We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Brasil 21

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Brasil 21 to your Saves list
Melia Brasil 21
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   SHS Quadra 6 - Bl. B, D & F | Asa Sul, Brasilia, Federal District 70316000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Brasilia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent two, one-night stays at the Melia 21 before and after a conference in Pirenopolis. The first night was so-so, but not because of the Melia 21. We happened to arrive on a public holiday and everything was closed, including almost all of the restaurants at the Melia 21. We stayed in an executive suite and one of the 'premier green rooms'. Both of them were large, comfortable, spotless and provided views of the TV tower, which was unfortunately under construction. The food and drinks in the bar fridge were even reasonably priced, especially in comparison with lodges in the Pantanal. The staff were extremely helpful, even when there was an error in our bill. The only downside is that apart from a Chao de Fogo and the Melia restaurants, there is not a lot of choice in the immediate surroundings for dinner. That said, the hotel staff can call a cab to get your pretty much anywhere in Brasilia.

Room Tip: Get a suite, but make sure that you ask what block the room is in. The Melia 21 has several building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinthia_MB21, Gerente geral at Melia Brasil 21, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Bonasa,

Thank you for choosing Meliá Brasil 21 as your stay in Brasília.
It was great reading and sharing your comments with our entire team. Certainly this is what moves us forward.
We are very thankful, It will be a pleasure to assist you again in a near future opportunity.
Best Regards,
Plinio de Souza - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    474
    132
    35
    19
See reviews for
183
182
73
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but service was quite poor and certainly not up to international standard. Twice when service was required it took multiple calls over a period of hours to get the staff to react. Watch out too for the surreptitious cover charge for the live music in the Churchill bar

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinthia_MB21, Gerente geral at Melia Brasil 21, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Couchiedemon,

We consider all feedback from our guests as priority and of utmost importance to insure the services of the hotels Meliá Hotels International brand worldwide.
Thus, we asked our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the our infrastructure and some services during your stay wtih us.
Let us ensure that corrective measures by the responsible for F&B and Front Desk are being taken to remedy these inconveniences and prevent its from happening again.
Again, regret the events and we hope to welcome you soon in Meliá Brasil 21 in the near future.
Sincerely,
Plinio de Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was clean and spacious. Had a refrigerator and microwave along with a tv in both the bedroom and sitting area. Staff was courteous and friendly , even those who didn't speak much English. Not far from the church and other sites. Some areas under renovation but it is still a very clean city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinthia_MB21, Gerente geral at Melia Brasil 21, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear SDSGNV,

Thank you for choosing Meliá Brasil 21 ( Tower B) as your stay in Brasília.
It was great reading and sharing your comments with our entire team. Certainly this is what moves us forward.
We are very thankful, It will be a pleasure to assist you again in a near future opportunity.
Best Regards,
Plinio de Souza - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is my 2nd time in Brasilia and because this hotel is the site for our convention/meeting this weekend so had to book here again. However, as I wasn't quite impressed about guestrooms at the MAIN building (Building D) last year, I decided to book a room at the other building where most rooms are apartments (Building B) this time. This turns out to be a very smart choice - the SUITE they offered me came with a living room & bedroom, a small kitchen with dining table/chairs, 2 TVs plus all the homey looking furniture....immediately you get yourself a "home away from home" in Brasilia! Super convenient for business travelers! And, breakfast and internet is all included, for LESS price than the so-called "5-Star" Building D! By the way, breakfast at this side of the hotel is SUPERB and you'll never have to worry about big crowd!

With no doubt in mind, I will most certainly choose the building B again at Melia Brasil 21 upon my return next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a "Planalto Suite", which is better than the "Executive Suite".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinthia_MB21, Gerente geral at Melia Brasil 21, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear SanFranExplorer,

Thank you for choosing Meliá Brasil 21 ( Tower B) as your stay in Brasília.
It was great reading and sharing your comments with our entire team. Certainly this is what moves us forward.
We are very thankful, It will be a pleasure to assist you again in a near future opportunity.
Best Regards,
Plinio de Souza - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Staying here this week for business the hotel was able to accommodate very early check-in (some of my colleagues waited all day for a room). The room was big, clean, with plenty furniture, good mini bar, and an amazing view. I am yet to try the food, but there are plenty of restaurants around. The location is not great for tourism purposes, but for business it is good enough. Traffic from airport was good and distance from airport reasonable. The staff could be nicer and should definitely be bilingual.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinthia_MB21, Gerente geral at Melia Brasil 21, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Laura _ Magal,

We consider all feedback from our guests as priority and of utmost importance to insure the services of the hotels Meliá Hotels International brand worldwide.
Thus, we asked our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the care of our employees.
Let us ensure that corrective measures by the responsible for the reception are being taken to remedy this inconvenience and prevent it from happening again.
We ratify that our receptionists are bilingual and that our location is prime with respect to the main tourist spots of Brasilia.
Again, regret the events and we hope to welcome you soon in Meliá Brasil 21 in the near future.
Sincerely,
Plinio de Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at Mesila Brasil 21 for one week for business. Overall, I found the hotel to be very nice, with comfortable, clean rooms and a great breakfast. The main reason I can't give the hotel a five is based on the little things that make a hotel five versus four+. First, as an English speaker, the hotel - like Brasilia itself - lacks many English-language amenities, signs, etc.; this includes too few English-language television options. As Brasilia and Melia prepare for the upcoming World Cup and Olympics, they hopefully come to the realization that the primary business language spoken around the world is English. Most visitors coming from North America, Europe, and even Africa, Asia, and the Middle East are much more likely to speak English than Portuguese. Passionate World Cup visitors from Europe may be less patient and more rude than a single business traveler from North America. Additionally -- and this could reflect the fact that Brasilia is the nation's capital -- I found the staff professional, and the staff for the most part spoke English, but they did not convey warmth and a sense of welcome. When I first arrived, the only greeting I received was from the very nice doorman. The front desk staff did not greet me in a welcoming manner and did not even smile. As a well-seasoned traveler, I've come to expect a welcome and smile from desk clerks when I first arrive after a long flight. Again, throughout my stay the staff was helpful and kind, but did not convey welcome or warmth. My room and bed were very comfortable. Unlike other reviewers, I found the room temperature was easily adjusted by the wall thermostat, and the shower and sink had excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinthia_MB21, Gerente geral at Melia Brasil 21, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear philotravelin,

We consider all feedback from our guests as priority and of utmost importance to insure the services of the hotels Meliá Hotels International brand worldwide.
Thus, we asked our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the care of our employees, especially at the front desk.
Let us ensure that corrective measures by the responsible for the reception are being taken to remedy this inconvenience and prevent it from happening again.
Again, regret the events and we hope to welcome you soon in Meliá Brasil 21 in the near future.
Sincerely,
Plinio de Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is popular for some reason not familiar to me. It is always rather full, but service is average and in the breakfast area, service is very slow. Rooms are average and spacious , but seem to lack furniture. Carpets are well worn. Service at breakfast is slow and staff take ages to clean tables. One waits especially long for attention to get fried eggs and omelettes - both are really very mediocre. The spread at the breakfast buffet is average and leaves much to be desired. Significant noise from the lift/escalator that make a ringinging sound when they open and close - stay away from rooms close to lift. Overall, one is left wanting.

On the positive side, the hotel is close to a huge park if one wants to go for a walk and also close to a decent shopping centre (Patio do Brasilia) and a handycraft market that opens on weekends. I went back to Brasilia and then stayed at the Golden Tulip - perhaps a better choice.

Room Tip: Lifts / escalators make a kind of ringing noise when opening and closing. This is annoying througho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinthia_MB21, Gerente geral at Melia Brasil 21, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Beejay80,

We consider all feedback from our guests as priority and of utmost importance to insure the services of the hotels Meliá Hotels International brand worldwide.
Thus, we asked our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the our infrastructure and some servces during your stay wtih us.
Let us ensure that corrective measures by the responsible for F&B are being taken to remedy these inconveniences and prevent its from happening again.
Again, regret the events and we hope to welcome you soon in Meliá Brasil 21 in the near future.
Sincerely,
Plinio de Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Brasil 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Brasil 21

Address: SHS Quadra 6 - Bl. B, D & F | Asa Sul, Brasilia, Federal District 70316000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brasilia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brasilia
#5 Business Hotel in Brasilia
#6 Family Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Brasil 21 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Melia, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Brasil 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Brasil 21 Hotel Brasilia
Melia Hotel Brasilia
Sol Melia Brasilia
Melia Brasil 21 Brasilia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Brasil 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.