provide a little sample in each guest's room. I thought breakfast at 9am is a bit too early for when on holiday - 10am is much better, I get up early enough as it for work back home; so I like a lie in. No tag for bedroom door requesting privacy. I wouldn't go back either and I can see where the Irish couple are coming from; this place is alright if you're americans but if you're from the UK or Ireland; it's not for you. The Amish store provided the friendliness though. Just for the record the room was too cold to remove the quilt, so I kept it on!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2005

We returned to Churchtown Inn this past fall and have to say that things are as marvelous as always. This is our third visit in five years and it's starting to feel like our only home in Lancaster County! We just don't know what that previous writer from Ireland was talking about. Each time we visit, breakfast has always been at 9:00 and it's a fun, social breakfast where we always meet other local travelers and the food is inventive, plentiful and elegantly served. Chris and Jim are the new owners and we found them to be helpful and really easy going. The Inn is still beautifully decorated and clean as a whistle...if you're lucky, you'll get to meet some of the terrific and always friendly Amish and Mennonite staff that work there. Be sure to take a look at the Amish quilts on the beds in every room - they are works of art and they are all different and compliment the way the room is designed. We have never had any problem removing the quilts before sleeping - if you know anything about the value of authentic Amish quilts then you understand the need to preserve them. As always dinner in an Amish home was the real highlight - getting to talk to the children and see how these unique people live in our modern society is always an eye-opener.

We stayed in the Jacobs room and thought is was a bargain ($110 a night) for all that's included - big breakfasts, cookies all day, candy bars and apple cider. We also spent time sitting in the garden, drinking in the gorgeous view. Chris says she has BIG plans for the garden so we hope to get back again in a year or two and see what she's done. This is truly one of the grandest B&B's in Lancaster County - part of the stone building dates from 1735 and it always feels like an honor to stay in such a marvelous piece of American history.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2100 Main Street, Churchtown, Churchtown, PA 17555
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Churchtown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churchtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list